We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cache La Poudre Half Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rapid Transit Rafting

Rapid Transit Rafting
161 Virginia Drive, P.O. Box 4095, Estes Park, CO 80517
800-367-8523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 Activities in Estes Park
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have been offering family whitewater raft trips with transportation from Estes Park for 30 years. We are the ONLY company that will let you sit back and relax while WE DRIVE you to the river.We have morning and afternoon half day rapids trips on the Cache La Poudre, and full day more relaxed trips on the Colorado River.Bring the whole family! We can take kids as young as 7 if they also weigh at least 50 pounds. You've never been rafting? You are our specialty. Give us a chance to get you wet! Join the others who say our trip was the highlight of their Estes Park vacation.Call us now!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
hiawatha, ia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cache La Poudre Half Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Drive is 80min each way from EP to Cache La Poudre river put-in. Water is low in August which was just fine for us first timers. Spend about 1.5 hrs on river. Raft same stretch twice with the bus shuttle in middle. Great and entertaining guides!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Yes, your review is correct. It is 80 minutes to the half day river, and when the water is low at the end of the season we sometimes run the same section twice because it's the one section that still has enough water. That's why we recommend the full day trip on the Colorado River later in the season - they have more water and it's a 4-5 hour continuous stretch of water with some spectacular scenery. We hope you'll give that trip a try next time. We are now challenged to get five stars out of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    22
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, LA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great trip on last day of season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had originally booked a 1/2 day trip on the Poudre River, but was contacted by the rafting company a few days before to notify us that the government had shut down the reservoir that feeds the river making it too low to raft. We were offered a choice of either a refund or to book the full day trip on the Colorado. We chose the full day and are really glad we did. It was a beautiful, relaxing trip with a couple of splashes in some mild rapids that gave us a small taste of the rafting experience without getting totally soaked. As there were no kids on our raft, none were disappointed that we remained mostly dry. The guides are very informative and entertaining. We felt very safe & comfortable in their care. The van ride to the river was also very enjoyable. Our driver shared information about the park as we drove though and I was happy that my husband was given the chance to enjoy the beautiful scenery during the ride instead of keeping his eyes constantly on the yellow line on the highway. I chose this company based on positive reviews and also because they were the only ones to provide transportation to the river. The entire experience, from the booking and very informative email follow-up, to the transportation, and finally the rafting was top-notch! It is a very professional and well run business. I would definitely recommend doing business with this company. You will not be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Couldn't have written a better review if I'd written it myself - even a compliment to the office staff and the email confirmation. Thank you thank you. You really put a positive spin on our having to cancel your trip. Your glass is truly half full! We advise the Colorado River is usually the better trip in August when water levels are lower, but we understand some just don't have a full vacation day to devote to rafting and seeing Rocky Mountain National Park.
We're glad you took us up on the offer. Wasn't that a great way to spend the day? Thanks for spending the time with us, and for taking the time to do such a terrific writeup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first ever trip white water rafting, and we used Tripadvisor ratings to help us make a decision. We are glad we did. Our group of eight "newbies" took a full day trip down the Colorado River on Aug 13, and it was an experience we will never forget. On our drive down to the river, our driver gave us interesting information about the Trail Ridge Road and other attractions along the drive. While the drive was long, it was worth it. When we got to the River, Bill the Muppet gave us a quick run down of the safety rules, and fortunately no one in our group got summer teeth as a result. Up to that point we were very happy with our decision, but after getting in the raft with our guide, Ben, what was already a great trip was kicked up a notch. Ben was hilarious, informative, and very knowledgeable about the river and the areas around the river. We saw Bighorn Sheep, Golden Eagles, and Bald Eagles, and while that was great, we all agreed that Ben's personality, humor, and overall interaction with all of us made the trip one of the best adventures we've ever been on. He even got all eight of us to do the rodeo, although our last person chickened out and fell into the boat instead of the river. We would like to personally thank Rapid Transit and Ben for making this a trip we'll all remember. Next time we're back in Estes, we will be booking another trip with Rapid Transit for sure!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks for such a great writeup! We had to laugh at your comments about Ben and his jokes (you'll see the people from the last writeup weren't as appreciative of his humor lol. We accused Ben of writing this review after reading it. ha!)
The Colorado River is such a beautiful place away from everything, and a perfect spot to spend a day of your vacation to really relax and remember what it's all about.
Thank you for spending the day with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For calmer water and gorgeous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We chose the tamer full day trip on the Colorado River and really liked the float/rafting and the gorgeous drive across Trail Ridge Road. We chose this trip so we could both enjoy seeing the vistas and wildlife of Trail Ridge Road with an experienced driver/guide and also be able to take photos of the canyon from this calmer water (not an option when youre busy paddling the white water of the Poudre and hoping you don't fall out). We lucked out with driver Bill, a retired teacher who was an amusing fountain of interesting facts and terrific wildlife spotter. He also gave some terrific tips for great scenic spots to see around RMNPark and Estes Park. We did several and enjoyed them all. The rafting route was gorgeous and our guide, Ben, pointed out bald eagles and other interesting things along the way. His repetitive jokes and water fights with other rafts in our group got old fast but I'm sure it's not easy to entertain strangers every day. I'm sure the kids like those aspects of this outfitter. RTR was well organized and helpful when booking. I'd recommend as a great 1st day activity so you can acclimate before a full day's hike in the altitude...and see great, wide vistas from the high road and unique views from inside the canyon that you won't get on hikes inside the park.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for such nice comments. We do the Colorado River when we're setting up the operation, and again at the end of the season when we're closing up. It is just so beautiful over there. It's so calming, and just helps put the perfect end to our season. We're glad you enjoyed the drive with Bill - he knows so much about Rocky Mountain National Park.
And Ben - we know what you mean about the jokes. He's that way around us too :) We're glad he's on the team and has returned for the 2014 season too.
Come see us again - we look forward to the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I did the half-day trip on the Cache de Poudre and had a great experience from start to finish. We signed up in person at the office in Estes Park where we were assisted by three very pleasant ladies who took our reservation and answered all of our questions. Although we hadn't made advanced reservations, we were able to book a trip for two days later. Water shoes and eyeglass straps are available for purchase at very reasonable cost at the office for those who need them--this was much appreciated.

The river is an 80-minute bus trip from Estes Park, and RTR is up front about this--there is no place closer. For this reason, the length of the trip from start to finish is about 6 hours which includes the drive to the river and back. We spent about 2 hours on the river. They make it as easy as possible by driving everyone in a bus. Our driver was Jack and he did a great job navigating the winding roads while we sat back and enjoyed the beautiful scenery of Colorado. Once on site, we were fitted with life jackets and helmets, given a safety talk and assigned to a raft in groups of 7 or 8 with a guide. Our guide was Becky and she did a fabulous job with our group of novice rafters, keeping us safe while giving us a fun experience with just enough thrills. Even though the water level is at its lowest in August, we had a wonderful time rafting one section of the river twice--the rafts were trucked back up to our starting point for the second run.

RTR has been in this business for many, many years and it shows--they've got all the details covered: great customer service, lots of fun, and above all safety. We would book with them again without question if we are back in Estes Park in the future. My only regret is that we had to leave town to return home early the next morning before we got a chance to look at the photos that they take of each group of rafters.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidTransitRafting, Owner at Rapid Transit Rafting, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
What a thorough description of our trip. Jack and Becky have been with us awhile and often get good mentions from customers. Thanks for mentioning the office staff - they are the "off the river" team that makes it all happen. Many thanks to LINDA, MISSY, JESS, MADELINE AND ELLEN for making our lives so much easier this summer. We would love to see each and every one of their faces again next season.
You didn't get to see your photos? Just drop us an email or call - we'll get proofs out to you so you can take a look at them. We appreciate your business - thank you for taking the time to say such nice things about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapid Transit Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Rapid Transit Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rapid Transit Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.