We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
650 Lakewood Ct, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in several B&B's in the past 35 years but none have been as nice or as complete in every facet of the Inn as the Sonnenhof. The attention to detail is unsurpassed in our
experiences, the quality is top notch and Rudy and Hilde are the most hospitable Innkeepers that
we have meet. The surroundings of nature combine to create a wonderful place to relax, refuel and reconnect with what is real and good in life. I cant wait to get back soon I hope.

Paul P.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
256
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 20th anniversary here. I booked based on other reviews and I have too say I was not disappointed! Our stay was even more remarkable than I had imagined! Hilde and Rudi are were such nice hosts, engaging and hospitable. The breakfasts were outstanding! Pancakes, eggs, fruit, waffles, muffins, sausage, etc, etc. All the food was fresh and delicious! Our room was large and comfortable (the photos don't do it justice!). Rudy has done all the woodwork in the house and it is remarkable! Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed staying here! I HIGHLY recommend this B&B!!!!

Room Tip: The Golden Aspen room has a private patio overlooking the backyard gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for a three night getaway. Could not be happier! Loved our room, loved the surroundings, the owners were lovely and very accommodating. Every aspect was top notch. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

For our honeymoon we booked three nights at Sonnenhof.

The owners Hilde and Rudi are very kind and friendly. The breakfasts were outstanding, almost everything was homemade. Great waffles, french toast, pancakes, pie, fresh fruit, everything you wish. Besides the great breakfast we had nice conversations with Hilde and Rudi.

The rooms are beautiful, very clean and have good beds. The furniture in Austrian/American style and is made by the owners themselves.

This bed and breakfast has character and is a high recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cypress
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a beautiful bed & breakfast. It is located in such a pristine location, overlooking Estes Park. The B&B itself is absolutely stunning, with hand carved woodwork. The rooms were exceptionally clean and wonderfully decorated. The owners were so kind and full of good cheer. I saw more than a few of the other guests giving them a hug as they were checking out. Very warm atmosphere at very reasonable rates; you just can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend five nights at Sonnenhof B&B. Their home is beautiful and in a peaceful, incredibly picturesque setting. Hilde & Rudy are absolutely delightful, and made sure we were treated to a new, delicious & plentiful breakfast each day. We stayed in the Romantic Rose Suite which was so comfortable, spacious, quiet and had gorgeous views from our deck. We have stayed in many B&Bs, and this is one of our favorites. We plan to return to Estes Park next year and will definitely return to Sonnenhof!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to call home while visiting the Rocky Mountain National Park. Rudy and Hilde are excellent hosts who have thought of every detail to make sure that their guests are comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and the house is clean and wonderful. Hilde's breakfast is a feast and an event of its own. We look forward to planning another trip to Estes Park and staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
3.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Golden Leaf Inn
The Golden Leaf Inn
#3 of 20 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
3.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#7 of 76 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast

Address: 650 Lakewood Ct, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast winter view ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof b&b
Sonnenhof Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnenhof Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.