We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonebrook Resort

Save Saved
You added Stonebrook Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonebrook Resort
1710 Fall River Road, Estes Park, CO   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
An Awesome August deal!
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were met upon arrival by a very friendly and informative young lady. Turns out the restaurant she recommended, Twin Owls, was wonderful. Our cabin was clean and roomy. Although it was warm the 3 nights we were there, the ceiling fan and windows kept the room cool. We had a room with a private hot tub by the river. We enjoyed this but the cover was difficult to manage. Also, there was no hook to place your towel. For the rates that were charged there should have been spa robes supplied (less expensive hotels we stayed at had lovely robes) and management did not have an ice machine. That really surprised us. We would stay there again but we do feel it was overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    36
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
202
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked a two night stay at this property with high expectations after reading the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. On our drive up from Texas, we hit some bad storms so our arrival was going to be late at night. I phoned the resort and explained our situation to Mike who said he would have everything ready for us whenever we arrived. He was a man of his word. Our cabin was clean, cool and had the lights on when we finally pulled in at 10:30 pm. We could hear the river flowing just a few steps from our door and the soothing sounds of nature abounded. This is a very modern property with every convenience of a city hotel with the beauty and tranquility of a mountain resort. The only issue we had was that we couldn't access the wi-fi. I reported it to the desk and they let me know that they had just switched to a new ISP provider and were working on it. But that was such a minor issue, it didn't impact our satisfaction whatsoever. The location is wonderful with the front gate of Rocky Mountain National Park being less than 5 minutes away. It is also convenient to downtown Estes Park which is the center of action for the city. I will give this my highest recommendation and count it as one of my most special memories in my decades of travel.

Room Tip: Cabin 54 is my recommendation. It has a jacuzzi tub in the room and a private hot tub on the river b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June for 2 days. The Manger was very friendly and informative. I booked Room 15 because it had a private Jacuzzi down my the river so it was priced a little higher.
My husband loves Jacuzzi's. The cabin was an end unit, more than enough room for 2 people and the the sound of the river was so relaxing. The only downer was that the romantic evening we planned enjoying the Jacuzzi did not happen the way we hoped...the Jacuzzi did not work and no credit was issued back to us. Other than that, we would stay here again, but choose a cabin that is less expensive. Stonebrook Resort is perfectly located.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Upon check in, we were warmly greeted by Mike, the manager. He and his staff were helpful, courteous and kind throughout our 6 night stay in Cabin 2. Our stay was greatly enhanced by our interactions with Mike, who was responsive, accommodating and caring. He took the time to share with us some of his favorite places in the park and in town, highlighting them on a map. That became our trip itinerary and we were not disappointed. The cinnamon buns Mike recommended in Glen Haven were incredible!

The resort is conveniently located close to both Rocky Mountain National Park (less than 3 miles) and to the town of Estes Park. We appreciated the fact that it is an adult only resort. Although it was filled to capacity, we rarely saw other guests during our stay.

Our cabin was roomy, very clean and nicely decorated. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, and the assortment of bed pillows helped to ensure our comfort. Having both a kitchen and a BBQ, we shopped in town and enjoyed nicely grilled filet mignon, salmon, hot breakfasts and cold, refreshing beverages, at our fingertips. These amenities allowed 2 of us to eat well for less than $25 a day! Our cabin stayed cool and comfortable with open windows and the ceiling fan, which was preferable to the artificial air conditioning at many hotels. Just outside our door, we had a large hot tub on the deck which we enjoyed each evening. We ate our meals outside at a bistro set on the deck while listening to the soothing sound of the running water.

The “backyard” was amazing! We relished our time relaxing in a two-person hammock along the river’s edge; swinging on a bench swing; reading on a bench where we sat with our feet emerged in the cool waters of the river; sitting on chairs in the shade and in the sun; and listening to the tranquil sounds of the river and the chimes hanging from trees. Hummingbirds darted just above the water. Squirrels and chipmunks ran and played. We were visited by a huge Elk, grazing along the river’s edge. Bella, our four-legged host, made her morning rounds each day, greeting us with her calm energy.

The resort was so welcoming that it was as much of a destination as RMNP. We spent time in the park each day, and looked forward to returning to our cabin to relax and rejuvenate.We are already talking about our next visit!

Room Tip: Cabin 2, located at the end of the row of cabins, was quiet, but did not afford as much privacy as e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from four peaceful nights in cabin 7. Loved that all we could hear was the sound of the stream in front of our deck, as well off the road. Convenience of having Safeway a couple of miles away made for easy access to food to cook on the outdoor grill. Very relaxing. Also appreciated the fact that the unit was outfitted with excellent appliances, fittings and fixtures (Kohler, Lutron, etc.). Mike the manager was very attentive. Really cares about his guests and providing a good experience at the resort.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wow, what a disappointment. Tripadvisor, you let me down! Now that I look more closely at the reviews, I should have realized many are from individuals who have only posted 1-2 reviews on Tripadvisor -- ever. We would give it a 2.5 if we could. We are not picky and this is not a 5-star Tripadvisor experience.

Staff (and friendly dog Bella) were pleasant. We never got to meet Mike that everyone raves about. Ciara was professional and helpful, but quite young, new to the area, and not very knowledgeable. We stayed two nights, arrived and checked in and learned the internet was down. For two people traveling with laptops needing to check in with work daily, this was a huge inconvenience. That and nearly all of our plans for hikes, restaurants, etc., were online and inaccessible, as was owner Mike. Cell service spotty.

Since the internet was down, we were asked to check back with the office intermittently so that they could run our credit card to pay our balance, once the wi-fi was fixed. We checked in 5 times over the course of 2 days, including interrupting our Trail Ridge Road drive on our last day in order for our payment to be processed; wi-fi remained down until we checked out. Had we received our invoice at check in, we would have learned about all the "rules" that exist at this property. Oh, we needed to "ask" for the room to be serviced? Thank goodness I cleaned the kitchen before we headed out.

We stayed in cabin #5 on the water with a private hot tub. Room was nice, clean, with "mountain-esque" decor and a nearly full kitchen (no oven).

Pros: flat screen TV, private hot tub, deck, the sound of running water and overall quiet location outside of town, near entrance to RMNP. We were granted an hour later check out in light of the inconvenience of having to return in order to process our payment. Otherwise, it would be a $50 charge for every 30 minutes late checkout after 11:00am.

Cons: no A/C (it was pretty warm when we were there and room stayed warm with fan and windows open at night); blaring TV from adjacent room as we were falling asleep/incredibly thin walls; queen size bed crammed into an alcove that required side stepping a narrow space to climb into bed; incredibly soft, squeaky, uncomfortable mattress, poor quality linens (scratchy 50-50 cotton/percale mix); mismatched ratty towels with bleach stains, no bar soap provided, and you're expected to clean the kitchen or be charged a $100 fee.

Be careful of the plastic "steps" that help you step into the hot tub. They are unstable and we nearly had a wipe out of epic proportion.

We'll return to Estes Park, but we'll stay somewhere else. When I spend $500 for two nights, I expect more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We're just back from a wonderful 3 day stay at the Stonebrook Resort. We stayed in room 10B, with it's balcony overlooking the river and the small bridge. Just beautiful! And as most reviews tell you, the sound of the river lulls you to sleep each night. Mike and Bella are great hosts. The room was clean and spacious: a two story setup (kitchen, living room & bath up, bedroom with king bed down). Even a gas grill on the balcony. The location is great: just a couple of miles to RMNP and to downtown Estes Park. On Saturday, after coming back from RMNP, we had a wonderful suprise: right across the river from our room, a big 12 point Elk dropped in to munch on the riverside vegetation and hang out for about 20 minutes. He was perfectly content to let us and few other guests take pictures and videos. As Mike said: "Best backyard ever!" We loved sitting on the bench in (yes in) the river. What a great property- we highly recommend Stonebrook Resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonebrook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonebrook Resort

Address: 1710 Fall River Road, Estes Park, CO
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
StoneBrook is a quiet little spot along the Fall River hosting adult guests seeking relaxation, respite, and rejuvenation. An ideal place for respite, to honeymoon, escape the children, and to get in touch with pure Colorado Rocky Mountain Nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Stonebrook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonebrook Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonebrook Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.