We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful setting for a B & B with the best HOSTS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast
650 Lakewood Ct, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Estes Park B&B and Inns
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
“Most beautiful setting for a B & B with the best HOSTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Thank you Hilde & Rudy for sharing your gifts of wood working, cooking & hospitality. We could have not asked for a better place to stay while in Estes Park. A perfect location away from the busy town. It was so nice to come back to a relaxing and quiet place. And then to wake up to a wonderful breakfast each morning, with such warm & sincere fellowship. Your kindness to adjust your menu to accommodate my husbands diet meant a lot to us. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. We were so surprised to learn that we had a connection to WI with you, as well as West Bend, WI. We hope that our stay brought back wonderful memories you had during your life in WI, as you shared your stories with us. We hope that we meet again!

Room Tip: Pick a room that can over look the town & mountains. BEAUTIFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
218
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just a wonderful stay. Beautiful place and warm accommodations. Rudy and Hilde are just such nice hosts and the breakfast superb. We enjoyed the spacious rooms and the comfort of views of the Estes area. Get away from the busy-ness and relax.

Room Tip: The fitness center is the location next to Rocky Mountain National Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you want to be pampered in Old World ambiance with beautiful appointments and "may I have seconds on the food please?", then this B&B is for you and your special Dear One:) Add the bonus of bird filled birdfeeders,and mule deer and elk parading around this site and you sigh "This is the good life!" We want to go their again! George and Merry

Room Tip: Room in the back by the backyard is cozy and very private feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just spent two relaxing days at the Sonnenhof B & B. It was our very first experience at any B & B. The Sonnedhof's have set the B & B bar very high. Hilde and Rudy have true servants heart. We would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Sonnenhof bed and breakfast over Valentines weekend in celebration of our upcoming 26th wedding anniversary...Rudy and Hilde have the best we have ever stayed at! their property is not in the actual town of Estes but just a few minutes away but because of this it is a very peaceful property with animals walking about all over! The forest behind their home is beautiful to see while we ate our delicious breakfast every morning or we could stand out on the private deck from our room and look at the mountains! If you are looking for something away from the noise and hustle bustle of the world, this is the sanctuary for you! Rudy and Hilde make you feel very comfortable! Every morning we would enjoy a home made breakfast and just visit with this amazing couple! we will definitely come again and stay with them! Thank you both for a beautiful visit!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Romantic Rose Suite, but we had the pleasure of seeing all three rooms as we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I booked a getaway for the weekend to relax before school started up again. It was our first time at a B&B and we couldn't have been more amazed! We had a wonderful time relaxing, enjoying the views, and visiting with Rudy and Hilde. The accommodations were amazing, relaxing, and so warm! We can't say enough about the hospitality the Frank's provide. By the time you leave you feel like you are a part of their family and you don't want to leave!! The breakfast is amazing, you are fed wonderful homemade food until you are ready to burst. The B&B is so clean it is truly amazing! Thank you so much Rudy and Hilde for opening your home to us!
The Grays

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I have wanted to stay at the Sonnenhof while in Estes Park for a couple of years. We made it this past weekend, enjoying the visit with our daughter and son-in-law. We have stayed in a few top end B&B's, and this one rates with the best in every way. Wonderful place, with very nice, comfortable, and large rooms, beautiful furnishings throughout, scrumptious breakfasts, an excellent location just outside Estes with a mountain feel and great views, and perfect hosts in Rudy and Hilde - who are so warm, friendly, and genuine, that you immediately feel as if you were with extended family. Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Sonnenhof Hotel
Sonnenhof Hotel Estes Park
Sonnenhof b&b
Address: 650 Lakewood Ct, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Rocky Mountain National Park > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast winter view ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list