We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend the Surrey Topped Dual Pedal Carts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Estes Marina

Lake Estes Marina
1770 BigThompson Avenue, PO Box 1379, Estes Park, CO 80517
(970) 586-2011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 34 Attractions in Estes Park
Type: Marinas
Attraction Details
Lake Ozark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Recommend the Surrey Topped Dual Pedal Carts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Much of the path around the lake was understandably closed for safety sake in late spring when we visited due to protective elk cows that were calving in the park at the time, but even the short path still available was a fun workout on the pedal carts. More paths were available for bicyles but too steep for the pedal carts to use. Also rented a pontoon, but bring your sunscreen - we were disappointed not to be allowed to use the bimini tops that provide a little shade. They are only open 9a.m. - 5 p.m., so would recommend going in the morning when the sun isn't so intense. The other down side is that the lake is really on the verge of being too small to truly enjoy motor boating.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Rented a pontoon boat, rather small lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a beautiful location and we rented a pontoon boat at the rate of $44 an hour. If you want to fish or just hang out on the lake this is a nice place. However, if you want to cruise around on the boat, not such a good place as it is rather small. One hour was plenty! The insurance company for the boat rentals require all persons wear life jackets at all times so this was rather annoying on a pontoon boat. Been there, done that, would not go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Views, but Architecure Lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We attended a wedding party at the marina. The pavilion is nice, but the boathouse, in the foreground pretty much tries to ruin the experience - it is a cinderblock eyesore. With all of the monry Estes Park spent in town on the Riverwalk, they could have made a better effort here. The only reason for four stars is the view.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Stroll around the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We did the loop walk around Lake Estes on our first morning in town, I think the elevation change had gotten to me a bit and I wanted to take it easy the first day. As it was September when we visited, it was mating season for the Elk and there were plenty of them wandering around the lake, some even chilling off in the cool waters. We were warned not to get too close as they could be unpredictable that time of year so we did our best to keep a good distance. The walk itself was paved most of the way round and I think it was around 3.5 miles for a full loop. It was a very enjoyable way to ease into things. Seemed to be a popular place for jogging, cycling and dog walking too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My dad and husband went here and said it was ok. They had to pay a $5 parking fee, which I understand is not much, but considering they had already paid for fishing license this was a bit ridiculous. I recommend going to Mary's Lake down the road. It's bigger, plenty of places to fish, and parking is free.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Estes Marina also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Lake Estes Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Estes Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.