We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither good nor bad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estes to your Saves list
Hotel Estes
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Neither good nor bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

One of the few places in town with vacancies during the height of the tourist season. That should tell you all you need to know. Pass on the free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We thank you for your input. We switched management, ownership and staff approximately 3 months ago. Hopefully you have seen the improvements that we have made so far, and that we are continually making more. In just 3 short months, we have replaced 100 beds, comforters, door trimmings, siding, railings, bathroom fixtures, added landscaping, cleaned up the property and much more. The improvements will continue to show each day. We value your comment and if you ever need a place to stay here in Estes Park again, we hope that we are your first choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    50
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel recently switched owners. My family stayed at this hotel a few years back and we were not very impressed. We started staying at another hotel in town on our yearly summer vacation. We found out that the owners of that hotel bought Hotel Estes and have put a lot of work into it in just a few of months of ownership. So, we decided to give it another try. Our experience was great! Not only have they replaced the outdated railings, door trimmings, mattresses and comforters, but the new staff went out of their way to help us and were great! They also have a small breakfast and have a man come once a week to play guitar and sing. The owners have transformed the entire climate of the hotel. I don't usually write reviews of hotels, but I was so impressed by the changes that have been made. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacono, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

It is my understanding that this hotel recently switched owners & is now "Hotel Estes". Congratulations to the new owners, but you do have some work to do.

Having worked in the hospitality industry for several years, I have some expectations. I do base my expectations on what we pay, so I wasn't expecting too much here. My complaints are just basics, & with a little bit of communication, teamwork, effort & investment, can be fixed easily.

We came up from Denver for St. Patrick's Day weekend & we had a great time hiking, walking around the lake, & seeing old friends in town. The location of this hotel is great...if you're going into town to drink it's just a short walk back "home" to avoid the Estes Park DUI Force. They have a pool & a small hot tub, which were understandably closed for the season - but it would be a great amenity in the summer months! It was also just a short walk to the lake for a nice morning walk.

The first problem we had was checking in. I had called around 9:30am to confirm our reservations & that we were bringing our dog with us. I was told everything was fine and we were in a pet friendly room. When we arrived, they only had us booked for 1 night (we had booked 2) and we were not booked in a pet friendly room. Not a problem, easy enough to switch. The front desk girl switched us to another room - we checked it out before we brought our bags & dog crate up the stairs (thankfully).
Thumbs down - all of the furniture was on top of the beds!
Thumbs up - it was very obvious the room had just received a serious deep clean.
We went back to the front desk and were moved back to the original room, had to sign a new registration slip & were placed back in the first room that is not pet friendly under the terms that "The dog will be fine."

Room Issues:
One of the beds sagged so bad in the middle that it was impossible to even sit on. The second bed was as hard as a rock & the mattress pad bunched underneath the sheets.
The people in the room above us did not stop moving all night - which is not the hotel's fault - but the fact that we could hear them all night sucked. There was very clearly not a lot of sound proofing work done when the hotel was built. Every time the next room over used their sink, shower, or toilet, our pipes rattled severely - it sounded like someone was trying to break in through our bathroom window.

Recommendations to the new owners:
Replace the mattresses. Sleep quality is important to your guests, and you will get better reviews and in turn more repeat guests.
Replace the duvet covers / comforters. They are very out of date & way beyond "rustic".
Replace the TVs. Flat panel TVs are less expensive now than tube TVs were when the current tube TVs were put in. Small touches like that mean a lot to guests. Again, you will get better reviews and in turn more repeat guests.
Make sure your front desk staff knows what's going on. We should have been placed in a pet friendly room to begin with, since I did call to let your staff know we were bringing our dog. Additionally, we should have never been sent to a room that wasn't clean & inspected. Communication is important, even if it's not technological.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Manager at Hotel Estes, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay at Tyrol Mountain Inn was less than great. Rest assured that the property will be in great operating condition should you decide to return. We are nearly out of the transitional stage that you may have found us in over the holiday weekend.

Today, March 21, 2012 we received a shipment of brand new Serta mattresses. Starting today every room will have new mattresses and box springs. I'm sorry that then new mattresses did not arrive before your stay began.

New bedding and comforters were ordered some time ago. We are having them custom made for the property which tends to take a little more time than standard bedclothes in bulk. We are expecting the new bedding within the next several weeks, however, and we regret that our new comforters did not arrive before your stay began.

Because we have just come into possession of the property we are engaged in quite a bit of deep cleaning. Admittedly, we should have made sure that your room was indeed presentable before your check in. These "wrinkles," if you will, are being ironed out as our transition progresses.

We thank you for choosing Tyrol Mountain Inn and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estes

Address: 1240 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Tyrol Mountain Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Estes 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Estes is located in Estes Park, Colorado, near Lake Estes, just 1 mile from downtown Estes Park. The hotel has sweeping mountain views and is just 5 miles from Rocky Mountain National Park. Hotel Estes has been recently renovated by the Hochstetler family and is now a family destination experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Mountain Hotel Estes Park
Tyrol Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.