We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Manzanita, Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stated here on our way down from Oregon to Cali. It has a great pool, the rooms were decent and comfortable, the service was good, but the breakfast was not good at all. I would eat somewhere else. I believe there is a restaurant right next door that serves really good breakfast, and unfortunately we didn't have the chance to try it. Overall not a bad night stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    166
    109
    51
    50
See reviews for
165
179
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Needed a hotel on our trip up the CA and OR coast. We had a favorite restaurant in Crescent City and decided to spend the night there. We called ahead and made reservations. The room we were given was located upstairs in the back building. The room was OK, but getting to the room was very difficult. It required going completely to the back of the 1st floor to access the stairs to the 2nd floor. The stairs are narrow and not very user friendly. Another item was no trashcans/ashtrays located around the hotel grounds. After traveling all day, we had some trash to get rid. So we could carry it up to the room or use the dumpster at the restaurant next door. We also have a service dog in training and needed a place to put the "poop" bags. There was some construction going on at the hotel, but the lack of trash containers just seemed usual. The breakfast coupon you get when checking in is for the restaurant that shares the hotel's property. They had a breakfast buffet with eggs, sausage and biscuits, pancakes, etc. All the food containers were practically empty when we arrived, but within 10 minutes everything was refilled.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the ground floor in the front building, especially if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our room was very large for a motel room. It had the basic amenities-fridge, microwave etc. There was even a safe for you to keep your valuables. Our king bed was not up to BW standards-it was 'springy' rather than supportive. The best thing about our stay was breakfast next door at the Northwoods Inn-it was a wonderful breakfast buffet with 2 types of scrambled eggs, ham, sausages, pancakes, potatoes and lots of fresh fruit. Don't miss it. Closer to 4 stars than 3 because of the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We wanted a quiet room so the put us in a King Suite in the "back" building. Totally luxurious. Two separate rooms with 2 TVs. A little pricier but well worth it. Room rate includes coupons for the on-site restaurant where we had a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building in the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

good central location to day trip into the redwood forest. Hotel is on the ocean with great view, just far enough into CA but not far enough for you to pick up their bad habits. good starting point for a north trip up the Oregon coast

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nice hotel, good accommodations, pool, sauna, jacuzzi available. Great restaurant. Families would enjoy the hotel for its easy to get to the Redwoods, fishing, hiking lots to do in the area. Easy to locate the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yellowstone, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel was good, clean and convenient. The hotel staff was not well informed on the area. Restaurants, places to see and visit. The weather did not help. It was foggy all the time but that is no-ones fault.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn

Address: 655 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Northwoods Inn, Crescent City's most popular home away from home! We assist with family vacations, our knowledgeable staff informed and intent on helping you make the best of your visit to our beautiful area. Come stay with us while you marvel at Del Norte County's majestic Redwood Forests; experience the thrill of real whale watching; and enjoy superb fishing in our pristine Klamath and Smith Rivers. The Redwood National Forest headquarters is just a hop and a skip away where informative Rangers can show you the best spots in Jedediah State Park, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Northwoods Hotel Crescent City
Best Western Northwoods Hotel
Best Western Crescent City
Crescent City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.