We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for light sleepers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Baldpate Inn

Save Saved
You added The Baldpate Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baldpate Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   4900 South Highway 7, PO Box 700, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not for light sleepers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let's be clear, this place is charming. The views are awesome and the place is quirky and interesting. It's by far, in our opinion, better to stay in a place with this much charm than in a bog-standard motel//lodge BUT there are some drawbacks. The biggest of these is that it's NOISY, so if you're a light sleeper you may have a disturbed nights sleep. This is not just a matter of floorboards and doors but also of plumbing and fans.If you're doing a long trail hike and you need your sleep, you sould bear this in mind.
The food was great, especially the breakfast, but a single option of a soup and salad buffet as an evening meal seemed most odd to European tastes. Still, it was worth the visit but the noise takes down the score a tad....

Room Tip: Ask for a "quiet" room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    3
    6
    9
See reviews for
16
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This historic Inn is minutes from Estes Park, Colorado. Far enough away to truly get away from it all, but close enough to make a perfect stay while visiting Estes. My family stayed in one of the cabins surrounding the inn, it was great for a private atmosphere. There is so much nature it's hard not to unplug during your stay. Beautiful views of the valley and the hummingbirds that visit every day make the porch a great place to relax. The staff are very kind, and the meals are delicious. Their cinnamon rolls are outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights recently and felt we had chosen the best possible accommodations in Estes Park. Rustic, antique, simple, friendly. Beautiful porch with comfortable rockers, sofas and other seating to sit and catch breezes. Great, young staff and wonderful owner.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family has been in the inn 2 times. We love it. It's relaxing, has beautiful views. We love the porch-it's a nice place to relax, read, etc. The staff are very helpful and friendly. It's old and rustic. A little shabby. The breakfast is excellent.-one of the things my kids (high school and college) anticipate.

Room Tip: Ask when you book-the employees are very helpful. We had a room with 2 double beds, very spacious e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Baldpate has been the spot of my yearly solo vacation for the last 6 years. I happened upon it through a simple search of B&Bs in Estes Park, and could not have been more pleased. The large front deck is the perfect place to catch up on reading, writing, or simply relaxing.

The rooms are cozy and comfortable, think staying in your dream Grandparent's cabin. The shared bathrooms are clean and host wonderful, claw foot bathtubs.

The buffet meals are delicious, and well worth the price. Make sure to save room for the muffins and cornbread, as they are some of the best I have ever eaten.

At the top of the road entrance, Lily Lake is a wonderful place for a morning or late evening walk without needing your car.

Overall, I would recommend the Baldpate for a quite weekend away for couples or singles. It may be a bit quaint for families with small children, as much of the charm is in the quite, mellow ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family has been coming to dinner here for over 60 years. I can remember going to see the Key Room, and amazed at the number of keys. Today, they have a computer registry so visitors can look to see people who donated keys..
We have celebrated wedding anniversaries at the inn. Our children requested a special cake for our 45th anniversary. A surprise for us! Food was delicious, plentiful, in a unique atmosphere.After dinner, we sat on the balcony an watched humming birds visit the many feeders.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcap56
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a really interesting place to stay. Great, scenic location right on the twin sisters mountain. Great views. The food, especially the breakfasts are incredible. Of course, you will have to browse the key room. Great lobby area and fireplaces. The staff was very friendly.

For those looking for modern convenience, this is an older inn so know what to expect. Floors can be slopped. The heating system has a mind of it's own (it was on the second night very strongly but not on during the first night). The fireplaces downstairs are very cozy but most of the inn has a slightly smokey smell.

This is a great, historic inn, in a spectacular location. A great experience. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have private bathrooms but some do not. The hallway bathrooms and showers are fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Baldpate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baldpate Inn

Address: 4900 South Highway 7, PO Box 700, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Baldpate Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baldpate Inn is key to enjoying serenity in Estes Park. With Rocky Mountain National Park as our neighbor, the log & lace feel of our 1917 National Register Inn pampers you with B&B accommodations in our main lodge guest rooms or our cozy cabins. Enjoy the front porch views, become fascinated by our collections of Keys and Photographs or savor our famous Soup & Salad buffet as you dine in our award-winning specialty restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Baldpate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baldpate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.