We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheel Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Wheel Bar
132 E Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80511
970-586-9381
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 119 Restaurants in Estes Park
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Wheel Bar is located in the center of downtown Estes Park, Colorado, the gateway to Rocky Mountain National Park. We pride ourselves in being family owned since 1945 and invite you to drop in to enjoy the local warmth and charm of The Wheel Bar.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice local bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

You can tell this is a local hangout. Alcohol prices were reasonable. Lots of TVs to watch the game. I felt comfortable in there by myself having a beer. Other customers were chatty and the bartender was very nice. Worth a stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a small bar, but a very friendly place. It seems to be a choice for the locals which makes it even better. If the locals go there it must be good. We enjoyed the cold draft beer and the friendly bartender. There is a steak restaurant upstairs, but we did not try it. We will go back

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“After Wedding Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Wheel rented out their back room for my friend's wedding after-party. The bar offered a private bar just for the wedding guests and also allowed for pizza to be delivered from an outside source for late-night snacks.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid The Wheel Bar! Harassing/dangerous bartender...true lack of class”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I want to say before hand that I really enjoyed this bar before this experience. Matt was the bartender I usually had and he is a great guy. When Matt's shift ended, a new bartender came in. He was extremely rude and breath smelt like alcohol...He then continued to stare at me and yell rude comments such as "yeah I'm a dick". He made my visit highly uncomfortable and I chose to leave shortly after. The part I didn't understand either was that I tipped the same person five dollars the night before and was polite as well. I don't believe it's right to be attacked and treated like this when you spend your hard earned money there. Really lost respect for this bar and all I ask is that people see this and understand how this place conducts business. Perhaps choose a SAFER bar. I felt if I hadn't left the bar right after that, my life was in danger.

RG

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“I was invisible?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Came in and sat down on a Saturday. Place was not busy, the big flood chased everyone away. Bartender was far more interested in girls playing pool. I get it, I used to be 22. Next day I come back, watch NFL. Same deal. Could not get waited on. This time, his local buds.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheel Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Wheel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheel Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.