We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service makes up for a lot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estes to your Saves list
Hotel Estes
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
New Haven, CT
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Service makes up for a lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Typical gateway town motel room, decor is "rustic" but clean. Shower is adequately hot and pressurized. Could stand a bit more lighting in the bathroom and sink area. WiFi free and strong in my room and sufficiently fast for light browsing and video. Bed comfy. Breakfast is very bare bones, only toast/bagels/oatmeal/hardboiled eggs/fruit. Safeway aupermarket right down the street, as well as chains like McD and KFC. Pool outside, looked small and geared for the kids.

However, what really shines is the staff. I was present during the recent flooding and the staff not only kept us informed about the road conditions but moved quickly to attend to our comfort. We lost WiFi and telephone but the staff was able to arrange for alternative internet and voice connection at another property down the road. At checkout, they even knocked off 10% without any prompting. Would definitely stay again for the great service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We purchased Hotel Estes less than 2 years ago and have been making improvements as quickly as we are able to! If you have any specific suggestions, please feel free to email us. We truly appreciate guest input and choose our yearly improvements according to it. In addition, we recently added cereal and a few other items to the breakfast! Thank you for the kind compliments on the staff. The flood was a difficult time for everyone and we are glad that we were able to keep you informed through it! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We found out about the annual Scottish/Irish Festival about a month before the event and while trying to find accommodations we found most of the hotels in the area already booked solid. This hotel still had rooms available. I was quoted a price of $152 per night and told that if I cancelled there would be a $20 cancellation fee. If I cancelled within 3 days of the reservation, I would lose one nights stay that they immediately put on my charge account. To verify the dollar amount, I asked if I would cancel, would I receive a credit on my charge account of $132. I was told yes. When the e-mail confirmation came through, the price was $162 per night. I called back and was told the man that made the reservation wasn't there so my story couldn't be verified and that the price was $162 per night. This was the only place left so we kept the reservation even though I felt this was no way to do business. Had I not verified the $132 refund, I would have thought I had misunderstood.
The actual stay was disappointing as well. The place has been entirely redone with knotty pine over floors that squeak. The bed and pillows were too firm for me and actually gave me a head ache. The "maid service" didn't speak English. The drive way is asphalt running downhill over tree roots with few parking spaces. The "free breakfast" consisted of bread, pastries, cereal, hard boiled eggs (the first day) apples, and oranges. The second day, no cold hard boiled eggs. With these prices, I felt they should have had everything imaginable. I could not recommend this place and I certainly would never stay there again. A most disgusting experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Our hotel is extremely reasonably priced, especially compared to other Estes Park hotels during the Scottish Festival. We have been working on improving Hotel Estes. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the bed. Our entire property has new beds and we do get numerous compliments about them. In addition, we do have ample parking. Even when our property is full, we always have additional parking spots available. Since your stay, we have added cereal and yogurt to the breakfast. We hope to improve it even more before next summer! We also added new carpet to additional rooms this Winter. When doing so, we tightened the floor boards and added extra padding, which should help with the sound. As for the staff, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We went back through our records and we did not find a single reservation for that weekend that was at the rate of $162. Our rooms were at the rate of $150-$155, and we did not charge anyone a rate higher than that. The reason that your rate was higher when you received the conformation email, is that the total included the tax on the room. In the industry, room prices are typically quoted before the tax is added. If you do have the email, we would be more than happy to review it and to refund you if you were wrongly charged. However, we do appreciate your input and apologize about the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Estes in Estes Park, CO for two nights in September. We stayed in a king room for $91 (AARP rate). The bed was comfortable and the furniture was nice. We stayed in room 211 and had a great view of the mountains. They have a nice hot tub and pool but we did not get in either. The plumbing and floor was a bit noisy so get a room on the second floor. The breakfast did not start until 7:30 so we missed that on one morning. We were eager to get hiking early in the day. The breakfast has lots of pasties, donuts and boiled eggs. The staff very friendly.
After the first night, we put our belongings (a small overnight bag) in my SUV and went hiking. When we returned after a day of hiking, our key did not work. We went to the office, and they said they thought we left town so they checked us out. What? I wonder what would have happened if they had booked up before we returned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the property and the room! The rooms do have a very nice mountain feel, and 211 does have an amazing view of the continental divide. We have added additional items to our breakfast since your stay, including yogurt and cereal. We sincerely apologize about the confusion with the check-out date. We are not sure what happened, but are looking into the issue. If you have any additional input, please feel free to email us. We acquired Hotel Estes less than 2 years ago and have been making numerous improvements to the property. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel (motel exactly) has pro's and con's.

The pro's:
-very friendly staff
-good beds
-close to Rocky Mountain NP
-clean and spacious rooms

The con's:
-very dated rooms (carpet, bathroom, thin walls)
-breakfast is not much, very small breakfast area and not much to choose from

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff, beds, location and room overall. We purchased Hotel Estes less than 2 years ago and have been working to improve the hotel. We replaced carpet in 15 additional rooms this winter and are working on other improvements as well! We have also improved the breakfast since your stay and now offer a larger variety of items such as yogurt and cereal. If you have any specific improvements that you would like to see at the hotel, please let us know! We truly value guest feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had better expectations on this hotel. First of all, it’s rather a motel. The swimming pool looked not too clean and not too much view on the lake and mountains. Complimentary breakfast is very poor and there is not even a breakfast room – you have to sit down somewhere in the hotel lobby, taking advantage of couches and coffee tables (which are nevertheless too limited in numbers for all guests, so most people take food back to their rooms). Free bottles of water, though, which is good if you plan to tour the park. All of the above stated, I am overall satisfied with the room. I had an oversized double queen which was actually quite large, though the bathroom was not.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room at Hotel Estes. We do keep the pool very clean, and maintain it on a daily basis in the summer. However, with being in the mountains and having an outdoor pool, sometimes the wind can be strong in Estes Park and can blow dirt into the pool area. We have improved our breakfast offerings because of reviews like yours. The breakfast area is in the office and we are trying to add additional tables and eating space this winter. We have tables and benches outside for guests to eat breakfast at as well, which is a very popular choice for many who enjoy a view while enjoying their breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all guest input and hope to see you during your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service was excellent. The manager and staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The view of the mountains from the room was amazing. We stayed here several times in the past and have had a good experience each time. The new owners have made some enhancements to the place that make it even better.

(Note: The only reason I didn't rate the room as excellent was because there was a spot where the floor lightly creaks when you walk on it. It didn't bother us at all but could bother people staying in the room below if they hear it.)

There is not a fitness center here, but there is one next door that will allow you to pay by the day to use their facility.

Room Tip: The group of rooms on 2nd floor closest to the office have what is probably the best view of the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were only able to stay one night, but this was a fun hotel & would recommend. Nice size pool for the kids to swim in & to top it all off the front desk provides everything you need to make smores to end the evening! We were pleasantly surprised at this location. Thanks for a great customer service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Estes 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado. It is near Lake Estes and just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Affordable lodging, friendly service, clean recently updated rooms and a great location add up to a memorable Colorado vacation. Hotel Estes, formerly the Tyrol Mountain Inn, changed ownership, management and staff in March of 2012. We are dedicated to making your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.