We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Estes Park Resort

Save Saved
You added The Estes Park Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Estes Park Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice view, peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family in July. Overall, very nice, though the restaurant was overpriced. Only major complaint - housekeeping completely forgot to clean our room one day. Still, a nice location and clean rooms and public spaces.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Victor,

Thank you for your taking the time to share your experience with us and other guests. I am sorry to hear that housekeeping somehow missed your room. We offer service for our guest rooms on a daily basis, however it is clear that there was a miscommunication in housekeeping. I will speak with our housekeeping manager to discuss how we can ensure other guests do not come across the same issue that you encountered. I wish we would have known about this error during your stay. If you had contacted our Guest Service Representatives we would have been more than happy to bring you any items you needed or we would have contacted housekeeping to come at a more convenient time for you and service your room then.

I will also pass along your feedback on our menu pricing to our management and our head Chef.

Again, I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and hope that you will grant us an opportunity to prove ourselves to you the next time you are in Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    58
    28
    26
    11
See reviews for
75
80
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

In June of,my family and I stayed for 1 1/2 days. The reason we had to leave before the 2nd day was up was the fires in Colorado Springs. We received a call to return as their house was within the evacuation zone. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful to us. Since we had to leave early, they didn't charge us. They offered to make sandwiches for us. They even packed a bag of home baked cookies. Aside from that, the room and service was impeccable. The restaurant was convenient being on the premises. We did enjoy a wonderful breakfast the first day. I recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return. I just pray that the hotel survived those horrible floods and that all are safe.

Room Tip: A view of the lake is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Alma,

Thank you for your kind words and your concern for our staff and property - I am happy to say that we are all safe and that the resort has survived the flooding without any damage. I appreciate that you took the time to share your travel experience with other guests. It is unfortunate that you had to cut your vacation short but it seems like you were able to make it home in time. We certainly hope that you will visit us next time you are in Estes and allow us the opportunity to provide you with the same wonderful service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed at The Estes Park Resort on September 9-12 for a business meeting/seminar. I was there with a group of 22 people in which we all stayed at the hotel and used the conference center. We had two days of meetings as well as two days of free time. From the second we walked into the hotel we were greeted by very accommodating staff and very nice amenities which looked like it was just remodeled. As I arrived in my guest room it was beautifully decorated, plush bed and not to mention the view of the mountains. We had the front desk arrange a jeep tour through the Rocky Mountain Notional Park and made it feel as if the jeep tour was apart of the hotel. We also used the mezzanine floor for a brief meeting as well as a private dinner that was catered from the in house restaurant The Waterfront Grille and the food was spectacular and the service was even better. I stayed at this property probably 3 years ago and was hesitant to return and I must say that the property has been turned around significantly and after talking to the front desk staff they were purchased and they new owners completed an extensive renovation and replaced all of the staff. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Estes Park for any reason, truly a magnificent property. ntly stayed at The Estes Park Resort on September 9-12 for a business meeting/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Austen,

Thank you for being our guest and allowing us the opportunity to show you how much we have improved. I am glad you were able to experience all of the improvements and amenities we now have to offer. You are correct - our new management has been closely involved in our property and has taken care in every detail. We have renovated all of the guest rooms and public spaces, including the beautiful new seating in our dining room and delicious menu. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in Estes Park - both in our resort and around town. Our service-oriented Guest Service Representatives are always happy to arrange activities around town or in the National Park for any size group. I hope the other members of your party enjoyed their stay as much as you did!

Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you the next time you are in Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We chose a lake view room with king bed. It also had a pullout couch. The room was spacious. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. We were on the 3rd floor and our room had a balcony which was not private, so it was possible that anyone could have walked by and looked in. I would have felt more comfortable leaving the curtains open at night with only the screen door locked had it been private. The sink was located in the main room rather than the bathroom. For us that is not preferable since we have one person that gets up earlier. You have to try to not distrub the sleeping person while you are brushing your teeth right next the the person sleeping. These are just personal preferances and not negatives for the hotel. The arrangement works well in other instances.

For me, the best part was the paved running/walking path around the lake.3.8 miles. Perfect for a morning run. It's nice to have a safe place to run in an unfamiliar area.

Had breakfast in the restaurant. Very good. Allowed me to substitute biscuit for english muffin.

I would stay here again. The staff was very friendly. The location was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Jean,

Thank you for being our guest! I am pleased to see that you were happy with your room and enjoyed a delicious meal in our restaurant. There have been many guests who feel the same way you do about our balconies - the views are beautiful but more private balconies would be nice. You will be happy to hear that we are currently looking into making our balconies private. We are working with our management and a contractor to come to a solution - we want to be able to provide guests the privacy they are seeking on their balcony while not obstructing the view of any other guest.

As you have pointed out, the sink location certainly proves useful for some travelers and creates problems for others. I am sorry that it is not your preference to have the sink outside the bathroom and certainly understand your reasoning. While all of our guest rooms have the sink outside of the bathroom, we do have some rooms that would offer a solution. Our suites have a bedroom separate from the living room. The sink is in the living room area, just next to the bathroom, and the bedroom does have a door that can be closed to alleviate the light and sound that may disturb the sleeping guest.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased that overall you seem to have enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will consider joining us again next time you are in town - perhaps even in one of our beautiful suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After driving 14 hours from Minneapolis was anxious for a great room and comfort! THis hotel really filled the bill---very comfortable, clean room with wonderful linens and great view of the lake. It was still considered high season so it was a little pricey but the comfort and view still made it a value.

Room Tip: It's worth a little extra for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
thejohnpetri,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. I am sorry that you had to make such a long trip to get here, but I am glad that we could be the relaxing resort you needed. As you mentioned, our rates are certainly a bit higher during peak season (Usually May through September). We do have some lower rates over the fall and winter seasons, so if you are looking to enjoy Estes Park and all we have to offer, without the higher price, winter can be a great option. There is still plenty to do; we have our in-house amenities such as our heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room, game room, restaurant and bar (all open year-round), and of course there is still hiking, snow shoeing, horseback riding, shopping, festivals and much more to enjoy!

Hopefully you will be able to join us over winter as well so you can explore the beauty of the Rocky Mountains when they are covered in snow! Thank you for being our guest - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I appreciate the casualness and beauty of this hotel but it is classy too. It's like a Robert Redford or Ralph Lauren rustic get away for those of us that like the great out doors but don't want to rough it either. I love being right on the lake with the tremendous view of the mountains. It has provided peach and serenity both times I've stayed. I've had great, good and poor (small % of the time) service but can tell management does care and will take care of any problems you might have. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Jill Z,

Thank you for being our guest and allowing us the continued opportunity to improve and impress you! We do certainly care about all of our guests and aim to provide the best service possible. I apologize for any experiences you have had with us which have been below your expectations. We do review all customer comments and surveys with all of our department managers in an effort to improve and grow as a company. We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion. If there is ever any suggestions you have for us, or something you would like to see us improve, please let us know.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in a quite outer area of Estes Park. Loved the hotel and the location on the lake with walking paths and area to sit outside and watch the sunset.. The only drawback is if you are interested in the "spa". The small indoor pool was not heated and the jacuzzi water was just warm and had very weak jets. Still, I would go back and would recommend it to friends with the one caveat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel & Conference Center)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Estes Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.