We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1260 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Albuqueruqe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worst Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel has the worst management ever. Look at all the other reviews and there are several that are in regards to the management. I will never visit Estes Park nor will I ever stay at a best western anywhere.

Estes Park suffered an unfortunate event with the recent flooding and my heart goes out to the residents, however the business' in Estes Park, particularly this hotel has no consideration for its town or no compassion for its patrons.

Until recently the town of Estes Park was inaccessible due to the flooding. The town is still in shambles, infrastructure is completely destroyed and yet this hotel management refuses to issue a refund.

We were going to Estes Park for a wedding and unfortunately the Lodge where the wedding and events were supposed to take place asked us to find an alternate location. We did and those venues have offered a full refund of deposits. The Best Western Plus Silver Saddle is the only one that will not refund our rate.

This is very sad and poor management. I will challenge this to the fullest extent and I would recommend anyone traveling to Estes Park DO NOT STAY AT THE BEST WESTERN PLUS SILVER SADDLE.

To top it off Corporate will not do anything for us either- Not a good way to operate a business!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    109
    34
    25
    28
See reviews for
130
141
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in September while we visited RMNP. Although it is a mile or 2 out of town, there is a free and convenient parking lot downtown. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel, and we were pleased with the modern decor, large elevator, spacious room, and the cleanliness. Our room and the hallways were spotless!
One area that could be improved on, however, is the HOT breakfast. I thought the variety and selection was okay, but the "hot" food was barely lukewarm....hmmmm... possible safety concern?? Some have complained about the property being 100 percent "non-smoking" -- that was only a PLUS for us:)

Room Tip: I would recommend the newer part....modern, up-to-date and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at this excellent motel. Very clean and extremely spacious rooms, with particularly helpful staff. Excellent location for exploring Rockies National Park. Rooms well insulated so not much background noise. Estes Park caters for tourists all year round but not overly kitsch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Ok let us start with a positive - the rooms and property are very clean in fact there is a thin line between pristine and sterile and this one steps over that line. So you ask why the rating? A stay in a hotel/motel/guesthouse is more than having a clean room and a reasonably comfortable bed it is about the way you are treated as a paying guest, about the attitude of the staff and about the ambience and ability to relax. Well this hotel scores a big ZERO on all of those elements. The staff we encountered were rude and abrupt with no welcome at all. This hotel has rules a plenty and notices all round warn you of the fine they will impose. Breakfast was plastic rubbish with a poor choice so much so that we only ate breakfast once, further it is governed by a woman who is rude and abrupt and hovers over you like a hawk - most unpleasent. The crux for me was that I was a smoker - at check in we were asked to identify if anyone was a smoker and being honest I said that I was. Now this property as with many others advertised as being 100% smoke free property which in every other case means all rooms and inside areas plus perhaps within 15ft of doorways - not this one. We were rudely told that there is no smoking anywhere at all within the property boundary and in fact one had to go to a cycle path off the property next to a main road. When I said I had never heard of anything so ridiculous I was threatened with the statement "If you light a cigarette on this property you will be FINED $500 for clean up" and you felt as though they were watching you from that point on. Why did we stay? well it was a holiday weekend in a main tourist area so there was not much available otherwise we would have instantly left and we wished we had as we never felt at ease. This was just one of 9 hotels we stayed at during a 3 week trip and the rest were great as my reports reflect. I stay upwards of 120 nights a year in hotels for business and leisure and have never been made to feel like we were made to feel at this hotel therefore NEVER, NEVER again. Now where is my bell!!

Room Tip: If you have to stay then ask for a room on a higher level those at the bottom have terrible lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edna, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is very well run. I felt safe and secure there. The facilities are clean, up to date and well kept. We had the complimentary breakfast there and it was very good. It was a full hot breakfast buffet. We had to do some wash there during our stay and I was very impressed with how they manage the wash room. You receive a key and no one else goes in the room while you are using the facilities. You can leave your clothes and come back without any worries. Housekeeping was very helpful and did a great job. The entire staff was very friendly and always helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This motel is most interested in extracting as much from each "guest" as they can/stay. There is no customer service in their attitudes and not a place I would stay at again and do not recommend. The Aspenall down the road is much much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Room was beautiful, and very clean, but you need an appointment for the hot tub. Breakfast was assigned seating and no cell phones. Wish they had a place to sit outside because the views are spectacular. Not great on trailer parking but were very accommodating and it worked out fine for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle

Address: 1260 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Silver Saddle is located in the high mountain valley village of Estes Park, Colorado. All rooms, facilities and grounds are one-hundred percent non-smoking. A deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air conditioned. Amenities include a heated outdoor pool (seasonal), indoor hot tub, coin laundry. Every room has a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Hotel Estes Park
Best Western Estes Park
Estes Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.