We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YMCA needs better maintenance on cabins” 3 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA of the Rockies

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA of the Rockies
Save
You added YMCA of the Rockies to your Saves list
2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“YMCA needs better maintenance on cabins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Our 5th stay at the YMCA Estes Park was not as great as others in the past 10 years. YMCA needs to increase their maintence on their family cabins. Main windows in Magpie cabin is completely chipped/sandblasted from the outside (my guess is from the construction traffic?) and makes it awful to look through. Beds/mattresses are in need of replacement also - doesn't make for a good night's sleep. Perhaps if you're staying for 1 or 2 nights you'll be fine, but if you saved up your money for a week long vacation in the Rockies staying at the YMCA Estes Park you may want to reconsider.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    183
    40
    19
    19
See reviews for
389
42
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We rented a 2 bdrm cabin which was great. We went to the store before going to the cabin, and I wish someone had told me that there was no grill and no campfires were allowed. That meant I had to plan different kinds of meals and needed different food. The campfire sites were all reserved for the whole week, so we didn't get to do that. We enjoyed the fireplace though instead. The riding was good for us beginners, and my kids LOVED the mini golf and fishing. I was told not worry about bringing any sports equipment since they have it there, but my son needed his skateboard to play at the skatepark--he was very disappointed that we didn't bring it. Also there was a charge for renting the fishing poles, so I wished we had brought those as well. All in all we had a wonderful trip and would recommend it to all. The best part was no TV--and my kids didn't even miss it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, NC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

A great outdoors getaway for the family! Lots to do and see - the kids didn't even miss having a TV!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

24 members of our family gathered from all over the US to celebrate my mother's 75th birthday. We had read and heard from friends that the Estes Y was a great place for families to reunion. The setting Was spectacular and many activities at the Y were enjoyed by the kids, from tots to teenagers. However the accomodations were deficient and the cafeteria food pretty awful. We had not been informed that we were in a lodge that received no housekeeping--during our 4 day stay, no trash removal, no TP replenishment, no clean linen (you could walk your dirty linen to another lodge to get replacement towels, but we did not learn about this until the end of our stay) and no cleaning of the common room used by our group of 24. The last night we gathered for a slide show and reminisces of family life for my mother's birthday, the trash was literally overflowing the cans in the room. We ended up eating a number of meals in town because of the general dissatisfaction over the bland mass-produced dorm food. The staff was friendly and warm, but largely made up of college-age kids and teens, who were often bewildered by requests or complaints. We agreed that the setting can't be beat, but families are, in our view best off avoiding the lodges and their food, and getting a cabin and cooking in, or renting a house in the area. Try VRBO!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We spent over $800 for two nights, the rooms are without coffee pots, TVs, and reliable internet. The playing fields had sharp rocks. The food came from a can. I did enjoy the Arts and Crafts center. The pool was at 83 degrees - on the cold side. The rooms are from the 70s.

I would stay at Motel 6 and eat at McDonalds for an upgrade.

It sounds great on paper - but would not recommend the YMCA of the Rockies to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

The cabins are roomy and comfortable. They are not too close togrther. There are lots of places to walk around and many activities. The staff are the most friendly of any place we have been. The proximity to Rocky Mountain National Park and the town of Estes Park is ideal.
If you stay in a cabin bring your own food and save money on breakfast and lunch.

Plan plenty of time for hiking and driving in RMNP.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We had heard so many great things about the YMCA of the Rockies in Estes Park that it was the only place that we considered staying on our most recent visit. The visit started poorly as they had us checking in a day later than we arrived. As such, the only room they could find us overlooked the noisy parking area rather than facing us towards Estes Park and the mountains -- a HUGE disappointment. We had to shut our windows in the morning because it was VERY loud. We have two young teen sons that were excited about the opportunity of being in the mountains with lots of other kids. Unfortunately, most of the kids were either much younger or part of larger groups. We received (after asking) a copy of the weekly activities, which was an AWESOME document, but given all the camp counselors / workers, I expected more varied activities for the mid teen crowd. Lastly, I was surprised at the costs for all of the activities -- a little disappointing. Seems there is so much potential there but the place is just too big maybe to focus on their core mission.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA of the Rockies

Address: 2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of Rocky Mountain National Park. We have 7 lodges and 206 cabins spread over 860 acres. Perfect for family vacations, reunions, retreats and conferences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ymca Of The Rockies Hotel Estes Park
Ymca Of The Rockies Estes Park Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA of the Rockies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.