We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nepal's Cafe

Nepal's Cafe
184 E. Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 116 Restaurants in Estes Park
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Authentic and very good...was not expecting this in touristy Estes Park. Try the Nepali dishes. The Indian selection my daughter had (chicken korma)was also outstanding. Will definitely return.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    114
    23
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We chose this place for dinner in Estes Park because it looked different. But first a quick tip - the address is on Elkhorn, which is the main street in town. But the restaurant is actually around the back side of the building, where there's a little pedestrian area. There's only a small sign on the corner to point you around the back.

The restaurant itself is small - maybe 10 tables? Still the cozy feel just adds to the experience. The owner and his staff were very friendly. The food was delicious, and the portions more than generous. Even my yogurt smoothie they refilled for free! :) Prices were very reasonable. The slide show of the owner's recent trip to Nepal was running and that was nice to see. We will come back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Crowded but great $9.95 lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just off the Main Street of Estes Park. Worth the short wait. Very small place and has outdoor seating but not set up that day due to 40 mph winds. More than enough variety on the buffet and all the dishes were excellent. Owner was very nice and accommodating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lack of communication”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good food. We enjoyed the lunch buffet, but left disappointed after being told kids under 6 were free and then being asked to pay for them. There was miscommunication between the staff which got placed on us and left repeat customers not coming back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Saucy sauce”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I'm not an expert on food from India, but I am a lover of good food no matter its origin. The plates we ordered, lamb, chicken, shrimp and mushroom where all about the sauce. The Naan was great for dipping into the sauce and the rice was wonderful smothered in the sauce., but beyond that not much else. I would guess their meat and fish are purchased prepared. The lamb and shrimp had no flavor, and the chicken was dry and grainy. The place was clean and the service very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepal's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Nepal's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nepal's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.