We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA of the Rockies

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA of the Rockies
Save
You added YMCA of the Rockies to your Saves list
2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511   |  
Hotel amenities
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The views are fantastic. The YMCA is wonderful. The activities are great for any age. The Rustic Cafe has great sandwiches. The Aspen Room Cafeteria has fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, meat and great coffee.
We stayed in the Eagle Cliff Lodge. Dorm like. 1 queen bed and two sets of bunk beds very clean and roomy. Sleeps 6 for $109.00 a night. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    189
    41
    19
    21
See reviews for
397
46
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our first trip was in the Summer of '76, with our 6 year old son. and 9 year old daughter. It was love at first stay, and the kids took to the day camp activities right away. We have been back every year, except for the year 2000. We started in Penstemon, which is gone now, and worked up to the Vacation Cabin. We now have our son and his wife, and three children, and our daughter and her daughter. We have other friends from Houston who have been coming here yearly as long or maybe longer than we have. We will be there again this summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at the Wind River Lodge at the YMCA of the Rockies from 6/12-6/16/11. The YMCA in general was a great experience..you can hike on trails on their 800 acres, participate in their activities and there is no shortage of things to do. We opted to partake in the night tour and a couple of the kids activities..which was enough. Sign up for as many as you think you might be interested in. And then you can go over to the Sweet bldg. and delete your name off if you decide the activities aren't for you.

Wind River Lodge was satisfactory. It wasn't pristine clean, but not filthy dirty. We were okay with it. A few things to note if you are thinking about staying in the Wind River Lodge...1) no AC. It was fine while we are there, but I am guessing you will want a fan if you stay later in the summer; 2) there is an ice machine and pop machine on every floor; 3) no mini fridge like you find in most hotels; 4) no TV...which we knew about going into it and it was fine; 5) there was wireless. For the most part it worked okay...but I was frustrated trying to finish up some work before the family got up when it would kick me off; 6) if you stay upstairs - there are no elevators. We got quite a work out all the times we were up and down the stairs - which was fine with us. But if you are elderly or someone with health problems - I would ask for ground floor or consider a cabin.

The walls are thin in the Wind River Lodge. It is very noisy. Quiet hours are 11 pm - 7 am - so if you have kids or are thinking about partying all night, this may not be the place for you.

The breakfast buffet was great (they gave us some free tickets when we checked in). We ate dinner on the first night when they had an Italian buffet and it was pretty institutional. Then we tried it again another night when they had roasted chicken and bbq brisket and it was very good.

One thing to consider is if you are going to the Y as a family vacation - please remember that there are lots of large groups that will most likely be at the Y with you. There were lots of kids there when we were and lots of buses. It can get kind of crazy in the Aspen dining room, but they seemed to do a pretty good job of keeping things moving along.

We did get a little frustrated with the variable hours of the swimming pool. They were never the same each day. And I think they can only have 60 people in the pool at one time - so if there are the large groups I mentioned above - be prepared.

The elk and ground squirrels are plentiful. We also enjoyed the magpies and hummingbirds onsite.

Rocky Mountain National Park is a short distance away and the views from the Y are unbeatable. It is beautiful. Our youngest didn't want to go with her brother to the Archery class - so we went to the craft building and had a great time.

And I even got to experience the guest laundry facility when our kids got their shoes sopping wet. Nothing fancy, but it was clean and functional. And I also got to call the switchboard in the middle of the night about the noisy neighbors and found that security was on top of things as well!

I would highly recommend the Y for anyone who isn't high maintenance. Parts of it reminded me of going to camp when I was young. But then again - I thought camp was pretty kick butt!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed here with a large group of college students who did work in the park. Excellent lodge, nice rooms, students liked the dining hall. As a vegetarian I had a harder time eating well. I was surprised how gigantic the complex is! 800 acres!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

ROom was ok size. Activities for kids were a little corny. There were tons of teens there that made our life miserable from being too loud into wee hours of the morning, to being rude in cafeteria. If we come again we will request cabins for sure for privacy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We've enjoyed staying here year after year. We enjoy the cabins and the view is breathtaking. Camp staff - mainly college students - are nice but what stands out are the horse stables - the staff there is amazing. We've never had a bad experience - they are so polite, helpful - and make you feel right at home. They have outstanding customer service and truly look like they love their job.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We took advantage of a great low season rate of buy two nights get one free. It was out of season and cooler weather, but we still participated in outdoor activities. We stayed in a two bedroom basic cabin that included a kitchen, shower bathroom and bunkbeds for our two children (6 & 8). It was a little old, but we had such a great deal, it worked perfectly for us. The property is beautiful. It's a wilderness setting with surrounding moutnain views. The facility offers putt-putting, indoor swimming, roller skating, and other activities created for your family to do together. All of these choices are included in the price of your lodging. We also were able to leave our kids for one session and my husband and I had some cocoa in the rustic cafe at the lodge. What a treat that was. The staff is deffinitley friendly and although the high season prices increase quite a bit, I'm supposing it's still a great deal because of the increase in available programs and activities during the summer season. Please suppor this facility and all the great opportunities they offer their customers. It's amenities are not luxurious, but the best value and available activities in town.

Room Tip: Stay before Memorial day weekend for great rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA of the Rockies

Address: 2515 Tunnel Road, Estes Park, CO 80511
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located outside of Rocky Mountain National Park. We have 7 lodges and 206 cabins spread over 860 acres. Perfect for family vacations, reunions, retreats and conferences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ymca Of The Rockies Hotel Estes Park
Ymca Of The Rockies Estes Park Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA of the Rockies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.