We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Day Stay -- Very Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1260 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Columbia,IL
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Four Day Stay -- Very Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We planned a family vacation in Estes Park for four days when our reservations fell through at another location. At the last minute we got rooms at the Best Western Silver Saddle. Chris the desk receptionist was very nice is helping to work out a plan for us. Had to move rooms but we got to stay in the height of the season. Very clean hotel with a good staff. Susie who runs the breakfast room always had a smile and was so helpful with local attractions. This is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: The new editon has some great rooms. Expensive but nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    123
    35
    28
    28
See reviews for
141
158
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in a two king room for our vacation in Estes Park. While the room was new and the view was beautiful, the rest of our experience was totally ruined by the policies of this place.

Our first negative experience was their lobby hours and "business center" facilities. There is no central area for early risers except the lobby which opens at 6:00 a.m., and they had a 15 minute password-timed limit on using their computers. By the time you get the password from the front desk, log in and actually log into your personal email, 10 minutes is up, and you only have 5 minutes or so before you are timed out and lose any work. This required having to go back to the front desk to get another pass code and repeat this frustrating process all over again. Their computers also didn't have Microsoft Word or other applications for work, etc. I couldn't copy Word documents from one email to another neither. Coffee was not allowed in the "business center".

Second, their breakfast policy required that you present your "breakfast ticket" to the breakfast police before entering their breakfast area. There was no fruit in the lobby, and they had a very strict policy of not allowing ANY food to be taken out of the breakfast area. Their eggs were those terrible fake scrambled "eggs", their coffee was not good, their seating area was very small, and the breakfast police directed everyone where to sit.

Not only was the "heated" pool not heated, but you had to go to the lobby to collect pool towels - these paper thin, see through hand towel sized pool towels, which definitely did not dry you off. My kids were so cold that we decided to go use the hot tub, only to find out that we had to walk freezing and dripping wet back to the lobby, wait for guests to check in and sign out the one key to use the hot tub area. The hot tub was scalding hot, and way to hot for anyone to use. Then we had to walk back to the lobby, freezing in our thin, hand-sized pool towels to return the hot tub room key.

Also, the upper floor was newly constructed, and the paint and carpet fumes in the stairwell and hallway to our room were overwhelming and almost suffocating.

Every day we had to deal with this among other annoyances, which really set us off on the wrong foot each day of our time in Estes. I'm not sure if these are typical policies for Estes Park, but when you pay over $250 a night for a stay, you don't expect 3rd rate restrictions and accommodations. We definitely won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIsconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed there after a day trip through Rocky Mtn. Nat'l park. The place is nice enough, nothing special. We did like our room, 2 sinks, only 2 towels, could have used one more to help dry my hair. We were lower level in back, looks over private yard, nothing too special. I did use the pool the towel I had to pick up at the front desk was not a pool towel and was very threadbare. Ice only available upstairs, very hot when we were there, did not like having to go that far. We both felt this property is overpriced for what you get, maybe it is because it is Estes Park, not sure. Would probably stay elsewhere if in the area again. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask for room not so far from front desk, strange property set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beautiful view of the mountains, new renovations, really helpful and nice hotel staff, nice breakfast, great sauna - we celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here! Everything was new, beds, TV, all of the accommodations! The lighting and stucco was really, really nice! :<) The owners should be very proud of what they have to offer the general public. Certainly the nicest hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwinton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Look for another place to stay. General manager was impossible. This Best Western not operated like other Best Western's we have had experience with. We had another Best Western make the reservation here and said we could cancel without penalty. We cancelled at 11:30 AM and couldn't get even a partial refund. They probably collected double payment for the room that night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

One of the best Best Western Hotel that I have been in. Staff is very courteous and attentive. Well run and clean. Stayed there four nights and we really enjoyed our stay. Perfect place for a family of five. I will go there again if we make it to Estes again. They surprised us, they mailed to Florida some clothes my teenager left in the motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Silver Saddle for two nights while visiting Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. This hotel is not far from the main part of town with the gift shops and places to ear.
The hotel was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The room was very spacious with two queen beds, and a sitting area with two chairs and a table.
The breakfast was very good with hot entrees and the usual bagels, cereal, yogurt and bread. I wish they would have had more of a fruit choice. We did think it was quite strange that there was someone checking off to make sure we were hotel guests, but we have been to other hotels on this trip and seen people walk in off the street to get breakfast, so I can understand why they do that.
The main desk staff were extremely helpful in suggesting places to eat, and then took the time to map them out for us.
I have stayed at other hotels in Estes Park, and I know many of them do not have air conditioning. We were happy that this had air conditioning if we wanted to turn it on, and it was regulated by a thermostat so it only went on when the temperature went up. It didn't run all night like most hotel air conditioners do.
All in all we had a very comfortable stay and would go back to the Silver Saddle again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle

Address: 1260 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#9 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Silver Saddle is located in the high mountain valley village of Estes Park, Colorado. All rooms, facilities and grounds are one-hundred percent non-smoking. A deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air conditioned. Amenities include a heated outdoor pool (seasonal), indoor hot tub, coin laundry. Every room has a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Hotel Estes Park
Best Western Estes Park
Estes Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.