We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spruce Lake in Estes Park, Gateway to Rocky Mountain NP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Lake RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Lake RV Park
Save
You added Spruce Lake RV Park to your Saves list
1050 Mary's Lake Rd., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
519 helpful votes 519 helpful votes
“Spruce Lake in Estes Park, Gateway to Rocky Mountain NP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Spruce Lake RV Resort is a great place to stay while exploring Rocky Mountain National Park. It is located at the East Entrance to Rocky Mountain in Estes Park along the Big Thompson River. The sound of water tripping over the rocks wakes you gently in the morning. If you get up early enough, when you step out of your cabin or motorhome, tread quietly among the herd of elk that come to nibble on the grass in the resort.

Spruce Lake Resort offers a hot tub, heated swimming pool for the kids, a huge fishing pond, and a nice souvenir store and restaurant you can easily walk to. There is also a cottage and several cabins for rent. Nightly bonfires, ice cream socials, bingo and miniature golf are also available. Spruce Lake is an easy drive into Estes Park. Don't forget to visit the haunted Stanley Hotel while you're there!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    11
    11
    12
See reviews for
51
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bailey, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Very clean restrooms and showers on site. Good location that is central to everything in or near Estes Park. Dog walk area left a little to be desired. A little on the pricey side for a nights stay. $48.00 plus taxes and fees. Very busy place so make reservations 3-4 weeks out during prime summer time camping. Camp has strict rules for dogs and kids and quiets down nicely after 10:00pm. Good spot for family camping. Staff was attentive and friendly. Camping spaces are very close together and 'tight'.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed in site next to FREE mini golf course and within 100 feet of river. The sound of river made it very easy to sleep and blocked out any road noise. Bathrooms were spotless and fishing pond was a great touch. Site was plenty large enough for our unit and all the stuff. Did not attempt to use WIFI.

My mom stayed in rental unit that was very clean. Only complaint was lack of utensils for preparing meal(s).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We have come to Estes Park a couple of times each summer for the past 10 years. Having stayed in several different campgrounds in this area we have found that this is our absolute favorite. The staff at Spruce Lake RV Park is awesome and will pull out the stops to make your stay enjoyable. Our kids fish the lake, play in the playground, miniture golf, swim, ride bikes and have a wonderful time in a very safe, quiet, kid friendly campground.

We Love It Here!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, NE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My grandparents used to bring me to this campground when I was a kid and I thought that it was the best place in the world. When we arrived at the campground last week, I was grossly disappointed. The grounds hadn't been mowed and were full of dandelions, and appeared to make the entire campground look dirty and worn down.
However, as we settled into our spot (right next to the river), the elk started to come around. The sun came out and shined on the rocky mountains that appear to be a stones throw from the campground. We took a walk around the campground and realized that it was actually very nice. The bathrooms were SPOTLESS. Words can't describe, I would have to rate it the #1 campground bath house that I've been to. The pool was also spotless, and VERY warm. My young boys were able to swim in the pool although the outdoor temperature never got above 60 degrees. The kids loved the mini-golf course and the playground too.
They also had an activity center that had several board games and free coffee that overlooked the pond area.
I did not receive the friendliest service from the front desk, but the gentleman who was out and about the campground doing maintenance was very friendly.
All and all, my first impression was way off base. If you are travelling to enjoy the campground grounds itself, this may not be the place for you. If you are looking for a campground with plenty to do, that is clean, and has views to knock the socks off of a horse, then this IS the place for you.
Oh, and we didn't have any trouble with the Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Pros - Spotless, spacious restrooms / showers, very courteous staff, seems to be more grass here than at the sister campground down the road, excellent grocery store and restaurant within a short walk, WiFi worked for us as long as the weather was good

Cons - You better get some excellent directions - better than what's on their site - because if you head out the wrong road pulling a trailer it'll be very difficult to turn around, burn ban means no charcoal and they should've put that on their website since it impacts menus and cooking devices, creekside is not necessarily creekside, when it's full it's waaay crowded

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No notice of burn ban
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

We loved the view of Spruce Lake from our cabin while staying at Spruce Lake RV Park the month of July!

The WiFi didn't always work, and we hope by the time we return the futon will be replaced with a hide-a-bed because the futon was an extremely uncomfortable piece of furniture.

The outdoor workers were always friendly; however, the same can not be said about office personnel!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Lake RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lake RV Park

Address: 1050 Mary's Lake Rd., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Spruce Lake Rv Park Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Lake RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.