We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This lodge needs a lot of renovation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort to your Saves list
Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   300 Riverside Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Hastings, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This lodge needs a lot of renovation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We were extremely disappointed in the Historic Crags Lodge. We realize that the lodge was built in 1914, but after showing our complaints to the manager we were informed that the previous owner would not provide funding for renovations while the new owner has increased the budget eight times. However, future renovations did nothing to ease our stay. Problems noted were: room carpet was spotted, kitchen sink faucet leaked, ceiling fan wobbled, room lighting was poor, bed sheets were worn, bed pillows were terrible, the mattress was hard as the ground, the couch and chair were worn and spotted, window blinds did not work properly and were worn out, door hinges in the bathroom were rusted, three-way light bulbs were burnt out,etc. Give the manager a few years to complete the renovations and then consider staying there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
24
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diamond, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

the lodge is on a side of the propersity mountain. saw bears just up the mountain. while you are grilling on the gas grill you look over estes park and the stanley hotel. the restaurant at the lodge is very romantic and live music is playing while you eat. the desk personnel are very friendly and helpful. recommends tours or excursions you want to take. one night we came in from a road trip and everyone was making smores in the fireplace. internet is available, books and games are available. every room at the lodge is different. laundry is available and there is an elevator. what more do u need?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

There was nothing charming about our room. The sofa looked like it belonged in a college dorm. The bedroom was very small and required putting the box fan on two metal folding chairs to benefit from the breeze - but if you wanted to leave the bedroom you had to move the fan, which fell off one night. The bathroom shower water temperature was not constant and when I asked if it could be fixed nothing happened....and the washcloths had HOLES and BLEACH stains on them. The hot tub broke the day after we arrived and never was fixed. Our room overlooked the parking lot on the top floor and was quite noisy when they rolled out the trash cans or people went outside to smoke. I have stayed at charming historic hotels and this room wasn't charming. The Rocky Mountain Park was amazing and made up for the room! The local restaurants were wonderful and we enjoyed watching the elk on the golf course and in the town park! Also enjoyed the Scottish Festival while we were there. As a timeshare owner I was appalled at the condition of the room! We actually left a day early!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at The Crags for four nights and we were very pleased overall. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable. There is no air conditioning but the nights were very chilly so this was not a problem at all during the time we were visiting. The location was very convenient to allow frequent visits to the Rocky Mountains. It is also away from traffic but close enough to all the action of Estes Park. We did not eat at their restaurant, so cannot comment on it.
I should warn that if you are staying the night that there is a wedding and you are not part of the wedding party, you should plan on hearing noise from the reception as we were up late the night before a long day of travel due to constant booming from the music and noise from the party attendents. We were on the top most floor. I was a bit surprised and also disappointed that they allowed that much noise so late as other guests would be disturbed, especially those staying in rooms much closer to the reception than ours. I hope they find a way to address this issue because it is such a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We were leery, considering it's an older building, but the rooms are decent size, very clean, restaurant food is awesome, and everyone is very friendly and helpful.
We walked the stores on the main drag, went into Rocky Mnt National Park, stopped in wineries and breweries, nice relaxing adult get away.
The bar/restaurant mgrs were very nice to chat with over drinks, and guided us on other places to try, couldn't have asked for nicer people.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We had no idea at all what to expect at Crag's Lodge. We were meeting up with our friends, who live in Denver (we live in Philadelphia). When we arrived we were so pleasantly surprised. It is true, the bldg is the same as it was in 1914 when it was built, but that is the charm of the place. We had booked a one bedroom, but they kindly upgraded us to a two bedroom with not charge at all. The staff were the friendliest people I have ever met.
Our room was great, we even decided to cook in every nite as there wasnt much going on in town due to the season.
We enjoyed ourselves so much, it was the perfect getaway.
One highlight was making smores at the fire in the lobby.
I can't say enought wonderful things about Crags Lodge. We would love to make it an every year occurance.
I must add that we were there at a very slow time of year, there were few guests. Going there in the winter is a great idea for anyone looking for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

This is a timeshare property with out any one selling at the property. The loge is basically unchanged since 1914. Beautiful lodge interior with bid stone fireplaces and furniture to match. guest rooms are OK. A little tight but very nice. Rooms need a little TLC but very comfortable. Once you look out your bay window that over looks Estes Park and the mountains you forget about the mauve carpet.
The staff are all very welcoming and professional. They provide different outings for the guest every day. We did two Rocky mountain park hikes, Fly fishing, and owners dinner and guest get together. The guide (Keith) made the trip awesome. He took us on a guided trip to Emerald Lake and several other spots. We also signed up for the fly fishing lessons. What a wonderful experience at no charge.
The restaurant ( The View) which is in the lodge was incredible. The food was excellent and the service was consistently great. We ate there 3 nights and every meal was wonderful. Robert in the bar gave us a new insight in to American history, good luck on his book he is writing.

  • Liked — The historical surroundings, staff and restaurant
  • Disliked — Carpets
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 300 Riverside Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.