We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, with some pointers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA of the Rockies

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA of the Rockies
Save
You added YMCA of the Rockies to your Saves list
2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent, with some pointers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Like most everyone else, we have 99% great things to say about YMCA of the Rockies. We stayed in Chik Wauk (cabin 45). Very spacious, we had myself and my wife, our 8 year old daughter, and my parents staying in the 3 bedrooms and 2 baths and it was more than enough cabin. It's also great for entertaining, we had other families over for dinner twice and all the room and huge tables inside and on the deck are great.

Pointers: (1) Just buy or bring a travel grill (like the ones that use 1 lb. propane tanks) with you if you want to grill. The Y rents them for $30 per day, but they are the tiny little coleman things that don't work very well, so you're better off just picking one up in Denver for $79 and donating it when you're done. Likewise, be prepared to "donate" cooking utensils, corkscrews, etc that the cabins might not have, it appears to be pretty random. (2) Do your OWN research ahead of time and when there, because the vast majority of the staff are unpaid volunteers, and they just don't know that many details about what's going on with the activities, options, times of things, etc. Don't set the expectation that the place is like a resort or anything with paid staff, and you can have the time of your life!

There is a TON of wildlife. Elk about, mule deer mill about, and bears visit. We had a bear spend about a good hour getting into the "bear proof" garbage recepticle. The staff cleaned it up and repaired it promptly in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    189
    41
    19
    21
See reviews for
397
46
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

stayed in a lodge -- if you have a group -- even better. So many things to do -- group classes hikes -- -and also your kids can participate in the day camp activiites (make reservations way in advance) if the adults want to participate in more strenuous hikes or other activities). Food is cafeteria style -- but you can take the short drive into town to eat at the area restaurants. Arts and crafts fans will love the offerings

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

If you like the YMCA you 'll love this place... Lots of activities proposed to the guests but just if you want. The location as the main buildings are spectacular. Possibility to eat the 3 meals there, we just had breakfast which is just ok but very convenient.
We stayed in a basic cabin that had everything you need - check the size of the beds before you book though, as our was 1 full plus 2 twins. There are though more luxurious cabins if you reserve o time. Each cabin has a patio, a deck with an outside table and plenty of space around. Nothing to do with most "cabin resorts" scattered along the 34. Beautiful views; every day at sunset the elks paid us a visit too. I recommend this Place for people who love nature!! Just 5 minutes by car from town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We look to have last minute weekend get always often and are usually looking at rental homes or cabins since we are a larger group with pets. Finding this facility and finding accommodations to fit us all, last minute, was awesome!
The cabin was wonderful as were the amenities available to us within the grounds.
We thoroughly enjoyed the wildlife walking all around the cabin every morning and the proximity to shopping and site seeing in Estes is fantastic.
We will be back again and can't wait to create more special family memories.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Here's What You Need to Know:

1. This place is IN Rocky Mountain National Park and the scenery/views are amazing.
2. There are so many activities, you will not be bored.
3. Has a resort like feel, minus the pools.
4. Has a very family camp like atmosphere.
5. The place is huge and spread out, you will need a car or you will be walking forever.
6. My experience is in one of the large family reunion cabins.
7. The craft activity area is amazing.
8. It is at high altitude, take appropriate precautions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We rented a basic, 2 bdrm cabin for a few nights at a lower rate than most hotel rooms in Estes. Rustic, not fancy. Clean, older furnishings. Heat works great. No A/C (none needed). No TV (that's a plus). Very quiet, day and night. We cooked all meals in the kitchen, ate at the dining table or out on the deck. Our 2-year old loved the bunk beds, the forest around the cabin, the playground nearby and the crafts center where she made a necklace and painted a coffee mug, the museum, and especially the abundant elk that milled around the cabin day and night. Lots for kids to do and see, and everything is easy to walk to without dodging traffic. Not very dark at night due to streetlights, so stars are not easy to see. Lounge chairs on the porch are outstanding for mom and dad to read while the kids nap. Coffee shop in the general store is not so great. Downtown Estes and Rocky Mt National Park are both about 10 minutes away. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great if you are part of a very large group or are a family who can use the cabins......terrible if you are staying in the lodges and were hoping to get some sleep.

I'm possibly biased, as I'm writing this at midnight as a wait for security to remove the group from the presentation room downstairs. Much as I have enjoyed their presentation, the applause and the cheering, I was rather hoping to get some sleep. This is my second night of almost no sleep, so my sense of humour is beginning to fail.

Room Tip: Avoid the lodges unless you are part of a large group taking the entire lodge over. If you are a so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA of the Rockies

Address: 2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of Rocky Mountain National Park. We have 7 lodges and 206 cabins spread over 860 acres. Perfect for family vacations, reunions, retreats and conferences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ymca Of The Rockies Hotel Estes Park
Ymca Of The Rockies Estes Park Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA of the Rockies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.