We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort to your Saves list
Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   300 Riverside Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
cincinnati ,oh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“don't stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Terribly disappointed in this hotel. We were treated as third class citizens when we got there. Clerk said they only had a room with a murphy bed available. I had made thereservation through Expedia as a no cancellation option, so we were stuck with it. After I saw the room, I really blew up, not only about the murphy bed, but there is no air conditioning, so we opened the windows, and down below, the kitchen staff take their breaks, talking and smoking, so much for non-smoking rooms. Luckily, I am a member of Expedia plus, and called them to complain. They were very helpful and called the hotel, and got me upgraded that night to a different room. It was better but not great.

Also there is no regular maid service. If you need towels or such, you have to go to the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
It is very important to us that all third-party websites maintain updated information regarding the amenities of the property and the details of the unit. We regret if there was any lack of clarity regarding what is presented on Expedia and what you were presented with upon arrival, such as the air conditioning.

While outside noise is hard to control considering the location of the property, we understand your concerns regarding the team member discussion and smoke outside your room. We will be sure to address this with our kitchen staff for the benefit of future guests.

We do provide a midweek cleaning for stays of a week or more; it is not unusual that vacation ownership properties do not provide daily housekeeping. We are more than happy to provide an additional cleaning service for a nominal fee.

This historic property has recently come under new management and we are exploring ways to enhance its grandeur in the near future. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and hope that you will come back to see us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    15
    13
    6
See reviews for
25
58
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay. The studio was spotless. Everything worked. The common areas are classic mountain lodge, with floor-to-ceiling windows that afford a fantastic view of Estes Park. There was no a/c, but we did not miss it. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

When we made our reservations at The Historic Crags we were anticipating a great experience; while it was nice we were not overjoyed. We spent two nights there.There is no air conditioning, the pool was being built, the rooms was not cleaned every day. In addition there was a wedding reception on Friday and Saturday; since we had to have the windows open we could not get to bed before 10:00 PM. While this may sound early, if you want to go on a long hike you need to start early. The location is very nice, but a little difficult to find. The rooms have been remodeled and our room had a small kitchen area. The parking lot was a little tight due to the wedding receptions. In cooler weather it may be fine, but if it is warm, it does not cool off well enough. There are plenty of nice hotels that are not chains in Ester Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Stifling hot in June. Beware NO AC. Lodge studios are small but very clean and adequately furnished. New beds are comfortable. Ceiling and portable fans are not adequate for over 90 degree weather. Rocky Mountain NP very close. Good restaurants nearby. Would be great for a couple of nights if it had AC or if you came when the weather was cool. Also a bit of a parking problem - not enough places. Even though the evening temps drop, there is no way to cool down the room at night after being hot all day. Disappointed but toughing it out another day.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that the lack of AC in your unit has negatively impacted your stay with us. When booked through a 3rd party website or through our Club membership program, we try and make every effort to advise our guests that our units do not have AC. We apologize if you were not made aware of this when you booked your reservation. A project to improve our current parking situation is currently in progress. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future, when the weather will be cooler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed for a night during off season with another friend. Property is quite dated with not much facilities. Room was decent but very thin wall and quite warm. Also, when you book a one bedroom suite...don't expect a true suite. This is more like a regular room with a half partition wall dividing between the bedroom and a sofa bed. The description said fit a family of 4 but 2 adults were already crowded. However, for a one nite stay..it was certainly a good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for a week in a two bedroom, two bath unit on the second floor. The decor is outdated but that wasn't a problem since it was clean and had great views.

They were just finishing changing out the beds with new ones in all the units. Some have complained of hard beds in the past.

My only problem was that the hot tub was down (they are remodeling both the pool and the hot tub.)

If the hot tub was working, I'd have given it a five star review. Staff was friendly, and the overall atmosphere of the historic element of the place was the best part. The scrapbooks of mementos and articles from the past relating to the hotel were fun to flip through. The fireplace was also very nice.

Another good thing--unlike other Diamond Resort timeshare properties, there was no one there pressuring us to do a timeshare presentation. That was refreshing.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the town of Estes Park have the best views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over a beautiful Colorado early spring weekend. The hotel was very quiet and peaceful. Loved to just have the windows open and let the cool breeze from the moutains blow in. Rooms could get warm. We just kept the windows open during the day. At night, we closed the windows and cranked up the ceiling fan. Slept like a baby. Cannot comment on recreational activities as wedidn't use any. Resturant was closed for the season, but would love to eat taking in that view. We stayed in a one-bedroom with TWO bathrooms. Thought the room was really nice with plenty of storage space. Only real problem I saw was parking. even in off-season, it was sometimes a challenge!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 300 Riverside Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located in the heart of Estes Park on the north side of Prospect Mountain and only minutes from Rocky Mountain National Park. Breathtaking mountain views surround you making this the prefect location for your mountain wedding.The landscape of Rocky Mountain National Park is the steepest in the United States. Sixty mountain peaks over 12,000 feet high result in world-renown scenery and provide challenges for hikers and climbers. The extreme topography creates an amazing range of ecological zones within a short distance, similar to the changes that would be seen in a drive from Denver to northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Crags At The Golden Eagle Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Crags at the Golden Eagle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.