We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with Professional Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1260 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Mingus, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean with Professional Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find this motel so well managed and clean. The staff was very professional and when prompted offered many restaurants and places of interest in the area. They have a policy of reserving the hot tub room for 15 minute private sessions. All auto's must enter adjacent to the service desk and I felt it provided for a safer environment. The hot breakfast was good and you must present your voucher to the attendant before entering. My room had all the standard amenities and appeared very modern and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    101
    31
    22
    28
See reviews for
114
135
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have traveled all over the country and have never found a hotel which really doesn't want guests to ever stay there again! There are a list of RULES for everything: No food out of the breakfast area; no food brought back to the room, even though there is a microwave and refrig.,Food Police at the breakfast area and you must have your ticket every morning, as if the food was that great - the worst we had with a very unfriendly server; must ask desk to use the computer, pool, spa, but you're then watched, do not dirty their towels or you'll be charged - I had to clean blood off one where my husband cut himself shaving so we wouldn't get charged; don't lose their only room key or a strict fine, you cannot back in to their parking spaces; no trash cans, so you have to pack up your trash and take elsewhere; no coffee or hot water for guests available as they enter the lobby, and a very small breakfast area, but when they run out of room you cannot take your meal to the living room area. More rules than the Federal Government!!!

When we made our reservations for five days in February for a September stay, they charged the full amount to our credit card. We later had to change our stay to four days, yet they did not return that day's cost until after we checked out. They played with our money for seven months.

Anytime we dealt with the management we felt like they were treating us like children - very condesending. Not a place to bring children, by all means.

We would recommend the Comfort Inn and Suites next door!!!

Room Tip: Do not come here - Go to the Comfort Inn and Suites next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I began reading reviews of this property after we had already booked a three night stay. Of course, the rules made us a little weary, however our experience from literally the minute we walked in the door made us confident this was the right choice. We arrived a few hours before the 4 pm check in time (fully knowing we probably couldn't get in our room) and though our room wasn't ready, the staff person immediately began giving us recommendations for things to do and places to eat. He took quite a while with us to make sure we got our bearings.

Once we got settled in the room, we could not get over the cleanliness! We both travel pretty extensively for our work, so we've seen major chain hotels that are dives. This was such a pleasant surprise. I seriously considered asking what kind of cleanser they used, as this bathroom was clearner than my home. The room was large, with a separate sink area from the bathroom/shower. The microwave and refrigerator were a plus.

In search of anything negative to report, it would only be the antiquated hair dryer (think 70s appliance style) and the hard pillows. Another staff person, was a treat and gave us excellent recommendations for day hikes. Every person we encountered was pleasant. Breakfast was great taking coffee to go was no problem. For us, this was an outstanding experience and we would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We don't know where these people came from. It's like they want your money but don't want you to touch anything. The exude the warmth of an operating room. We had to go to the front desk to use the computer, and were watched, front desk for fitness center, front desk for guest laundry.

They state that even if you don't want house keeping, and have a sign on your door, they will come in and inspect the room every other day anyway. The breakfast room was a real trip. A guard,or monitor stands just outside the door, and makes sure nothing leaves, not even a cup of yougart and a hard boiled egg, for my wife. They have a 4pm. checkin, and a 10 am. checkout. We hadn't experienced that in ten years. This is the nicest place we've ever stayed that we wouldn't reccomend to our worst enemy, let alone friends and family.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Md
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

we were driving to Estes Park from Monitou Springs and arrived in town early. the front desk was accommodating and completed the check in process (minus the key) even tho the room wasn't ready so when we came back later that afternoon we could just pick up the key From Them. Room was nicely furnished with two comfortable club chair and a desk with chair. only complaint is the small breakfast room. A "marshall" had us wait in the lobby untIl a table was available. The arrangement of the food was awkward and people kept bumbing into each other.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed only one night before flying home from Denver. A very good size room which was exceptionally clean and well appointed with microwave and refrigerator. Close to town and all amenities. All the staff were extremely helpful and a special mention to Mike who was on duty in the evening. After listening to him deal with an awkward customer on the phone he shoudl get a pay rise and an award for diplomacy and customer service. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. I booked and was charged for the room several months ahead of time, and at that time the website showed only queen rooms. Just before our arrival, I checked the website over a period of five days and they showed kings available. I called and asked for a king. They said they would make a note of my request. When we checked in, they told me they were too busy and could not give us a king, yet another couple who had just walked in off the street, and who were being helped by another desk clerk, got their "pick" of whatever room they wanted.

We got to our room to find it was a handicapped room. The toilet was so high my feet did not touch the floor. Also, after three nights of no sleep due to feeling like I was burning up, I finally checked and saw they had a plastic cover over the mattress for people with bladder control problems. The mattress was also extremely lumpy and the sheets gave me a rash.

We only ate breakfast there the first morning. The food was terrible and the "monitor" acted like a prison warden. I could not take a cup of coffee with me. We were treated like children.

The day we checked out, I needed to print boarding passes and my husband wanted to check work email. The same "monitor" stood over us and watched what we were doing on the computer. So much for my husband's privacy. In all the traveling we have done, I have NEVER had an experience like this.

Finally, we have stayed at other "Plus" properties and this definitely does not deserve to be rated as such.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle

Address: 1260 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#14 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Silver Saddle is located in the high mountain valley village of Estes Park, Colorado. All rooms, facilities and grounds are one-hundred percent non-smoking. A deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning. All rooms are air conditioned. Amenities include a heated outdoor pool (seasonal), indoor hot tub, coin laundry. Every room has a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Silver Saddle Hotel Estes Park
Best Western Estes Park
Estes Park Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.