We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Estes Park get-away, great spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estes to your Saves list
Hotel Estes
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Nederland, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Estes Park get-away, great spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in town for a conference and needed a nice little place to stay, Hotel Estes fit the bill! There are many choices when you visit the beautiful touristy town of Estes Park, but we had read some good reviews about Hotel Estes. It is lodge style with a playground, laundry, pool and hot tub (seasonal). We were told it is under new ownership as of March, 2012, and they are in the process of making changes. Our furniture was very cool, big pine, mountainy look, and the bed was super comfy. We were told they are in the process of changing out the carpet. It was more of a basic style with the bathroom, but everything was VERY clean. The room had a mini fridge in it, and the heater was efficient and quiet. One really nice advantage of this place is the continental breakfast in the front office. It's a small area but had comfy chairs around coffee tables, and was never too crowded. They offered toast, bagels, english muffins, cinnamon rolls, hard boiled eggs, granola bars, fruit, all the stuff you'd want to put on those things, and actually many more packaged goodies, along with coffee and bottled water to take along. They have put together a binder full of info about Estes Park and things to do, places to go. I spoke to the young girl at the front desk who I later found out is part of the family that now owns the Hotel Estes. She was so personable, friendly and really wanted to know if there was anything at all we would suggest. I personally loved that the family ran the hotel, and really cares. The hotel was right off the road, and pretty convenient to downtown. Walking out, there are mountains all around, along with other hotels, which is typical of this area. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
It was great to meet you guys! I truly enjoyed speaking with you. Thank you for the great review and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bailey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here on our annual anniversary. Our room was nice and big. The beds were nice and comfy w/ nice clean bedding. Very quiet. Shower was nice and hot! I would stay here in again in a heart beat! Very cozy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the great input! We are glad you enjoyed our new beds and bedding. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Room are clean/comfortable, decent sized although the bathroom is somewhat cramped. Did not use the pool. Great staff, Sara got me out of a bind. Adequate continental breakfast, Good location and close to downtown Estes and RMNP.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We will pass on the compliment to Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Based on what we had seen we were expecting the typical "road side motel" type property but were pleasantly surprised. We were told at check in that the place was under new ownership and they were remodeling and refurbishing. Our room was nicely appointed and the mattress was fantastic. There are complimentary snacks and water bottles available in the lobby all day. The property is perfectly situated far enough from the hustle and bustle of the main drag but close enough to walk to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! When we first acquired the property, it was more of a road side hotel, but we have been working our hardest to steer away from that. This is why we added the snacks, bottled water and coffee in the office, which is available through out the day. Additionally, since your stay, we have acquired new carpet in most of the rooms and new trim. We are also adding more family friendly activities this year such as movie nights on the weekends, with free pizza included. Thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during peek travel season in Estes Park. My family used to stay here in the late 1980s and 1990s when it was the Tyrol. It went downhill from the early 90s and I refused to stay here with my own family for over a decade. I found out it changed owners and decided to give it a shot. I was impressed!! Extremely friendly staff, Updated rooms, remodeled exterior, clean rooms and grounds, etc. Our kids loved it, which is a good reality check because they are picky, to say the least, when it comes to hotels - or maybe the proper word is spoiled. They especially enjoyed the pool.

I will certainly be coming back. It is a great hotel for a family visiting Estes Park. Great location, good price, fun times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the changes to the hotel! They are just the first of many more to come. Since your stay, we've also had numerous more improvements to the property. This year, we are working on making our hotel more family friendly, as this environment is something that most Estes Park hotels lack. We will be adding weekend movie nights with free pizza and a horseshoe play area. Please let us know if you have any additional suggestions! We always appreciate guest input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We loved our room and the playground was right outside our door...my son especially liked the rocket ship! The pool was nice and so was the hot tub! The gals who work the day shift are really great and were helpful in directing us to different places. Pretty decent continental breakfast. Enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Young children love to be close to playground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I truly enjoyed talking with you and your son. It was neat to see you guys again on Halloween in your creative costumes. Thank you for the positive input and I hope to see you guys again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Estes for one night in August. The room was large and clean. It's an older hotel but new owners have been renovating. The beds are nice and comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Games and snacks are available in the lobby. Breakfast was simple but good. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie H, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the input! We are glad that you enjoyed our recent renovations. There are more to come soon! We are trying to create the "fun and friendly" atmosphere, as most hotels up here are sterile and very standard. It's nice to stay at a hotel that is unique and has a fun environment when on vacation in the mountains. Please let us know if you have any suggestions! We are adding movie nights with free pizza and additional grills and fire pits to the property this summer. Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Estes 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado. It is near Lake Estes and just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Affordable lodging, friendly service, clean recently updated rooms and a great location add up to a memorable Colorado vacation. Hotel Estes, formerly the Tyrol Mountain Inn, changed ownership, management and staff in March of 2012. We are dedicated to making your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.