We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Crescent City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge - Crescent City to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Crescent City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   725 US Hwy 101 North, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Unremarkable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Acceptable and completely unremarkable. Nothing objectionable but should cost about 30% less. Included microwave, fridge, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Found the front desk staff to be indifferent. I would suggest that the management have their staff dress in some sort of uniform manner even if it is just a logo T-shirt.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    24
    20
    20
See reviews for
33
28
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The room was clean and large for the price. The wi-fi was very good. There was a microwave and fridge, and the bathroom had a tub shower. The door had two dead bolts, but neither one engaged in the door frame, so the place didn't feel very secure.

Room Tip: Make sure the locks work before settling in.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed here many nights as a business traveler. The room was spacious and always very clean. I liked the white comforters. They were the new type, wrapped in sheets so you know they have been washed regularly. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to shops, beaches and The Redwoods.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here on our second night of our road trip. I'm usually OK with a "less than 5 star" place to stay on a road trip overnight, but this place was downright scary. There were very shady people hanging out in the parking lot, several of them we saw panhandling in the grocery store parking lot across the street. This is the second place I have stayed at in Crescent City and I am sad to say that on future trips I will stay in another town. I was grateful to check out and be on our way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have seen many unfavorable reviews of this motel. Our room was large, clean, had a microwave and fridge. The wi-fi worked fine. There was a very friendly young lady (who spoke English) at the desk when we checked in. Our room was away from the road so we did not have any road noise. It was fine for a night's stay. Not the place I'd stay if it was a longer stay but good for an "on the road" stop. Breakfast was served in the office. There were three small tables. They did have a waffle maker, English muffins and small bagels. The orange juice was watered down. It was more like water with a teaspoon of orange juice added. They had also run out of knives (the had the cheapest of plastic utensils). When we asked for knives the man in the office said they had run out.
The family who runs the place is East Indian.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the back if freeway noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My Husband and I decided at the last minute to drive to Redwoods Nat'l Park so made reservations thru Choice Hotels, got a good rate 67.00 a nite, free wifi, fridge and MICROWAVE in room free parking outside the room, close by all restaurants and stores comfy beds, and they even kept our reservation cause by the time we hit Eureka too tired to drive 2.5 more hrs. told them to charge us for the night we couldn't c/i. Megan said it would be okay! We arrived to the hotel and looks like its old, okay so don't judge a book by its cover! stayed in room 105 for 3 nights, very comfortable and clean. The Management helpful, computer in lobby for free, for all those who have complained about this hotel, you could've went somewhere else, the parking area clean and as for noise no way! Room very clean didn't have hskpng for the total stay. We would truly stay again and again, Management very friendly!! Thank You Econo Lodge..

Room Tip: This hotel is 1 floor, and there are no south side rooms, we stayed in 105 this is a great room, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Low priced motel so expectations were not high, but....the sheets, although washed and pressed, had stains, so did the bedspreads, old dated bathroom although this one was clean, dirty carpet and stake smoke smell. The breakfast was included but we decided not to take advantage of it, as it was in the small reception area which only has a couple of tables (maybe 3), it was crowded and it smelled like bad coffee anyway :-). I did notice a waffle iron though. The desk personnel was courteous. This motel should be even cheaper than it was. Crescent City is not a nice town, some strange-looking characters hanging around (met-heads??), it didn't feel safe although nothing happened to us. Apparently there is only one decent restaurant that cooks freshly made food, and there were no tables available for us to have dinner there. If you're in the area to go see the Giant Sequoias, try and stay in another area. Eureka and Arcata seemed nicer towns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge - Crescent City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Crescent City

Address: 725 US Hwy 101 North, Crescent City, CA 95531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Crescent City 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge - Crescent City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Crescent City
Econolodge Crescent City
Crescent City Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Crescent City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.