We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm hosts, great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokopelli Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kokopelli Inn
Save
You added Kokopelli Inn to your Saves list
6777 US Hwy 36 East, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland, England
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“warm hosts, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Butch and June made us so welcome on arrival - lovely glass of wine on their sunny patio, and enjoyed hearing about all the wildlife that come to visit nearby. As others have already said, food and hospitality here are second to none and the hosts are warm, efficient and knowledgeable - this is a great base for hiking in Estes Park - or more adventurous activities and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
215
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We can't say enough about June and Butch at the Kokopelli Inn. We left a hisorical hotel two nights early and it was the best decision we made! Kokopelli Inn is a true bed and breakfast experience. Afternoon treats, nights by the fire and delicious breakfast plus wonderful innkeepers you should really get to know. Rooms are spacious and clean plus your own private deck. We've never been so sad to leave an accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

This was our first time at a B&B and we weren't certain what to expect. Butch & June are wonderful - the kind of people you would to be your friends forever. The food was delicious and plentyful. A couple of mornings we left quite early in our travels and they made us a breakfast "to go." We did not expect them to do that! Our room was spotless and private. It is a very short distance outside of Estes, so the location is very peaceful. You are not in the midst of the heavy tourist traffic. It was so nice to sit outside and enjoy the environment, watch the hummingbirds and other birds at the feeders. The cost was beyond reasonable. Something that was very important to me was that I felt safe and I felt our belongings were safe. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there alone and it would be the only place I would want to stay if I was returning to Estes. Thank you Butch & June !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed in the Kokopelli Suite. I agree with the reviews here. Butch and June are great host, the room was imaculately clean, nice being out of touristy downtown Estes Park, only about 15 minutes from the park entrance. However I would like to point out a few of the things that you might want to know.

There is no door to the bathroom (see photo of view from bed). Somewhat disconcerting when you're lounging in bed watching TV while someone is taking care of buisiness 15 feet away nearly in full view, not to mention the noise if some one gets up in the middle of the night to flush the toilet. The inn is located about 50 feet from the main highway leading to Boulder. The traffic noise with the door to the porch open was louder than the TV. But by nigth time it got much quieter. One more thing is that room had several heavily scented candles that we disliked and should not have been there.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but I thought people should be aware of things that might bother them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kokopelliinn, Owner at Kokopelli Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Thank you for writing your review.
We are a few hundred feet above and up the hill from the highway and during peak times during the day there is a lot of trafic on the highway. I would think that when people see the address, Highway 36, they would take that into consideration. Rarely has anyone commented about it and it is normally quiet in the evening when most people are here.
As far as the bathroom is concerned, it is set up for " romantic couples", with a two person shower for a reason and there are doors on the toilet area. The picture on our website clearly shows the layout of the shower and toilet area.
Our desire is for our guests to enjoy their stay and we appreciate their business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just back from a lovely weekend at the Kokopelli Inn. We were in the Dream Catcher room, a lower level room with it's own private entrance. The room comes with treats each night (chocolate covered strawberries, cookies, etc.), a small refrigerator, microwave, DVD player (movies are available to borrow), coffee maker and the usual toiletries. Plenty of hot water and water pressure. Bed was comfy. The downstairs location kept the room nice and cool despite the warmth outside. There is a hot tub and free wifi (though it does not work well downstairs). The hosts and other guests were a joy. They'll make a fire in the evening and offer smores if desired. Breakfast is served at 8 or 9 am and is ample and tasty. The only drawbacks were that there was a crop of small flies in our room and that the B&B is about 6.5 miles outside of town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

What a wondeful B & B experience! It had been several years since we had stayed at a B & B. We thought for our anniversary we would give it another try. Butch and June made our stay so enjoyable and well worth the decision. All the personal touches make it extra special! This Inn by far was the most comfortable, relaxing B & B that we had ever stayed at. Each room has it's own balcony with a sitting area to enjoy the outdoors. Very clean rooms, and hummingbirds to watch right off the deck.
The breakfasts were delicious and very filling, and Butch's margaritas were amazing! Butch and June have done a wonderful time setting up this B & B so their visitors will want to come back. They make you feel like family! We look forward to a return visit soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I thought the proprietors had been in business for decades (true professionals), but was amazed to learn this was only their 2nd year. Everything was first rate - the rooms, the breakfasts, the service. The rates are a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokopelli Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopelli Inn

Address: 6777 US Hwy 36 East, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southwest bed and breakfast. Decorated in southwest decor and family antiques. 15 Acres of mountain to hike and take in the whispering pines, wild flowers, hummingbirds and wild life that frequent the property. Wake up to sour dough cinnamon rolls baking. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast in the dining room or served in the privacy of your room or on your private deck. It's beautiful, peaceful and serene. Minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokopelli Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.