We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District
Save
You added The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District to your Saves list
Overlook Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Overlook condos were so incredibly fabulous! We had a quick getaway with Rocky Mountain Resorts who was AMAZING! They allowed us to book two nights even though they had a 3 night minimum. Check in was at the Fawn Valley Inn which was a short drive from the Overlook Condos. They are right behind the Stanley and have incredible views.
1. The condo was beautiful! Loved the style.
2. Bathroom was amazing with the stunning tile, Jacuzzi tub...
3. I wanted to steal the pillows.
4. Rocky Mountain Resorts offers a HUGE selection of DVD's you can check out for free.
5. We did cook - you need to bring or buy spices.
6. They have all things you need in the kitchen though - coffee pot, ironing board, ...
7. Flat screen TV, romantic fireplace
8. Of course the hot tub was amazing... really really amazingly awesome. After hiking it was simply heaven.

We walked to the end of our parking lot, down a couple flights of stairs and was able to get into the Stanley for some incredible drinks in the evenings. Really the location could not have been better, the service with Rocky Mountain Resorts was amazing and I will come back!!

They have bigger units for families and I could definitely see me bringing my kiddos up there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful experience on the "Ghost and History Tour"!! Our tour guide was so entertaining! Cathryn was very pleasant and knowledgeable, Her enjoyment and pride shined as she told us about the history and then intrigued us with the ghost stories! I would HIGHLY recommend her as a tour guide. She recommended eating at Cascades at the hotel and we were extremely happy with yummy meal also!! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ord, Nebraska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Recently my husband and I had the wonderful experience of staying at the Mannor at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, Colorado. The room was extremely clean, the views from the hotel are out of this world and the staff was amazing. The best part was the food! In the morning, the pastries and breakfast items were 5 star quality. We also ate supper one night at the Cascades Resturant in the main Hotel. It was divine! We were gone most every day touring around the town and park, thus we closed up our room and then opened the windows at night. Thus, while the days were warm, the nights were just fine in regards to the temperature in our non-airconditioned rooms. It had a fan and ceiling fan and that was plenty. I would recommend the ghost tour also. What a hoot that was and our guide was amazing. The staff always made sure we had what we needed and very very kind. I can't wait to go back and stay again. Excellent and peaceful.

Room Tip: We chose a suite for plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My hubby and I went here for a romantic getaway! It is a hotel full of history. I recommend taking the tours of the place. It is drenched in such amazing stories. The room was small, but clean and service personal went above and beyond. The view is perfect! And yes, there were things that went bump in the night ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria az
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have wanted to stay at The Stanley for Years!! And it did not disappoint! My boys and I loved it! The room was amazing with a beautiful view! Guest services were prompt and friendly. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the Cascade restaurant on the grounds and both meals more than met our expatiation. We also enjoyed our history and ghost tour. We are looking forward to going back in a couple of years when my boys are both 21 so we can belly up to the whiskey bar together!! Loved the front patio!! So relaxing and wow what a amazing view of the Rock Mountains !

Room Tip: We were in room 236! Loved it!!! Rooms clean, bed comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Rented #311 at The Overlook for just 2 nights (moved from another Rocky Mtn Resorts property because we needed to stay 2 extra nights and it was fully booked, so The Overlook was offered as alternative). The condo units here are administered from the Fawn Valley Inn, where we found the owner very helpful and all staff we enountered were friendly and helpful too.
The house met our needs excellently. Spacious, well furnished with comfortable seating and a very comfortable bed, as well as fully equipped kitchen and a large bathroom with a jetted tub as well as a large shower stall. Good quality linens and amenitie, and a small patio at front.
We had one problem; we were unable to connect to the internet using the (free) wifi. As this was a bit inconvenient, we contacted the Inn to report it and were promised someone would come to help. Within 30 mins. their maintenance person arrived - this was after 9 pm. He eventually found that the modem was faulty, and would need replacement by the service provider, but he immediately provided us with an access code to an alternative network within range. We thought this very good service indeed.
The units at The Overlook, we understand, are individually owned, so we assume t hat decor and furnishings vary according to the owners' preferences. This unit was furnished in "mountain style" and we thought this overly cluttered. Although everything appeared to be clean, all vertical surfaces, and most horizontal ones as well, were covered with ornament and decoration, including even animal models and imitation "greenery" on a high level ledge below the vaulted ceiling - we wouldn't like the job of cleaning the dust off all this, and we did wonder if anyone ever did so.
But this is a small point really - if you like cool, minimalist.....don't go there, otherwise, just enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The interior was 100% as advertised. Very nice. Bed miserable. Hot tub outside at front door on sidewalk, lame. Too apartment complex feeling. No A/C. Guard on duty during day, not at night? View through parking lot and service entrance to Stanley. Nothing wrong with property if this appeals to you. I will be looking for something along the babbling brook next trip

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District

Address: Overlook Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 22

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overlook at the Stanley Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.