We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Private Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Brook on Fall River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boulder Brook on Fall River to your Saves list
Boulder Brook on Fall River
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1900 Fall River Road, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Private Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We spent one night in Estes Park to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We operate a seasonal business in a city about one hour away, so we could only be gone for just one night. Our stay at the Boulder Brook was lovely. We stayed in one of the spacious spa suites. Our room was clean, everything was in working order, and the decor was nice. The view outside to the brook was peaceful. It was the perfect short get away and we will definitely return to the Boulder Brook sometime. I recommend viewing their website. The room photos are very accurate.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    55
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
51
167
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south san francisco
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stayed here two nights while touring the Rocky Mt National Park. The King sized bed and pillows were especially comfortable and cozy. The grounds and setting are nice. It is a little expensive, but very pleasant. Actually the entire area of Estes Park, especially those on Fall River Road, seems to have many similar motels that are equally as pleasing. The "Woodlands" immediately next door also seemed just as nice, and slightly less expensive. For a view, the Stanley seemed to have the best view. But for relaxed space near a stream, this was our choice. The nearby roadway noise compete with the sound of the streams waters...but overall it was fine for two days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotteville, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

After reading so many positive reviews on this site we decided to go for a special suite at Boulder Brook. We had great expectations for our stay but were very disappointed. First, we were stunned to find that our higher priced room is right out next to the highway. As the road curves around the buiding, views from two sides (kitchen and dining room) are directly onto the highway nearby (and the numerous cars, trucks, and motorcyles traveling to the RMNP). The third side of the unit, where there is an upper level proch, has long views of the road. After hiking each day we came back to relax on the porch - and listen to cars. Even the brook could not block out the noise.
We booked the Antlers due to the attractive photos of large windows and spacious rooms. The web site fails to mention that the view from the big windows is down on a driveway. Also, the design of the room did not consider the solar gain throughout the day from the large windows. The room is hot at night. We had to keep the window facing the highway (and noise) open to get cross-ventilation since other windows (and blinds) were broken. I could see that the smaller units further into the complex are probably very quite. However, there were no vacanies and moving was not an option. We felt we paid top dollar for very unexceptional accommodations.

  • Liked — conveniencce to Rocky Mountains National Park
  • Disliked — that it sits right next to the highway - unlike other llodges where ALL the units sit back
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoulderBrook, General Manager at Boulder Brook on Fall River, responded to this review, August 23, 2006
We have met a few guests who will most likely have complaints about heaven! Although we try very hard to please everyone, obviously we don't always succeed.
If you visit our web-site and tour the photo gallery, you can see the view from the deck of this suite in one of the snow pictures. There is a great view of the river that this guest must have missed by concentrating on the road. Potential guests can also take a virtual tour of this suite and judge for themselves.
It is true there are huge windows in this suite with lots of sun. That is why we paid to have those windows professionally treated with sun-blocker film.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

Decided to go with Boulder Brook for our trip to Estes Park mainly becuase it had recieved a Trip Advisor award.... once getting hteir could clearly see why its so well liked. We had a very spacious room, right next to the brook. It was very relaxing to sit in the spa and listen to the brook rushing outside the window. Full kitchen, we prepared a few meals there when not going out. Very close to the Fall River enterance to RMNP. The trip was part of our drive across The West honeymoon, and Boulder Brook and RMNP we clear hi-lights.

PS: Try lunch at The Stanley, and don't miss dinner at The View (part of The historic Crag's Lodge).

Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

Our family of four stayed at Boulder Brook from July 23-29, 2006 and found everything to be at least as good as advertised and rated. We stayed in the Shabby Chic cabin (everything else was full), so our children slept in a pull-out couch, and my husband and I had the bedroom. Everything was comfortable; the linens were superb, and the setting was lovely. Our "cabin" had a small kitchen, which was stocked with the basics. And in great contrast to one of the earlier reviews, everything in our cabin seemed brand new. (I put "cabin" in quotation marks because Shabby Chic isn't a building in itself; it's part of the main building, on the main floor. I believe the building also houses the offices, the owners' residence, and two other rental units. That said, it's quiet and private and we were very pleased.)

The cabins are clean and well-tended (and I'm not an easy customer). There's so much to do in and around Estes, that we spent little time at Boulder Brook, but the time spent there was comfortable and restful.

Fall River flows within feet of the cabins. Nothing like sleeping to the sound of a rapidly running river. And nothing like cooking dinner outdoors (especially when your kids caught the fish!) and enjoying it on the banks of the river.

The proprietors were friendly and accommodating and were attentative to details, from the time we made our reservations to the time we checked out.

Boulder Brook is in between Estes Park and the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. The scenery is breathtaking; every turn seems worthy of a photograph. And, yes, there are elk everywhere.

Estes Park itself is lovely, but can get crowded and we found very few interesting shops. (If you're hungry for homemade ice cream, though, there seems to be a shop on every block.) We were more taken by hamlets like Allenspark (just a few miles down Highway 7) and Glenhaven. Few tourists, stunning scenery, more flavor. But for young kids, there's lots to do in Estes: we rented bikes at the marina for 1/2 a day and spent a few hours on paddle boats; took the kids to trout ponds and let them catch dinner; went horseback riding (there are many good stables and some fun rides that include breakfast or dinner cookouts); spent lots of time in Rocky Mountain National Park hiking the trails; went to fun parks that had bumper boats, go-carts, miniature golf, and other fun activities and rides; and went to the Cowboy Singalongs in the park in the center of town.

Great spot for a family trip, and Boulder Brook made the vacation comfortable, relaxing, and fun.

  • Liked — Location on the river
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

My wife, I and our 7 month old spent 3 nights here July 23-26. First time I booked a place based on TA(--) reviews and was pleased that everything I read was true. Perfect setting, clean rooms, comfortable bed and excellent service (a crib was waiting for us in the room at no extra charge).

We stayed in the 1-bedroom suite which is available to couples with children. The best locations appeared to be rooms 1-4 which were located in a more private settting and not across from the main road.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Boulder Brook in late May largely based on its TripAdvisor reviews (and website). The place is gorgeous and fits in very well with the beautiful surroundings. The Fall River runs through the property and when we were there, was in full flow from snowmelt. The roar of the river provided a soothing background white noise for our entire trip that we sorely missed on our departure. We occasionally saw elk wander through the vegetation around the river, as well as other wildlife such as magpies. The pictures on the website don't do the place justice.

Our spa suite had a gas fireplace, a huge soaking tub/spa, a 2-showerhead shower, a complete kitchenette, and a small walkout deck overlooking the river. Lovely! Everything worked beautifully, the decor woud fit in a bed&breakfast, and the location was perfect. The room was spacious with a high ceiling, and had reading material and a writing desk. The wi-fi reception for our laptop worked just fine also. The water pressure in the shower was excellent.

Boulder Brook is in a small stretch of houses and Inns approaching the north-eastern Rocky Mountain National park entrance (only a mile or two away from that entrance). That entrance is labeled as being a good thousand feet higher in elevation than Estes Park proper, so keep in mind that you'll be sleeping at around 8000 feet above sea level. Downtown Estes Park is nearby also (about 2 miles in the other direction), and just past downtown is a shopping center with a Safeway in case you want to make use of your kitchenette. The kitchenette is modestly equipped as you'd expect, so keep that in mind if you're planning to cook.

There are benches and picnic tables around the property, as well as an area with grills and a hot tub. The whole property is very inviting.

I did ask about one minor quibble I had (I found the pillows on the hard side) and was told that down pillows are available on request.

I also would like to commend the owners/operators for being very prompt and responsive in email, which some small hotels/inns still don't do well at.

Kudos to Boulder Brook for running a fine establishment, very strongly recommended, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Brook on Fall River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Brook on Fall River

Address: 1900 Fall River Road, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulder Brook on Fall River 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 riverfront suites with private decks along the Fall River. Kitchenettes and fireplaces in every unit. Outdoor hot tub. Spa suites feature two-person jetted tubs with river views. One Bedroom suites have one-person jetted tubs.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Boulder Brook on Fall River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Brook On Fall River Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Brook on Fall River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.