We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Lazy R Cottages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy R Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lazy R Cottages to your Saves list
Lazy R Cottages
891 Moraine Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Morgan, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weekend at Lazy R Cottages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had a relaxing weekend at Lazy R Cottages in Estes Park. The price was good, with it being on the "offseason". My husband and our two teenage children spent the weekend in the sleeps 4 cabin with the hot tub. The cabin was clean and cozy as well being well furnished with dishes, towels, etc. Very pretty area and the staff were exceptionally nice :)) We would definately go there again and most likely will !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    55
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
98
58
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Sometimes properties do not live up to their internet photos...NOT TRUE HERE!! It was BETTER than the photos hinted at! We had the whole cabin (16a and 16b), and all 14 of us were extremely blessed to be there! Comfortable, great decor, roomy, good location, very generous continental breakfast, helpful staff...GO THERE!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Mountain Masterpiece cabin up in Wild Basin and loved it! The location felt very private, but safe because there are cabins in the vicinity as well as an entrance to RMNF (no rangers in the winter). Someone stopped by each day to take care of things- 1 person to fill the propane tank, 1 person to check the hot tub, someone came by to put salt down on the sidewalks and steps. We never felt unsafe being out there. From the back of the house, you feel like you're the only one around for miles. Great views of the mountains and the river. It snowed heavily while we were there and we could hear the snow falling because it was so quiet. If you're looking to get out of town and be alone, this is probably the best cabin to choose from Lazy R; the other cabins are in town and much closer to the street and other people. The house was cozy and fun to explore... but it was a bit strange in parts. There are a lot of random light switches and buttons and such that don't seem to have a purpose; a few weird little nooks and boarded up rooms? an elevator "lift" that was boarded up? There is an attic that you can kind of see up into that was just a tad creepy looking and also a part of the wall that was cut out and then patched downstairs that looks like it maybe was meant to be a window at some point, but just seemed to add to the mystery of the place. The cabin was nice overall, and pretty clean and well stocked. The sense of mystery and weird nooks and crannies has its appeal! The kitchen is outdated but functions fine. The living room furniture isn't all that comfortable, but we just brought extra blankets and pillows and it made it more enjoyable. The hot tub was great! It wasn't burning hot and the jets weren't all that bubbly, but we enjoyed the temperature and never had to get out into the cold to cool off. Perfect deck- just pure gorgeous views of the divide and the river below. The stairs from the upstairs to the downstairs are outside, and you have to make sure to keep a set of keys handy as the front door locks behind you.... but it was kind of an adventure to bundle up and trek thru the snow to go to bed! The stairs aren't dangerous- there is outdoor lighting on a timer, and as long as you're careful and you bring a cell phone for some light, it wasn't a big deal at all. Just a few steps down and there are 2 stairsways to pick from. We loved our stay and will probably come back again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed in Cabin 15 at Lazy R Cottages. Initially I was hesitant since I'm not huge on "cabin" stays normally, but the price was great and the location was perfect for us. Our stay was AMAZING. If I could give it 10 stars, I would. The "cabin" was more like a house. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, dining room table, futon, lounging chair, two fireplaces, and a hot tub on the deck with fencing for privacy. We bought wood and had a fire every night. The fireplace in the bedroom kept it amazingly warm. My kids loved the bunkbeds and their own bathroom. It was stocked with plenty of towels, paper towels, toilet paper...all the things you would need. There was a TV with built in DVD player and the office had free DVD's to rent. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED. The only thing I would ask is to have some bakewear. Otherwise, there are plenty of pots and pans, utensils, plates, and glasses...even for the wine ;) I have nothing bad to say in the slightlest and whole-heartedly recommend this cabin for anyone looking to stay in Estes. It is perfect for those with kids, too, and we plan on coming back to stay in the near future!!!

Room Tip: Cabin 15 was amazing. There are some quite close to the road and smaller, so ask when you book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We got married in Estes and rented this house to accommodate the entire family, including our dog which we *really* appreciate! We thought the house was adorable, it was convenient and well stocked with the items you may need including towels, wine glasses, soap, etc. We would have really appreciated a broom and little mop because the staff shoveled the patio (thanks!) and put down rock salt which was impossible to not track in on our feet. The drain in the shower off of the master bedroom didn't drain our first night and we called the emergency number and the staff were making arrangements to have it fixed quickly (appreciated!). As it turns out it was just ice blocking it and soon the hot water melted and the drain worked from then on. The hot water supply line in the master bath also is subject to freeze and didn't flow well. The only other issue we had at all was the free wifi that is advertised is spotty, we connected but the router wasn't always present so if this is something you need...beware. Other than that we had a wonderful stay here, it is cute and comfortable. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Lazy R cottages over Columbus Day weekend. We often stay in Etes Park, but it was our first time at Lazy R. Our Unit, Bear Paw (unit 4) is one of the smaller and older cottages. the kitchen isnt much and it is a bit outdated. The bed however, was extremely comfortable ( a nice pillow top mattress)The shower, although small, had plenty of pressure and plenty of hot water. The unit features a fireplace and its own hot tub. The staff are great. They are planning to update this cabin and if they do, i am sure it will rank an Excellent in all categories. We will definitely stay here again.
As an added bonus, the cottages are near a couple of our favorite restaurants. Smokin Dave's BBQ is just across the street, and the Rock Inn is only about 1/2 mile away. Both have great food and drinks!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at the Mountain Masterpiece, which was right next door to the wedding site (Wild Basin Lodge). It's also conveniently located across from an entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. On the plus side, it's quite picturesque. It has three bedrooms, which worked out well for our family. It was clean and provided all the necessary accommodations. However, there were major drawbacks. Two of the bedrooms are on the lower level, which is only accessible by exterior stone stairways that are somewhat dangerous even in daylight. These stairways are not lit up at all after dark! Extremely dangerous in the dark. Another problem is that if someone staying in a downstairs bedroom wants to go to the kitchen or watch tv on the main level, there's no way to get there except by these outside stone stairs, and they would need to have a key to the main level in addition to a flashlight! I cannot recommend this location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy R Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy R Cottages

Address: 891 Moraine Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled below Colorado’s radiant mountaintops is beautiful Lazy R Cottages. Our one-, two-, and three-bedroom cabins (some with personal hot tubs) are perfect for romantic escapes and family vacations. Kitchens, fireplaces, decks with mountain views, playground, gas grills, free Wi-Fi and DVD movies. There are scenic hiking trails and endless fishing waters just minutes away. Pets accepted in some units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lazy R Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy r Cottages Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy R Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.