We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA of the Rockies

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA of the Rockies
Save
You added YMCA of the Rockies to your Saves list
2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511   |  
Hotel amenities
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Amazing location for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

An impromptu weekend filled with ice skating, swimming, scavenger hunt, crafts, leisurely breakfasts. Fantastic family location. Stayed in a two bedroom with fireplace. I highly recommend the fireplace, after dark you can stare at the fire, since you are deprived of the gorgeous mountain views in every direction! Depending on your cabin, a standard-stocked kitchen includes coffeemaker and filters, toaster, and enough pans and utensils to get the job done. After all, you're camping! There is a Safeway in Estes Park to pick up anything you may have forgotten, and the General Store in the Administration Building has the stick of butter you need if you don't feel like driving to town. The staff is delightful, the Rustic Cafe, where a hard boiled egg is 48 cents and a sandwich that'll feed five (choice of turkey and cheese or ham and cheese) is $5, provides cost effective nourishment, and the activities are outstanding. The library has over 22,000 volumes, and five computers for public use (for a fee). The arts and crafts building is amazing, leather goods, mosaic tile projects, fired ceramics, jewelry (a new pair of earrings, $2.85. Happy kids, priceless). What fun! Great job, YMCA!

Room Tip: Get a fireplace. Firewood for purchase at Sweet Memorial Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    183
    40
    19
    19
See reviews for
389
42
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HAYS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Me and two of my sons had a "working weekend" at the YMCA, one week before Christmas. This was my first time at the Y at this time of year. If you have never been to the Y at Christmas time, it is a beautiful sight to behold. Dorsey pond was frozen and people were ice skating on it. There were few people at the Y; it was so quiet and peaceful. Yet the staff really made us feel welcome. I hope that one day we can have all the family at the Y for the Christmas holiday.

Also, Estes Park was beautiful, with all the downtown decked in white lights. It too was quiet and we had a nice time strolling the streets.

Room Tip: rent a cabin with a fireplace. It is fun cooking and setting on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

After a wedding retreat on this idilic YMCA location, we extended our staying 3 more nights in a 2 bedroom cabin. Was so wonderful to have that decisition! A new honeymoon for my wife and I, not expected!! And also we have the time to visit the nearby Rockie Mountain National Park which was simply awesome!! Really a lovely place to experience it!!

Room Tip: Cabins are so warm and well equiped. You wont miss your own home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Y camp with my daughter and her friends as she has grown from a school age child to our most recent visit with her and her college age friends. We generally stay in the simple, but clean and well-stocked cabins that have complete kitchen facilities, no tvs (but do have wireless internet access) :-). We love the beautiful, quiet setting, the available recreational facilities and activities, the hiking, the critters, the nearby town of Estes Park, ...

I hope to eventually bring my grandchildren!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin for the night at the YMCA of the Rockies. It was clean, roomy and very spacious. Since there were 5 of us, I got stuck sleeping on the twin size bed. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue but they had a plastic sheet on the mattress and then a standard cotton sheet. The cotton sheet was ill-fitted and slid off the corners all night long. Other than that, it was a good stay. We took advantage of the roller skating rink and although small and slightly outdated, it made for a fun evening. We were also disappointed to see that the miniature golf course was closed when we arrived at 7:45 p.m. even though we had been told upon check in that they would be open until 9:00 p.m.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent several days at the YMCA of the Rockies. An amazing place! The location and activities can't be beat (horseback riding, archery, hiking, etc) and very family-friendly. We stayed in one of the lodges and the value was great. The proximity to RMNP is stellar.

The cafeteria is OK, but there are plenty of fabulous places to eat in nearby Estes Park. If you go during elk bugling season, the resident elk heard seems to come right to your door! Warning: they do bugle all night long, but the ambiance can't be beat.

The staff if friendly and professional. We highly recommend a stay at the YMCA of the Rockies

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our first visit to YMCA at Estes Park with our 6 & 2yr old, and it was amazing. We stayed in the Kiowa cabin just across from the Admin building. We enjoyed daily visits from the local Elk and Deer at our front door steps. We were lucky that our cabin was recently updated and very clean! The kids recommend the hayride and marshmallow roast. We are already planning our return visit.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA of the Rockies

Address: 2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of Rocky Mountain National Park. We have 7 lodges and 206 cabins spread over 860 acres. Perfect for family vacations, reunions, retreats and conferences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ymca Of The Rockies Hotel Estes Park
Ymca Of The Rockies Estes Park Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA of the Rockies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.