We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
650 Lakewood Ct, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was my first bed and breakfast experience and I must say my standards will be VERY high from now on. The property is absolutely beautiful, the most perfect log home I've ever seen! The rooms are cozy and large. We loved chatting with Hilde and Rudy during our delicious breakfast each morning. We will definitely be back and will recommend Sonnenhof to our friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
237
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I've stayed in Estes many times but none compare to my recent stay at the Sonnenhof. Rudy and Hilde Frank make you feel right at home. The property is immaculate and the location is just up the road about five minutes from the Riverside Plaza in downtown Estes.
We're looking forward to heading back there in March for more good times and a great breakfast. I feel blessed to have found such a great place to rest my head in Estes Park.
Thank you again,
Shannon & Tammy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

When September's flooding destroyed Highway 34 (the road we would normally take to get to Estes Park), we thought it would be impossible to come up before the end of the year. Wrong! The road repair crews have created a workaround: via Hwy 119 through Boulder Canyon, then on to Hwy 72, then Hwy 7. This route took about one hour more than usual, but it was well worth the drive. Rudy and Hilde have worked extremely hard to ensure that their business is able to continue to run smoothly despite the daunting challenges that come about when a community is recovering from a natural disaster. Their home, perched high above Mary's Lake, was thankfully undamaged and is a mere five minutes away from Rocky Mountain National Park. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed a blissfully quiet weekend in our spacious room. Great views, great hospitality, great food -- we will be back.

Room Tip: The Aspen Room was great -- so many thoughtful touches. We could make our own meals in the kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We loved our suite on the first floor...large and secluded...wish we could have used the private patio but it was cold and snowy ...beautiful weather. Deer and other wildlife seen daily in the woods. Rudy's furniture! Each one a work of art. The bed is so comfortable. We stayed for three nights and wished for more! Although we stayed during a time of certain restrictions because of area flooding they were of minor inconvenience ...we so look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was an excellent B&B. We stayed in the front room on the top floor (Rose Suite) -- it had a great view out over the valley south of Estes Park. The room was spectacular in furnishing, size, appointment, atmosphere. The breakfast was also excellent -- both in food quality and in the conversation with the hosts and other guests. I'll stay here again when back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed in a lot of B&B's over the last 20 yrs, but this one is by far the best one ever! Rudy and Hilde are beautiful and kind hosts. The accomodations are awesome and Rudy made most of the furniture himself. What a talenteled craftsman. And Hilde, well you will not go away from the breakfast table hungry as she is an awesome cook with everything fresh, hot and homemade! What a true blessing to become aquainted with such wonderful people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to stay at
Rudy and Hilde's Bed and Breakfast the 9th, 10th, & 11th of Sept...it started raining just about the same time we arrived on the 9th, and it continued to rain day and night through out are stay!
We didn't let a little rain stop us from having a good time and a wonderful stay....we went on hike's and did everything that we had planned on doing. The rain didn't let up, but it was time for us to go home to Kansas....we packed up early and started for home on the 12th, we almost got to Lyons and was turned away because the road and several roads were now closed....we headed right back to Rudy and Hilde's they took us right back in with a loving smile, and fed us another wonderful breakfast.....what a wonderful place to get stranded at. Their home is BEAUTIFUL IN EVERY WAY!!!! Rudy and Hilde are very kind with loving hearts in everything they say and do....we also got to meet two other lovely couples who were staying at their B&B. to make a long story short everything you read about Rudy and Hilde, their B&B is all so very true.....and let me add wait till you taste Rudy's apple pancakes, and
Hilde's crape's they are out of this world!!! We are headed back to Kansas! Thank's again Rudy and Hilde...

Don and Connie

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

Address: 650 Lakewood Ct, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast winter view ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof b&b
Sonnenhof Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.