We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area & Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Estes Park Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Estes Park Resort to your Saves list
The Estes Park Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area & Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were told about the Estes Park Resort from a local wedding planner that was planning the wedding we were in town for. The resort has a very comfortable and inviting atmosphere. The rooms are very nice and spacious. We had a King room on the lakeside which had a beautiful view. The room had a microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge in in. The resort and rooms are very well maintained and clean. The restraunt at the resort has a good menu and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and taste of the food. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The staff in the restraunt was very, friendly and personable. Cassandra and William were the servers most of visits and were absolutely wonderful. I would definitely return to this resort and would recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: I would suggest room 304, it is on the corner on the top floor with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Brooke,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers - we greatly appreciate it. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our beautiful view and restaurant during your time in Estes Park. We like to think that we have some of the best views in town - it seems that you would agree!

We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    72
    42
    31
    13
See reviews for
96
111
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Under the most difficult circumstances, The Estes Park Resort provided the perfect ending to a stressful wedding weekend that occurred during the monumental flood. The setting on the mezzanine was intimate, cozy and relaxing. There was a fire going in the fireplace and beautiful views of the mountains. The food and drink were plentiful and delicious served by friendly, professional people. Those of us who hosted it received numerous compliments. It couldn't have turned out better. Caitlin, the event planner, was a delight to work with.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Kathy,

Thank you for allowing us to host your special event and taking the time to share your experience with others! I am so glad that we could provide a relaxing end to the wedding weekend. Caitlin is an amazing asset to our Resort - if you have any follow up questions about your event or need help planning a future one, she would be happy to assist you.

We hope that you will join us again for future celebrations, or perhaps just a weekend getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Estes Park Resort the week of the flooding, September 10th through the 12th. The weather did not cooperate, but our stay could not have been more pleasant. Since outside activities were limited we spent most of our time at the Resort. The rooms are spacious and bedding plush and comfortable. Staff was accommodating and pleasant and handled the flood emergency with professionalism. The hotel came through the flooding unscathed and looks beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dierk,

Thank you for your review! I hope that your trip home was safe and not too difficult - I know travel was a little tricky during the flood. We appreciate that you stayed with us even through the bad weather. I hope that you had a chance to take advantage of some of our indoor amenities such as our heated swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room and game room.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and for your kind words of encouragement to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was the first stop on our epic honeymoon and having just got off the plane it was exactly what we needed to calm down and relax in the beautiful surroundings of the Rockies. We arrived rather late but the front desk was very helpful and informative. The room we stayed in was fantastic, spacious and the bed and pillows were probably the most comfortable of our entire trip. The main feature though is the location. Make sure to get a lake view room as the sight of the lake in the morning at sunrise is second to none. We treated ourselves to breakfast here and were not disappointed as the restaurant overlooks the lake and the food was plentiful and scrumptious. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay here longer and we are already planning a return trip as it is ideally locate in the Rocky Mountains National Park. All in all a very worthwhile choice of hotel!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Sachael_Ram,

Congratulations! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of such a special time in your life! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our full-service restaurant and bar during your stay. If there is any way we can be of assistance in planning your upcoming trip, please don't hesitate to call. Any of our Guest Service Representatives would be happy to provide recommendations or assist in booking activities around town.

Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to hosting your stay next time you are in Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family in July. Overall, very nice, though the restaurant was overpriced. Only major complaint - housekeeping completely forgot to clean our room one day. Still, a nice location and clean rooms and public spaces.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Victor,

Thank you for your taking the time to share your experience with us and other guests. I am sorry to hear that housekeeping somehow missed your room. We offer service for our guest rooms on a daily basis, however it is clear that there was a miscommunication in housekeeping. I will speak with our housekeeping manager to discuss how we can ensure other guests do not come across the same issue that you encountered. I wish we would have known about this error during your stay. If you had contacted our Guest Service Representatives we would have been more than happy to bring you any items you needed or we would have contacted housekeeping to come at a more convenient time for you and service your room then.

I will also pass along your feedback on our menu pricing to our management and our head Chef.

Again, I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and hope that you will grant us an opportunity to prove ourselves to you the next time you are in Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

In June of,my family and I stayed for 1 1/2 days. The reason we had to leave before the 2nd day was up was the fires in Colorado Springs. We received a call to return as their house was within the evacuation zone. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful to us. Since we had to leave early, they didn't charge us. They offered to make sandwiches for us. They even packed a bag of home baked cookies. Aside from that, the room and service was impeccable. The restaurant was convenient being on the premises. We did enjoy a wonderful breakfast the first day. I recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return. I just pray that the hotel survived those horrible floods and that all are safe.

Room Tip: A view of the lake is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Alma,

Thank you for your kind words and your concern for our staff and property - I am happy to say that we are all safe and that the resort has survived the flooding without any damage. I appreciate that you took the time to share your travel experience with other guests. It is unfortunate that you had to cut your vacation short but it seems like you were able to make it home in time. We certainly hope that you will visit us next time you are in Estes and allow us the opportunity to provide you with the same wonderful service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed at The Estes Park Resort on September 9-12 for a business meeting/seminar. I was there with a group of 22 people in which we all stayed at the hotel and used the conference center. We had two days of meetings as well as two days of free time. From the second we walked into the hotel we were greeted by very accommodating staff and very nice amenities which looked like it was just remodeled. As I arrived in my guest room it was beautifully decorated, plush bed and not to mention the view of the mountains. We had the front desk arrange a jeep tour through the Rocky Mountain Notional Park and made it feel as if the jeep tour was apart of the hotel. We also used the mezzanine floor for a brief meeting as well as a private dinner that was catered from the in house restaurant The Waterfront Grille and the food was spectacular and the service was even better. I stayed at this property probably 3 years ago and was hesitant to return and I must say that the property has been turned around significantly and after talking to the front desk staff they were purchased and they new owners completed an extensive renovation and replaced all of the staff. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Estes Park for any reason, truly a magnificent property. ntly stayed at The Estes Park Resort on September 9-12 for a business meeting/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Austen,

Thank you for being our guest and allowing us the opportunity to show you how much we have improved. I am glad you were able to experience all of the improvements and amenities we now have to offer. You are correct - our new management has been closely involved in our property and has taken care in every detail. We have renovated all of the guest rooms and public spaces, including the beautiful new seating in our dining room and delicious menu. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in Estes Park - both in our resort and around town. Our service-oriented Guest Service Representatives are always happy to arrange activities around town or in the National Park for any size group. I hope the other members of your party enjoyed their stay as much as you did!

Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you the next time you are in Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#10 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
#22 of 28 in Estes Park
3.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
3.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#7 of 76 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Estes Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.