We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here we found the key to a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baldpate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Baldpate Inn to your Saves list
The Baldpate Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   4900 South Highway 7, PO Box 700, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Durand, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Here we found the key to a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

The Baldpate Inn was a happy find for us on Route 7 just south of Estes Park. Too bad we could only stay one night. Great atmosphere, watching the "7 Keys to Baldpate" movie was a treat, the breakfast was tasty, and there is good hiking nearby. We recommend it highly.

  • Liked — personality of inn
  • Disliked — not too many private bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    4
    6
    9
See reviews for
19
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, IA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

On our recent trip to Estes Park, we were looking for a romantic place to have a good meal and ended up at The Baldpate Inn. They didn’t disappoint! The view of town was amazing, the service was wonderful, and the food was simply amazing.

We didn't know if we would get full eating soup and salad, but by the end we were absolutely stuffed! The salad bar included everything to make your own salad, as well as three specialty salads. Then it was on to the fresh muffins and unbelievable cornbread!!! After a bowl of each soup, we were convinced to find room for pie....great move!!! After struggling with what kind to get, we shared pecan and apple, and they were both amazing (especially with ice cream)!!

After our meal we spent some time looking around their world famous key room, and then enjoyed a mountain sunset from the front porch.

Our entire experience was great, from the food, to the view, to the hummingbirds and friendly chipmunks that seem to pose for pictures. In fact, we ended up coming back two nights later to try it again, and again, they didn't disappoint. In fact, it was like a whole new menu, with new salads, soups, and muffins!

We would recommend this place to everyone looking for a great meal! Next time we go to Estes Park, we will be staying in one of the cabins at the Inn!!

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — We loved it all!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olpe, KS
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

Stay far, far away from this restaurant. My family and I (5 people) chose to eat dinner here, and were advised that reservations were necessary. After eating there, I can't imagine why.

To begin with, the cost: for five people, dinner, which was soup and salad bar only, was over 85 US dollars. The service was nonexistent, and rodents were running into the dining room from outside.

Secondly, the food: it was terrible. There were two choices for soup, both of which apparently had been simmering since noon, and by dinner time were beyond palatable. The lettuce in the salad bar was brown, and the choice of vegetables was slender; the dressings, which should have been cold, were warm. The "dessert" cart was filled with pies that had no consistency, and were basically piles of berries with a ghost of a crust.

The decor was eclectic, and there are gourmet magazines to read while you wait for a meal that McDonald's wouldn't serve. Don't eat here unless you have a fetish for the wretched.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

We stayed in a three bedroom cabin, which was roomy. There was a big fireplace, which we used every night.

I can't say enough about the courteous staff at the inn. They were friendly and informative when asked for help.

The food in the dining room was excellent. Breakfast was a real treat. I bought the Baldpate Collections book at the giftshop, because it contained recipes for some of the wonderful breakfast dishes.

The Inn has an interesting photo collection in the dining room. Apparently the inn's original owner had a son who was a well-known photographer. The son's b&w pictures of famous people, such as Teddy Roosevelt, are hanging on the walls. Most of the photos are autographed.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Baldpate Inn to anyone who wants a relaxing vacation.

  • Liked — the privacy was good because we stayed in a cabin
  • Disliked — the was a little bit of a hike to get to the cabin from the parking lot
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

This mountain inn has a lot of charm and is a perfect get away from the busy world. The 3-course homemade breakfast is to die for - they'll even pack up your cinnamon roll for you to take on your hikes. You can watch the hummingbirds from the huge front porch and occasionally see deer or even a bear cub if you look hard enough. Everything in the restaurant is made from scratch - so if you prefer greasy proceessed foods then go to McD's. The pies are delicious and I love the Pumpkin Curry soup and Banana Butterscotch muffins. Yes it's a little quaint and there are no TVs or phones in the rooms, but there is a cozy library with a fireplace and TV. They'll knock on your door if you get a phone call. It was built in the early 1900s so the walls are a little thin and there are some rooms with shared baths, but if that's a problem then spend the night in one of their renovated cabins. The Inn is on the National Register of Historic Places, so sit back and enjoy. I recommend the rhubarb pie with a little chocolate chip ice cream and a hot coffee when you do that.

  • Liked — It was a cozy setting in the mountains
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2006

This B&B's only redeeming quality is the view but in Estes Park you can find this anywhere. The food is simple and extreemly overpriced. You are better off camping and grilling burgers; you'll have just as many ammenities. The inn itself is loud; a room with a window is privy to the conversations from the porch and our room could hear our neighbors and whatever was happening downstairs. The staff is poorly motivated and the owner is rude. The showers contained a disturbing amount of body hair. The shops in town also had better pie. Your vacation is better off if you avoid this place.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

The exterior and public spaces of this Inn have considerable rustic charm, and the location and view are lovely. Moreover, the staff, although young and inexperienced, tried hard to please. Nonetheless, I would never stay here again. My room (#24) was tiny and dingy. While the shared bathrooms were O.K., the showers were awful, unclean and located in a closet with no space in which to dress or undress. The biggest problem, however, was the lack of soundproofing. I could hear every word uttered by the couple in the next room, including a lengthy and tedious argument at bedtime. After they finally went to sleep, I could even hear the husband breathing. Coupled with the constant creaking of ancient floorboards and noise from the downstairs public spaces, I was unable to sleep. In addition, on the second night of my stay, I showed up in the dining room (which serves only soup and salad) at 7:30 p.m and was turned away on the ground that dinner ended at 7:00 on Sundays. Since the Inn is located high in the mountains with no other restaurants nearby, and it was after dark, I begged to be allowed to make myself a quick salad. Although the dining room was full of guests, and the salad bar was still open, my request was denied. After a long day of hiking, I therefore went off to another sleepless night without supper. I left this hotel exhausted and hungry. Estes Park has many charming places to stay and you would do well to choose a different one.

  • Liked — Outdoor porch and view.
  • Disliked — Noise Level.
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baldpate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baldpate Inn

Address: 4900 South Highway 7, PO Box 700, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Baldpate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baldpate Inn is key to enjoying serenity in Estes Park. With Rocky Mountain National Park as our neighbor, the log & lace feel of our 1917 National Register Inn pampers you with B&B accommodations in our main lodge guest rooms or our cozy cabins. Enjoy the front porch views, become fascinated by our collections of Keys and Photographs or savor our famous Soup & Salad buffet as you dine in our award-winning specialty restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Baldpate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baldpate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.