We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Estes Park Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Estes Park Resort to your Saves list
The Estes Park Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Scenic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Nestled right on Estes Lake, this hotel has a setting that is hard to beat. The restaurant has expansive windows for enjoying the excellent lake view. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Clean and neat. We did have some discomfort with the ac in our room, however, as it blew only directly on us in bed, so we barricaded the ac vent with the couch cushions to direct the air differently. The shower was great, though the tub didn't drain fast enough....meant to report it but forgot. We only stayed one night, but found it to be a comfortable, lovely hotel. Oh, the hot tub was nice and hot, but the jets were wimpy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    66
    40
    29
    13
See reviews for
89
106
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

After reading many of the prior reviews on TripAdvisor, I requested a suite on the 2nd or 3rd floor many weeks before our arrival. Upon arrival at the hotel, however, we found out we were assigned a room on the lower level. Turns out to be the basement. Really not nice. There is a walk-out "patio" with 2 chairs. But it was so dirty, small, and with no view, that we were unable to use it. Also, when we did go out this door, the screen was broken and locked us out. The view out the bedroom window was of the scruffy grass and the feet of people walking by.
The suite itself is set up very strange with a sink in the bedroom and one in the main room, none in the actual bathroom. Very low quality soaps and shampoos. The shampoo bottles were so small!!
While the cleaning staff was pleasant enough, they seemed incompetent for all 3 days we were there. Came back to the room after being "cleaned" to find dirty glasses and coffee cups. The room was never vacuumed for all 3 days, etc, etc...
The blankets in the closet for the pull-out couch/bed were disgusting - they were dirty and looked like they had been infested with bugs or something.
We used the pool and hot tub one time. Found the "safety" bar at the hot tub to be loose from the floor, very poor management for someone who actually relies on these safety features.
The manager did refund a small portion of our room fee, but still the rate was way too high for our stay. Perhaps the upper rooms with actual balconies and views would be nicer, though the other issues would still be there.
We never used the restaurant, so cannot comment on this.
Sorry, we will not be returning to this "resort". The area however is beautiful which made up for some of our room issues.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is far from a resort! The $250+ a night cost for a room is definitely NOT worth it. I would rate this hotel equal to a $119 a night place. When we arrived we did not have any soap in our room, the patio and patio chairs were covered in bird poop and we had to ask daily for basic stuff like wash clothes and toilet paper. The beds were uncomfortable and already breaking down. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
M H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our management team so we may use your comments to improve upon our staff and amenities. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We try to make sure all of our public spaces and outdoor areas are as clean as possible, but as you experienced sometimes the local wildlife has other plans. I apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay and hope that we were able to remedy these issues as soon as staff was notified. We certainly hope that you will choose to give us another opportunity to show you just how wonderful our beautiful resort can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent hotel clean spacious rooms great staff waterfront grille top of the line food. Can't say enough about the wonderful time we had at this resort. They could not have done more for us while we were there!! Lots of beautiful views from our balcony.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Robin R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our full service restaurant and bar. Next time you have the opportunity to stay or dine with us, I highly recommend trying our Leg of Lamb or Elk Tenderloin! We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Estes Park Resort presents itself as a high-class resort on a lake. It is nothing more than a dated, tacky hotel offering abysmal services on a tiny lake across from an industrial part of town.

First the hotel. What greets one in the lobby, aside from the garish carpeting and fake plants, are Christmas decorations on the fireplace mantle. Yes, it's June. Our 3rd floor room with king bed and balcony overlooking the lake had orange and gold zebra carpeting, gold and brown walls, an orange sofa-bed, and a sink next to the bed. Doors were fake brown wood. The sheer curtains had stains. The A/C did not have a modern thermostat and seemed to not work properly. The bed was comfortable enough and the shower was OK. Toiletries were cheap Neutrogena. The balcony was not private and was separated from its neighbors by iron railing. There was nobody to carry luggage and we spotted only one luggage caddy. (Another service issue: Our room had not yet been done when we returned at 12:10pm; we had been out since 9:00am.)

The lake, lest one think it is some pristine body of water in the middle of the woods, is a small lake with high-tension electrical wires strung across the opposite shore. Route 36 runs along that shore as well. Additionally, there is a large commercial development of some sort right across the water with what seem to be warehouses and such. There is a jogging path around the near shore of the lake. A tiny marina supplies paddle boats and pontoon boats. There is fishing. And yes, there were elk early in the morning. And yes, you could see the mountains.

What seems to be popular at this hotel is weddings. There were at least three during our three-day stay.

Now for the price. Our room cost nearly $300 per night. We just stayed at the Park Hyatt Resort in Beaver Creek, Colorado for roughly $100 less per night, including a sumptuous breakfast and extraordinary service. Here, the bad breakfast and bad coffee were extra. As another reviewer said, keep looking.

Room Tip: The lobby is on the second floor because the first floor is below grade. As others have said, avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
OMSLongIsland,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Estes Park. I am sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations. While our hotel was built in 2000, we did go through a 2 million dollar renovation about 3 years ago; this included new carpet, furniture, paint, counter-tops and fixtures as well as many other small details. We always aim to exceed our guests expectations in service as well as amenities. If there is anything specific we could have done to improve your stay in regards to service or available amenities I would invite you to contact us directly at 970-577-6400 so we may improve upon your stay. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations next time you are in Colorado. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and fellow travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I try to visit the Estes Park Resort as often as I can. Usually 3-4 times a year. My friends from the Denver area enjoy meeting me there and are as impressed as I am by the helpfulness and friendliness of staff. I spent two weeks this visit and hated to leave. It is my bastion of sanity after an insane city life.

Room Tip: We like the third floor, views are stunning.
See more room tips
Green Features: I avoid using air conditioning if I can, the pine scented fresh air is as good as it gets.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Diane W,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Colorado and for taking the time to share your experiences! We appreciate your love for our beautiful mountain town and relaxing resort - it is always a pleasure to host your stay and we look forward to your return. Please let us know if there is anything we can assist with as you plan for your next trip to the Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked this hotel on Expedia & then the hotel called us to upgrade us to a Queen bedroom w/pullout couch & "lake view." Sounded nice so we agreed. However, the lake view was barely seen as the actual room was a semi basement room looking out at the parking lot from the bedroom & wall of concrete from the living room. We could see the lake a bit. It was a small room, but comfortable beds. Didn't like the shower b/c it was a handicap room, so no tub. The room was pretty basic like a Holiday Inn, although it had a small fireplace. Neutrogena soap/shampoo. The hotel is average & doesn't have a resort feel. Considering we spent almost $300 to stay here, it was really overpriced. We've stayed at the Rock Resort in Breckinridge for that price, which is a luxury hotel. So we expected that level here, but we're disappointed. Since the room was near the pool we heard a lot of noise from kids running through the hallways to/from the pool. The walls seemed pretty thin. The staff was friendly. Great indoor pool & hot tub, which the kids loved. There's a sparsely filled fitness center, next to a game room with air hockey & pool table. The Waterfront Grille Restaurant overlooks the lake, which was nice. Kari was our waitress & she was very nice & helpful. Dinner was average. We chose not to eat breakfast here b/c it would have been too pricey as entrees averaged $12. I don't think we'd stay here again unless we wanted the indoor pool option.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a lake view in the center of the hotel, so you aren't stuck in the basemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
megantoad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing us as your vacation destination! It seems that you enjoyed your stay, though I am sorry to see that you felt the room did not meet your expectations. We will take all of your comments into consideration as we work on improving our Resort. I am glad that your family was able to take advantage of our indoor heated pool and hot tub as well as our restaurant. We hope that you will consider staying with us again next time you are in Estes Park. Thank you again for spending your vacation with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Estes Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.