We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheel Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Wheel Bar
132 E Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80511
970-586-9381
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 114 restaurants in Estes Park
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Wheel Bar is located in the center of downtown Estes Park, Colorado, the gateway to Rocky Mountain National Park. We pride ourselves in being family owned since 1945 and invite you to drop in to enjoy the local warmth and charm of The Wheel Bar.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was a nice stop but we went for a late lunch and found out they don't serve food til after 5 p.m. but they can call a few other places and have them deliver to them. Prices were not bad for the area. Just a nice little stop to relax for a few in a classic dive bar.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    22
    6
    1
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Dive Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What can I say, I liked the place. Full of locals with party spirit. When I'm in Estes Park, I'll have another drink there and dodge the "Karaoke Scene" down the street. Laid back bartender never missed a beat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best bar in Estes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Oh yeah! It's the place we hit every single time we go. It feels homey and the bartenders know how to make whatever you want. They are also friendly and we get into conversations with them and the locals each time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A dive bar at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went here with friends for cocktails on a Friday night. There was billiards, television, classic rock playing and loads of locals. The drinks were strong and not too pricy. The service was good and friendly. You will get a taste of the local scene in Estes Park.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food.. What?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Little behind writing my review and I probably never would have except after reading other reviews I had to clarify one thing. They don't serve food, at least when we were there. We were given a short list of places that would deliver to the bar, but that isn't what were looking for and in our opinions was not cool. Unless things have changed in the last 3 months any food you order will be delivered to you from another restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheel Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Wheel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheel Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.