We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cub Lake Trail

Cub Lake Trail
Rocky Mountain National Park, Moraine Park Road, Estes Park, CO
970-586-1206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 42 attractions in Estes Park
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was one hike that I will never forget. I have spectacular photos of it! A bit of a hike but it is all worth it when you get there! So glad we decided to hike this trail!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    34
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We avoided all the construction on Bear Lake Road and detoured toward the Cub Lake Trailhead. On the way we saw elk in the the Moraine Park area. We continued to a small parking lot in between the Fern Lake and Cub Lake trailheads. There were expansive views of the valley before the trail climbed towards Cub Lake. The trail actually skirts around the lake at a higher elevation, the continues to The Pool and Fern Falls. We turned around at the The Pool and headed back on the trail towards the Fern Lake Trailhead, which made the hike a loop. It was dry, but did see a lot of burned trees from the 10/12 winter fire. Already a lot of renewing growth post fire.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Once pretty now crispy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a lovely trail much of the time, however parts of it have been ravaged by fire. We were very disappointed to arrive at the lake and find that the entire area had been burnt. It was not the view we had imagined. The last portion of the trail is mostly uphill.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an easy hike which takes you through part of the Moraine Meadow then up into the trees. There are many sites to behold along the way and when you get to Cub Lake you can relax with a snack or lunch before heading back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Day Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is about a 5 mile round trip hike, the fist mile and a half is quite easy and the last mile was a bit steeper. For the uphill journey we had streams running down the trail and some snow in the trail making it tricky. This hike goes through the Fern Valley burn area and I couldn't help but wonder how would anyone be able to control a fire in this area. We did see lots of elk, a couple of marmots and one moose. All in all a rewarding trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cub Lake Trail also viewed

 

Been to Cub Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cub Lake Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cub Lake Trail to your Saves list