We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for runners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Estes Park Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Estes Park Resort to your Saves list
The Estes Park Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Brookfield, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place for runners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We chose a lake view room with king bed. It also had a pullout couch. The room was spacious. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. We were on the 3rd floor and our room had a balcony which was not private, so it was possible that anyone could have walked by and looked in. I would have felt more comfortable leaving the curtains open at night with only the screen door locked had it been private. The sink was located in the main room rather than the bathroom. For us that is not preferable since we have one person that gets up earlier. You have to try to not distrub the sleeping person while you are brushing your teeth right next the the person sleeping. These are just personal preferances and not negatives for the hotel. The arrangement works well in other instances.

For me, the best part was the paved running/walking path around the lake.3.8 miles. Perfect for a morning run. It's nice to have a safe place to run in an unfamiliar area.

Had breakfast in the restaurant. Very good. Allowed me to substitute biscuit for english muffin.

I would stay here again. The staff was very friendly. The location was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Jean,

Thank you for being our guest! I am pleased to see that you were happy with your room and enjoyed a delicious meal in our restaurant. There have been many guests who feel the same way you do about our balconies - the views are beautiful but more private balconies would be nice. You will be happy to hear that we are currently looking into making our balconies private. We are working with our management and a contractor to come to a solution - we want to be able to provide guests the privacy they are seeking on their balcony while not obstructing the view of any other guest.

As you have pointed out, the sink location certainly proves useful for some travelers and creates problems for others. I am sorry that it is not your preference to have the sink outside the bathroom and certainly understand your reasoning. While all of our guest rooms have the sink outside of the bathroom, we do have some rooms that would offer a solution. Our suites have a bedroom separate from the living room. The sink is in the living room area, just next to the bathroom, and the bedroom does have a door that can be closed to alleviate the light and sound that may disturb the sleeping guest.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased that overall you seem to have enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will consider joining us again next time you are in town - perhaps even in one of our beautiful suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    66
    40
    29
    13
See reviews for
89
106
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After driving 14 hours from Minneapolis was anxious for a great room and comfort! THis hotel really filled the bill---very comfortable, clean room with wonderful linens and great view of the lake. It was still considered high season so it was a little pricey but the comfort and view still made it a value.

Room Tip: It's worth a little extra for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
thejohnpetri,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. I am sorry that you had to make such a long trip to get here, but I am glad that we could be the relaxing resort you needed. As you mentioned, our rates are certainly a bit higher during peak season (Usually May through September). We do have some lower rates over the fall and winter seasons, so if you are looking to enjoy Estes Park and all we have to offer, without the higher price, winter can be a great option. There is still plenty to do; we have our in-house amenities such as our heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room, game room, restaurant and bar (all open year-round), and of course there is still hiking, snow shoeing, horseback riding, shopping, festivals and much more to enjoy!

Hopefully you will be able to join us over winter as well so you can explore the beauty of the Rocky Mountains when they are covered in snow! Thank you for being our guest - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I appreciate the casualness and beauty of this hotel but it is classy too. It's like a Robert Redford or Ralph Lauren rustic get away for those of us that like the great out doors but don't want to rough it either. I love being right on the lake with the tremendous view of the mountains. It has provided peach and serenity both times I've stayed. I've had great, good and poor (small % of the time) service but can tell management does care and will take care of any problems you might have. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole C, Front Office Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Jill Z,

Thank you for being our guest and allowing us the continued opportunity to improve and impress you! We do certainly care about all of our guests and aim to provide the best service possible. I apologize for any experiences you have had with us which have been below your expectations. We do review all customer comments and surveys with all of our department managers in an effort to improve and grow as a company. We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion. If there is ever any suggestions you have for us, or something you would like to see us improve, please let us know.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in a quite outer area of Estes Park. Loved the hotel and the location on the lake with walking paths and area to sit outside and watch the sunset.. The only drawback is if you are interested in the "spa". The small indoor pool was not heated and the jacuzzi water was just warm and had very weak jets. Still, I would go back and would recommend it to friends with the one caveat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was large and modern, and the beds were good. The furnishing and carpeting were in good order. We stayed on the first floor, looing toward the lake, and thus we were a bit below grade, so we could see people walk by the lake path. The room was airy and well lighted. The Wifi was good. In temrs of the facilites, my only complaint was the indoor whirlpool was not heated (Monday afternoon of Labor Way weekend).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. The location is conducive to area attractions. It's a nice, quiet property. The staff was always helpful and friendly, and the room was clean. As we stayed in the off-season, there wasn't a lot of activity in the hallway.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms were $20 more, and it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall the hotel was clean. The wait staff was poor at best. Most times you were ignored if you sat out on the deck. When you ended up chasing someone down to get service, you had to repeatedly ask for essentials such as forks and knives!
The setup of the rooms were very difficult. Bathrooms had no place to put your clean clothes while one bathed except on the floor!! Toilet had not toilet cover, just a seat and the towel bars were mounted next to and behind the toilet so when you attempted to remove a towel the washcloth would fall into the toilet. The bathroom sink/vanity are on the bedroom part of the room....don't know what Einstein thought this design up!!
Trash/food dumpsters might as well be parked in the lobby as they are situated so close to the front entrance that when you walk into the lobby, you get the foulest smell hitting you in the face!!
Not a resort as the name implies.....motor inn at best! Overpriced and the management does not listen to the reviews posted on TripAdvisor as many visitors commented on the stink of the dumpsters and the awful wait staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at The Estes Park Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for being our guest - I am very sorry to hear we were unable to meet your expectations. Our entire management reviews these reviews multiple times per week, and we will do our best to improve based on your feedback for items which can be improved upon. We have not been associated with that old insulting name for a few years now, and I am sorry you felt it would still be appropriate.
Thank you again for staying with us, and I apologize we were unable to provide you with everything you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Estes Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estes Park Resort

Address: 1700 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Estes Park Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Estes Park Resort! The only lodging available on Lake Estes, overlooking not only Lake Estes, but also the peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park. Our Full Service Convention Resort has been completely remodeled, every guest room and public area has the finest offerings you will find anywhere in the area! Our Grand Ballroom has the ability to host up to 150 people for your reception, and larger amounts for your corporate events. Our outdoor wedding ceremony site will provide the most scenic backdrop available anywhere in Colorado and provide you with years of memories! Our Waterfront Grille and Lounge offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, along with Room Service, and special events such as Ladies Night, every Thursday, and a beautiful Sunday Brunch from 10am-2pm every weekend. Experience the finest and most modern resort in the area, experience The Estes Park Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Estes Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Lake Shore Lodge Mountain Hotel And Conference Center
Lake Shore Hotel
Lake Shore Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Estes Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.