We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1260 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Brighton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Our two night stay was wonderful! Our guest room was immaculate and has with either been recently rennovated or has been very well taken care of. The carpet was like new and the bathroom fixtures and granite counter sparkled. There were plenty of mirrors and outlets near the mirrors for use while the bathroom was occupied. The room, closet and bathroom were clean and spacious and the complimentary breakfast was well appointed and tasty. This hotel is well managed and cared for.

  • Liked — cleanliness, spaciousness, complimentary breakfast, 100% smoke free
  • Disliked — no in-room safe
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    97
    30
    18
    28
See reviews for
105
132
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We were very pleasantly surprised by the Best Western Silver Saddle. From the outside it didn't look like anything special but on the inside the room was large and spotless. The tile in the bathroom absolutely sparkled. The room must have just been remodeled as everything looked brand new. I suspect we were given one of the nicest rooms as it was tucked in the corner with a private entrance. We planned to make reservations on AAA.com but when I tried to book it the next day the price was higher. We called the Best Western directly and were given an even lower rate than we saw on AAA. A nice breakfast was included with the room that consisted of waffles, eggs, bagels, pastry, cereal, fruit, juices, coffee, etc. We definitely would stay there again.

  • Liked — extremely clean
  • Disliked — no complaints about anything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

When I returned back yesterday I found the diamond elite best western card for more then 30 stays at a best western motel during the recent month, so I know what I am writing about.
Yes, the silver saddle is above average in furniture and room installation, but it has a really poor service. Charging the entire rate several months in advance there was nothing prepared at the reception on our arrival, instead we were asked to present a photo ID, a credit card imprint and a driver licence, when I insisted, I was told that it would be necessary for identification, security etc. I refused and was urged to an ultimatum otherwise they would cancel the reservation.
Then the rules - read the other reviews, you feel like a prisoner.
Next morning at 8:30 ! there was no more bread at the breakfast area, more then ten people were standing and waiting for availabe
places, but it was strictly forbidden to take any item from this area and "service" ends promply at 9:30, from 8:00 on your room has to be available for housekeeping etc. etc. You feel fine staying in a accomodation like this??? Then the silver saddle may be your first choice.

  • Liked — room installation
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Although located on a major highway, our room was very quiet as it was located on the rear side of the hotel. We had a little garden in front of our downstairs room with lounge-chairs to relax after the trails in the Rockies. Just sad that you can't see the golf or the lake, but the view on the Rockies compensates largely.
On arrival we were told how to drive with our car to the nearest parking by our room, but nobody told us how to walk back to the reception. So the first time we walked all around the hotel buildings, until they told us that there was an indoor passage just a few doors away from our room....
The room was one of the most spacious we had during our three weeks trip, with a cosy sitting corner and plenty of space for our luggage. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom also was spacious and brand-new.
Our second night was not so quiet as the first one, with some very noise people above us, taking showers or baths until 2am in the morning and water running loudly through the pipes.
It's a pity that the swimming pool is located on the street side of the hotel, so it's never quiet besides the pool.
The front desk was always very friendly and helpful and gave us good recommendations for dinner in town (Nicky's and The Other Side).
I confirm previous reviews that the breakfast room is rather small (but nicely decorated and with good local background music), that the tables are not cleaned regularly and that the breakfast is not extraordinary. But don't forget that it is complimentary, and we have already experienced other complimentary breakfasts of much lesser quality.
All in all, good value for the price !

  • Liked — Location, spacious and clean room, friendly front desk
  • Disliked — Noisy swimming pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

This hotel needs a crash course in customer service! I found the staff at the front desk to be very rude. The breakfast was absolutely disgusting. The cereal was stale, the muffins were like rocks, and the very small room they serve it in was dirty. The room was so small that we had to keep checking in to see if there was a seat available to sit at (you are not allowed to take food to your room and eat). There seem to be all types of hidden fees that will sneak up on you. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone I know or stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Very clean, but not at all customer friendly. Be aware that if you make a reservation inside of three days of arrival, your credit card will be debited the full stay amount and no portion of it is refundable for any reason. I have stayed in literally hundreds of domestic motels and hotels and have never found one so unfriendly. There are many written rules that are in a tone that seems to indicate the manager or owner is doing you a favor to let you stay there. For example: the room must be ready for housekeeping inspection by 8:00 am., anyone caught smoking anywhere on or near the propery will be assessed a $500 fee. You must have tokens to use the ice machine. You are given a printed card that tersley states the continental breakfast will be discontinued promptly at 9:30 am, all food must be consumed in the lobby, no food can be taken out of the lobby. A sticker on the bathroom mirror says you will be chared extra if you cause a towel to become dirty by using it on anything but you bath. This place is an enigma. NEVER Again!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — unfriendly staff and attitude of doing me a favor to let me stay there as a paying customer
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

I liked the fact that the room is completely remodeled. I could feel and saw new fixtures and all equipments were working properly.

What I didn't like was the fact that the manager, Cory Blackman, forced us to change room from King Bed to Double Queen due to us having a 3yr old daughter with us, so there were three of us total.

It was clearly said in their website that they don't charge additional fees for children under 12, so it shouldn't be matter whether we originally book for 2 or 3, because our daughter is too small, if she sleeps on the side that she may fell off the bed, (we had to place 2 chairs next to her to prevent her from falling)that's why we decided to go with a King bed, so she can sleep in the middle.

I felt that by forcing us to change to double queen with an extra of $10/night (not much I know, but...), it felt like they "charged" us for an additional fees for having another person in the room. It's kinda a "hidden fee" of another child in the room.

Like saying....we don't charge for children under 12, but if you have a child, you have to book 2 queen bed, with $10 higher rate per night?.............??? It's a "hidden fee".....I didn't like that.....

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle

Address: 1260 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Silver Saddle is located in the high mountain valley village of Estes Park, Colorado. All rooms, facilities and grounds are one-hundred percent non-smoking. A deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air conditioned. Amenities include a heated outdoor pool (seasonal), indoor hot tub, coin laundry. Every room has a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Hotel Estes Park
Best Western Estes Park
Estes Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.