We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The campsite is lovely but if only they had showers!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moraine Park Campground
Moraine Park, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The campsite is lovely but if only they had showers!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Moraine Park Campground. We loved our site (A123) and had plenty of room and were close to a bear box which was very handy... the toilets were fine - only gripe was the light above the sinks was not working and there was no way to dry your hands. But if only they would install a shower block somewhere in the park! (there aren't any showers anywhere in the park). The only public showers are a 20 minute drive away in Estes Park and are $5 a go...

The only thing to be aware of is that they are currently doing road works on Bear Lake Road in the park which can make getting in and out of the campground a bit of a process but we didn't find it a big problem.

Other good sites were A124 and A122.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southeast us
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed in our RV for 3 nights (loopA #35). Our spot wasn't the prettiest in the campground, but thanks to 2 small hills on either side of us we had no one else next to us. Not too far away from the bathrooms either (flush toilets & sinks). Our kids loved waking up and watching the mule deer walk around the campsites. Can buy firewood, kindling, ice, soda, & ice cream during the evening hours each night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, CO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

great location. great bathroom. can't really complain about anything.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

As a tent camper, I agree with most of these other reviewers' comments about Moraine Park CG: many of the campsites are close together, Moraine Park Campground has really beautiful views, and the bathrooms are very clean and have soap (!) and flushable toilets.

We are tent campers and do not like to listen to generators in the next door neighbors' campsite. We stayed in site #101, directly in the middle of Loop A. This was a very good site, as it turns out. It's a walk-in site, but that was not a problem. The parking place for our car was right by a (very clean) bathroom. A short little path led up and over a very small hill and right down to our top-of-the-hill campsite, overlooking campsites #41 through #53 (approx.). I thought it would be really noisy with all those RVs directly down the hill, but it wasn't too bad. There was a HUGE boulder outcropping right next to our campsite, which the kids LOVED to climb on. And they met several other children from other campsites who were playing there, too.

Every morning and evening, a few deer would cruise through the campground, grazing and looking around. That was a neat experience.

The other thing I liked about our experience was the bear box strategically placed near our campsite. Instead of hauling all of our cooking equipment, food, etc. to the car to keep a clean campsite (i.e., non-bear-enticing), we put the food and equip in the conveniently located bear box. Made cleaning up easy.

Other reviewers have also mentioned the entertaining and informative nightly ranger talks in the amphitheater. I give these rangers very high marks for sharing their knowledge with us in very entertaining and delightful ways. Last summer, we learned about wolverines, pine beetles, and the best places to go hiking in RMNP, among other fascinating topics. If you stay on the "upper" side of Loop A, you might want to drive to the amphitheater -- it's a long walk and it will be dark after the talk.

This year will be our third year to visit RMNP. Our first year, we tried out three other campgrounds because we just didn't know any better. Last year, I felt like we hit the jackpot with Moraine Park and our camping experience there. This year, we plan to return to Moraine Park campground, but on Loop D. We'll see if there is any room for improvement. :)

Oh yeah, I almost forgot -- there is a cantankerous lady who sells firewood and ice every evening at the front gate. She is neither friendly nor helpful. I think there is a gentler place to buy wood and ice in Estes Park -- at The Corner Market with a Conoco gas station in front (Hwy 36 & Mary's Lake Rd.). Just so you know!

Room Tip: Campsite #101 is great, especially for families with older children (ages 7+) who can climb on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We car/tent camped here, and enjoyed it a lot. We went in early May, before they were accepting reservations and it was delightful. Part of the reason it was nice is that it was sunny during the days, and snowing each night, so it was fairly empty in the campground. We arrived and there were Elk all over the campsites. We never saw another one at the campsite after the few RVs arrived. We needed to pay to enter RMNP, and then also to camp but it was very inexpensive. The rangers were very kind and friendly. It was a mixture of tent campers and RVs. The sites are VERY close to each other. We camped in the B loop. It was gorgeous. We were able to make a fire in the campfire pit, but you should check on fire restrictions before you go. We were able to bring our dog, as long as he was on a leash at all times and with us. They do spray with carbaryl to mitigate pine beetles, and at times that closes certain loops of the campground, but they seem to inform people in advance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here the first week of September and loved it. I made reservations ahead of time to make sure we got a site. We were on site 130-a tent site in A loop. It was perfect because it was large, just a short walk from the parking spot, was private, and backed up to wilderness. During breakfast on 2 mornings we were able to watch the mule deer meander behind us. While we slept at night we could hear the elk bugling...cool most of the time except it kept us up one night. We didn't really mind though. We felt like we were really experiencing the park from our campsite. It did look like some of the sites were close together and small, but if you're in a tent, and can reserve ahead of time, you should be able to get a more private site.
In addition, the park is a short drive to Estes Park, visitor centers, and hiking trails. Also just down the road is a lookout of the valley for some prime views and wildlife watching. You can also walk to a shuttle stop to get to the trailheads so you really don't have to drive much. The park personnel were also very nice and helpful.
While on a shuttle we spoke with people staying at one of the nearby RV parks and they were very unhappy and felt like they were in a parking lot. We told them they should consider moving to Moraine for a better experience because we loved it. No, you don't get the amenities there, but who needs the amenities when you're out in nature like that. Just my opinion.
It's not hard for us to enjoy our time in any national park campground, but I can honestly say we loved the park and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Agree with the recommendations for a Loop C site, which is where we stayed. The campsites are quite close together--if you want to not see your neighbor I'd go for one of the "walk-in" sites, which are only maybe 50 yards of walking but often much more secluded by boulders or small hills. Bathrooms have regular flush toilets (at least in C loop), sinks with cold water and soap (but bring your own towel) and are very well maintained. Appears relatively unaffected so far by the pine beetle. Plenty of shade at the campsites and beautiful views of mountains all around.

Only about a 10-15 min drive into Estes Park on mostly main and very well-marked roads, so it's very easy to run in for supplies. Free hiker shuttle goes to the main East side trialheads (and there are two trailheads directly off the campground) so you can leave your car behind (DO leave your car behind--the trailhead lots fill up early!) Also, be sure and stop by the visitor's center for a trail map or ask for one on the shuttle--makes trail distances much clearer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moraine Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Park Campground

Also Known As:
Moraine Park Campground Hotel Estes Park
Moraine Park Campground Hotel
Moraine Park Estes
Address: Moraine Park, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Rocky Mountain National Park > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 74 Specialty lodging in Estes Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This campground is a good base from which to explore the park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moraine Park Campground to your Saves list