We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fish tasted funky” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Penelope's World Famous Burgers & Fries

Penelope's World Famous Burgers & Fries
229 West Elkhorn Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
(970) 586-2277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 119 Restaurants in Estes Park
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Auburn, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The fish tasted funky”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were overall unimpressed. The fried fish tasted odd. I ate one bite of it. My husband said his elk burger was ok but tasted frozen. The fries are good though. Overpriced too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    68
    54
    42
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nothing Special...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I went to Penelope's each got an elk burger for lunch. Not bad, but not good. All of the tables were clean and the place wasn't busy so we didn't wait long for our food like some other reviewers had mentioned. If you decide not to eat here, you won't be missing out on anything.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Elk Burger Heaven!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The best elk burgers in the world!! This place is a must anytime you're in the area! Fair priced, great venue, great elk meat, and friendly staff!! There may be line, but it is well worth any wait!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good burgers...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Recent stop for burgers and fries, and enjoyed it! Buffalo burger was very good, and the bacon they add is worth the additional cost. Good sweet potato fries as well... It was a little pricey, but delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
1 review
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We love the burgers at Penelope's. We stopped several times during our stay! Everyone around us was raving about their meals too. GREAT PLACE!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penelope's World Famous Burgers & Fries also viewed

 

Been to Penelope's World Famous Burgers & Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penelope's World Famous Burgers & Fries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.