We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Campground with Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moraine Park Campground
Save
You added Moraine Park Campground to your Saves list
Moraine Park, Estes Park, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice Campground with Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

This is truly a nice campground at the heart of RMNP. We went on the Memorial Day weekend. We reserved well in advance, and thanks that we did, because this campground (and other campgrounds in the NP too) were full. The rangers were very helpful. The restrooms are clean with toilet papers available. The only problem we had because it was freezing cold at night, which was little beyond our expectation at the end of May, and this was because of very late winter this year. But overall experience is great. If you want to stay at the heart of nature, with all basic amenities and oh yes, atleast 1/5th price of even a cheap motel, then this is the place you can rely on.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We just got back from spending 6 nights at Moraine Park. What a great place. Even with the pine beetle, the mountains are beautiful. They are spraying the trees in the campground, so there are still shady spots to camp. This is our 3rd time camping here and we will be back. The ranger programs seem to be better this year and the kids really liked getting their junior ranger badges. Good proximity to Estes Park for supplies and other activities. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

9 & 11 yr old with dad and we had a great time. 'D' area is generator-free so I would recommend the outer loop there as well. The views here were good, too, but did seem like C had great views. We had a walk-in site (but only about 25 yards) and that helped get us out of the busy center.

Suffice to say we'll be going back!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We camped at Moraine Campground in June 2009. The campground is very close to the park entrance which makes it quick to get in and out to Estes Park. It was also nice not having to drive to far in to Rocky Mountain while towing a camper. We dropped off the camper and went out to explore. This campground is close to so much. There are horse riding stables and a few trailheads within walking distance. Each site has a picnic table and a fire pit. The bathrooms are adequate. There's no hot water, but at least there's running water. They seemed to have done a pretty good job keeping them clean. Just make sure and bring the GermX and you'll be ok. The view of Long's Peak every morning when waking up was just incredible. We have 3 young kids who absolutely enjoyed the trip. There's so many animals to keep them entertained. We were very unhappy that we forgot our marshmallow roasters, but we were able to get one. A nice man operates a store of sorts. He sells soda, water, kindling, fire wood and even has ice cream bars. I told him that I forgot the roasters and he lent me one. There's nothing like smores after a long day of hiking! We enjoyed the trip so much that we have all ready booked a return trip in August. One word of advice is to book ahead!! This place will book up well before summer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We camped, Aug 2007, at Moraine Park Campground in Rocky Mountain National Park, for only one night. We stayed in B loop, sleeping in our van and our site was beautiful and very private. We booked ahead of time and I was glad we did, the campground was full that night!

There are many wonderful campsites in this campground, many with views of mountains! We even saw a herd of elk that had decided to "camp" at the campground the next morning.

If you are a tent camper, D loop would be the best for you, no RV sites there. Most of the sites are walk in, so you can get some privacy from your neighbors.

One negative was that the B loop did not have flush toilets, only the nice outhouse style the parks have now. Most of the sites in B loop are for RV's, which usually have their own facilities, but those of us that were not self contained, had to walk elsewhere for flushing and running water! All the other loops, A, C, D had flush/running water.

I can't wait to plan a longer stay at this campground!!

  • Liked — A beautiful campground
  • Disliked — No flush toilets in our camping loop.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

We stayed in Moraine Park campground this weekend for a trip away from Denver. While I'm not a huge fan of car camping next to hundreds of other people (i'd much rather camp in the back country) this wasn't too bad.
Loop C defiantely had the best views, we were in camp site 5 and had a nice view of a meadow, but there were definately spots with better views.
The campground rangers were friendly and knowledgeable, check in and check out were very quick and easy.
My only real complaint is the smell of the bathrooms. They smelled like something died in them, you could hardly breathe it was so bad. Yes, i understand it is camping and the bathrooms are not 5-star quality, but this was absolutely terrible.
Next time, I would rather stay in Aspenglen campground, as it is one of the most beautiful spots in to camp in the park.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2004

My husaband and I love to camp at Moraine Park Campground. We go there at least 3 or 4 times a year. It's the best!!! The views, easy access to hiking and the nature is all around you! You won't be dissapointed in the least.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Park Campground

Address: Moraine Park, Estes Park, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This campground is a good base from which to explore the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moraine Park Campground Hotel Estes Park
Moraine Park Estes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.