We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Baldpate Inn

Save Saved
You added The Baldpate Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baldpate Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   4900 South Highway 7, PO Box 700, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Estes Park B&B and Inns
mcap56
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a really interesting place to stay. Great, scenic location right on the twin sisters mountain. Great views. The food, especially the breakfasts are incredible. Of course, you will have to browse the key room. Great lobby area and fireplaces. The staff was very friendly.

For those looking for modern convenience, this is an older inn so know what to expect. Floors can be slopped. The heating system has a mind of it's own (it was on the second night very strongly but not on during the first night). The fireplaces downstairs are very cozy but most of the inn has a slightly smokey smell.

This is a great, historic inn, in a spectacular location. A great experience. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have private bathrooms but some do not. The hallway bathrooms and showers are fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    3
    6
    9
See reviews for
16
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wonderful experience at the BaldPate Inn. Staff couldn't have made me feel more at home and were very accommodating. Room was appointed in a lovely manner, bed was comfortable, and whole place had a rustic charm that was lovely. Fun to nestle into a big overstuffed chair and nestle down with a good book or sit out on the front porch and take in the beauty of the surroundings. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that won't be right over the entry way. It can get loud with people congregating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a good place - good prices, and lots of charm. We've always been a little lukewarm on the college students that run the place (no local knowledge, lacking in customer service - but not awful), but we stayed this past weekend and no one could/would manage the fire in the common area. the entire top floor was filled with smoke, our 3 year old coughed all night, and our clothes smell of campfire. Ugh!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I, along with his brother and his wife, spent two delightful nights at the Baldpate Inn. We stayed in the Valley View Cabin which was totally charming and rustically comfy. We loved hanging out in the main lodge with it's original wood interiors and stone fireplace, "key" room, library, restaurant, bird feeders.... The staff was very helpful and friendly sharing the history of the place as well as local tidbits of info.

The included breakfast was more than ample and simply delicious. It provided excellent fuel for our hikes in Rocky Mountain National Park. We also ordered box lunches, and they were very well-prepared and stocked. A couple could actually share one and still have plenty to eat. We ate their soup and salad dinner one night, and it, too, was delicious.

The location is great. I walked out the door each morning and went birding and hiking before breakfast. The inn is right across the highway from RMNP's Lily Lake. Miles of trails can be accessed from there including the Twin Sisters and Estes Cone.

The only reason I don't give the inn five stars is simply that some folks may want more luxury, larger rooms, fancier bathrooms, but we loved it just as it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Hills, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Love the feeling of going back in time at the Baldpate.

In a time where everything is looking like Southern CA, with predictable nuetrals, the Baldpate stands out like a star. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and attended one of the theater presentations - the light rain caused a delay, but the staff was hussling to dry our chairs, provide umbrellas, blankets, cookies and hot drinks = a whole different experience than most outdoor theaters (e.g. CSF in Boulder...).

If you are looking for a cheap Motel 6, don't bother the staff here...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Building and room were nice. Staff (college kids) were a bit obnoxious. A more interested in screwing around with each other than serving guests. Tried to sit on the communal porch to enjoy the evening and one them was having a loud and long conversation on their cell phone. Which would be annoying in any case but was particularly so given that they were staff.

Breakfast was a bit strage. Three-courses were:
1. Strawberrys in a bowl and a muffin,
2. A thin piece of cornbread with half-melted cheddar and maple syrup (seriously).
3. An undercooked cinnamon roll.

Wonderful location but staff and the breakfast half of things were definitely a let down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

In July, after driving from Iowa back to California...we detoured! No ideas except I'd dreamed of going to Estes Park for years. Not only were we in awe of this grand and inviting inn, but treated like royalty! Our arrival was quite late and upon checking in, the gracious hosts ensured we had tea, brownies, and lemon poppyseed muffins in our room as well as a pitcher of ice water! Unexpected and absolutely delicious!!!
Our room had a toilet closet but no bath, which actually we didn't mind at all! The bathing rooms were FUNTASTIC! Reminded me with its claw foot tubs of an era gone by, and it was extremely relaxing!
We then headed down to breakfast and was promptly seated by a window overlooking the beautiful valley! I stared out the window praying we'd be back soon and my heart ached at the thought of check out time approaching! One day is certainly not enough at this beauty of a spot!!! Hummingbirds greeted us from outside our windows view and entertained us throughout our breakfast. Which by the way was phenomenal! Fresh berries with a Rhubarb Strawberry muffin, followed by Bacon Cheddar Maple Cake!! Yes I said cake for breakfast!!! Yummy! Followed by an extremely hearty sized cinnamon roll!!
Yes we in fact needed a to-go container!
My husband and I did a little walk around, he decided to nap before our departure, I instead headed to the library with a cup of tea and before I knew it, 2 hours had gone by..I'd fallen asleep on their cozy leather sofa! Honestly a comfortable and inviting place!
Read the Book about the 7 Keys to Baldpate, and Lois' cookbook is a MUST HAVE!
We will be back every year! I pray that those who read this review don't go expecting a 5 Star Hotel, but instead receive 5 star service from a historic, amazing and comfortable inn with LOTS of wonderful stories to tell!!
P.S. Plan to leave a key behind for their key collection and make your mark in history!
P.P.S. Lois I need more recipes!!!!

Love,
The Sheldon's
Napa, CA

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaldpateInn, Manager at The Baldpate Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for the outstanding review you have written for us! It is an honor that we had made your first trip to Estes Park such a special one! We will be happy to have you return to our inn next year as well as coming years. Don’t forget to let us know that you are Key Customer now when you decide to return. Hope our recipes are keeping the Baldpate memories alive for your family! We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Baldpate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baldpate Inn

Address: 4900 South Highway 7, PO Box 700, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Baldpate Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baldpate Inn is key to enjoying serenity in Estes Park. With Rocky Mountain National Park as our neighbor, the log & lace feel of our 1917 National Register Inn pampers you with B&B accommodations in our main lodge guest rooms or our cozy cabins. Enjoy the front porch views, become fascinated by our collections of Keys and Photographs or savor our famous Soup & Salad buffet as you dine in our award-winning specialty restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Baldpate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baldpate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.