We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would absolutely go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moraine Park Campground
Moraine Park, Estes Park, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Would absolutely go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here the first week of September and loved it. I made reservations ahead of time to make sure we got a site. We were on site 130-a tent site in A loop. It was perfect because it was large, just a short walk from the parking spot, was private, and backed up to wilderness. During breakfast on 2 mornings we were able to watch the mule deer meander behind us. While we slept at night we could hear the elk bugling...cool most of the time except it kept us up one night. We didn't really mind though. We felt like we were really experiencing the park from our campsite. It did look like some of the sites were close together and small, but if you're in a tent, and can reserve ahead of time, you should be able to get a more private site.
In addition, the park is a short drive to Estes Park, visitor centers, and hiking trails. Also just down the road is a lookout of the valley for some prime views and wildlife watching. You can also walk to a shuttle stop to get to the trailheads so you really don't have to drive much. The park personnel were also very nice and helpful.
While on a shuttle we spoke with people staying at one of the nearby RV parks and they were very unhappy and felt like they were in a parking lot. We told them they should consider moving to Moraine for a better experience because we loved it. No, you don't get the amenities there, but who needs the amenities when you're out in nature like that. Just my opinion.
It's not hard for us to enjoy our time in any national park campground, but I can honestly say we loved the park and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Agree with the recommendations for a Loop C site, which is where we stayed. The campsites are quite close together--if you want to not see your neighbor I'd go for one of the "walk-in" sites, which are only maybe 50 yards of walking but often much more secluded by boulders or small hills. Bathrooms have regular flush toilets (at least in C loop), sinks with cold water and soap (but bring your own towel) and are very well maintained. Appears relatively unaffected so far by the pine beetle. Plenty of shade at the campsites and beautiful views of mountains all around.

Only about a 10-15 min drive into Estes Park on mostly main and very well-marked roads, so it's very easy to run in for supplies. Free hiker shuttle goes to the main East side trialheads (and there are two trailheads directly off the campground) so you can leave your car behind (DO leave your car behind--the trailhead lots fill up early!) Also, be sure and stop by the visitor's center for a trail map or ask for one on the shuttle--makes trail distances much clearer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Granted, I pitched my tent in Loop A, which is all that was available. At these sites they mix RVs and tents, so I spent the afternoons listening to the generator next door, and woke up every morning to the lovely view of a bus. Loop C and D seemed much quieter and more peaceful with better views but still, campsites are pretty close together.

They sell only ice, wood and some sodas at the campsite, and the lady who sells them is not exactly very friendly or helpful.

One thing I wish someone had mentioned to me, either in a review or onsite, is that there is a free bus that shuttles visitors from the campground to popular hiking sites where the parking lots fill up early. I only found this out after waiting for a parking spot, and then seeing the bus pick up people at Bear Lake. It would be helpful if the park brochures or the campground leaflets mentioned this, but since they don't, I will. Leave your car at the campsite!

Having said this, I will definitely to back to Moraine Park, but I will plan better.

Room Tip: Loop C or D are best for tents. Avoid A unless you're driving an RV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Moraine Park was scenic and quiet. We had a walk-in site, which I HIGHLY recommend, so we also had privacy and space. Our site had a marvelous view of Long's Peak. We fell asleep to the sound of bugling elk and woke to the distant call of coyotes.

It was clean, too.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I just stayed at Moraine campground for a second time last week. It is one of our all time favorite campgrounds. Close to Estes Park, and only a 1.5-2h drive from Denver it's very convenient and easy to get to. Rocky Mountain National Park is also one of our favorite parks and this campground is in a great location for exploring the mountains and also has great views of them. There are a few sites which are close together, but the map on recreation.gov where you reserve sites is fairly accurate with the spacing of the sites so you can see how close you'll be to others. Also, there are several walk-to sites, specifically in A loop, which offer more privacy. I highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a beautiful campground - much as I remember it from my time there as a child. The campsites are not very private (but many are adequatly spaced), as the ground cover is not real tall, but it seems to have trees at most sites. The campground is on a hillside and the sites are all at different levels, which really adds to the visual interest. We had a beautiful, full-on view of Long's Peak from our site and the night stars were fantastic! The highlight of the campground for the kids is the large (car and house sized) boulders scattered all over. Children love to run around and climb on these. The Park Rangers do wonderful, educational campfire talks every night, many of them about the animals of the alpine, enhanced with slide show photos.

Ok, now for the details every camper needs:

Bathrooms: Clean/adequate. They seem to be placed frequently throughout the campground. No showers anywhere in RMNP - you have to go to town and pay. They have flush toliets and the bathrooms have handsoap (not found in all parks). There is a small closet with a sink for dishes at each bathroom.

Wildlife: The have black bears that come occasionally through the campground - this is relatively new. It seems there was one in the campground the night before we arrived. The bears were not a problem when I was a child. They have the bearproof garbages and you may not leave any food related item (coolers, stove, pots n pans) out at anytime, except when in use. If you see/hear a bear, please report it to the park rangers. You will almost certainly see deer, and possibly elk from this area. Plenty of bold ground squirels, chipmonks and birds ready to steal your lunch right off the picnic table - another good reason to keep the food in the car at all times.

Location: Great basecamp for seeing the park and also very close to town. The campground is full every night in the summer, and this is part of the reason.

Reservations: This campground fills every night of the summer - make reservations weeks in advance for weekdays, months in advance for weekends. The NPS has a wonderful reservation website that shows a map of the campground and has a detailed description and a small photo of each site. Be aware that 2 sites that look close together might be farther than they look d/t the hills.

Campfires: There are firepits at every site. Campfires are allowed unless there is a burn restriction in place. Please only have firewood from the local area. Pine beetles have killed huge areas of trees in the park. There are many places that sell firewood in the town of Estes Park. Expect to pay about $4 per bundle. The campground also sells firewood every evening at a set time (5:30 pm ?) for 1 1/2 hrs. They charge about the same prices as they do in town.

My family really liked this campground - the only reason it didn't get 5 stars was that there are no showers, and that some of the sites are a little too close together.

Room Tip: The farther from the meadow - the more interesting the campsite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Thanks to a prior review that I read on here, I made an advanced reservation for Morraine Park, C Loop (our site was C236 the first night and C239 for the second night). C236 was absolutely gorgeous! There are no hook ups but up in the rockies, we didn't need our AC or anything else that would've required our RV's generator anyway.

This is our second RV trip out west (we been to the Badlands, Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, Rocky Mountains and the Grand Canyon) and our experience with national parks has been this:
If you want a beautiful site at a national park DO NOT get sites with hookups. Most of the national park sites with hookups are like parking lots, the ones W/O hookups - beautiful, even the RV sites. By contrast almost every state park we have been to has had great sites with hookups, it is just the national park that have this quirk.

Room Tip: Book C Loop at Morraine Park if you can (Best RV site C236)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Park Campground

Address: Moraine Park, Estes Park, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Specialty lodging in Estes Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This campground is a good base from which to explore the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moraine Park Campground Hotel Estes Park
Moraine Park Estes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moraine Park Campground to your Saves list