We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay on the way to the Oregon Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    144
    101
    48
    51
See reviews for
147
160
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Pulled in here late while on a road trip from SF to Portland and Seattle. The location is great - just 15 minutes away from Jedediah Smith State Park (a nice place to visit if you want to visit the redwoods). The room was adequate - spacious, clean, hot water was hot, fridge in room to keep some leftovers cold. We did not have problems with noice as was mentioned in other reviews. As always, the free wifi and complementary breakfast the following morning was nice. And while I normally don't like pancakes, their pancakes at the breakfast buffet were delicious. Service (particularly in the dining hall) was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Pros: Clean, comfortable room, very good complimentary breakfast served in restaurant which included eggs, ham, biscuits and gravy, lots of fresh fruit, etc. Service was excellent. Cons: Motor inn setup with room doors opening to exterior walkway or parking lot. Room layout very poor -- very large room with big open space b/w foot of bed and dresser with large flat screen TV on far wall which seemed really far from the bed, but if you wanted to sit closer to the TV there was only one armchair and a desk chair. Fridge/microwave were stuffed in corner b/w desk and bed which was a very poor location. Large, flat screen TV had extremely poor quality picture and color. The biggest problem we had the two nights we were there was TONS of noise 9 p.m. to about midnight on stairs and 2nd floor outdoor walkway above our room. Every footstep sounded like heavy boots tromping and I thought I might lose my mind trying to sleep after 10 p.m.! I would stay here again, but would absolutely insist on a 2nd floor room well away from parking lot and stairway.

Room Tip: Get a room on 2nd floor (if you can manage without an elevator) far away from the parking lot and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We made reservations to stay at this hotel thinking the "Best Western" title would make it OK. Actually the rooms were adequate but the staff attitudes were rude / nasty. The price quoted in our reservation was changed after we arrived - we were not informed and our cc was charged! Wow! When pointed out, they refused to refund it, despite acknowledging the quote (initially). Then the story changed 3 times about why overcharing by $70 was OK.

Room Tip: Best Tip - Stay somewhere else unless you like getting ripped off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel guest service staffs' attitudes are usually sufficient. Housekeepers are diligent!! The General Manager can use some flexibility about honoring guests in the area for business that uses their hotel frequently. It's a struggle for the General Manager to honor GSA rates which is 77.00 in Del Norte County. Therefore, my business will be given to another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potsdam NY
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms- staff was super friendly- settled in and we had two guys above us- like a herd of elephants walking upstairs- boom boom boom! Everytime they showered flushed the toilet it was like we were right there!!!! I heard most if their conversation all night!
no I would not go back here again because of that!!! Thank God I had earplugs! Other eaters mentioned this & they were right!!
Pool all the way outside even though it is inside and it was COLD!
Had a drink next door at the bar and that vodka top shelf martini was definitely watered down!!!
Stay at the local places they got better rates and ratings but I was greedy for my reward points!!! Definitely Not the BEST Western- bummer!!!! You need to sell this property out to super 8 - sorry!!! Your builder robbed you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Ariona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Please do not go there. Asked for the published AAA discount and the woman behind the counter said that could not be given because we had made reservations on line. She looked at me as if I had committed a sin and I was just a "scumbag!" I am the customer and only asked the question for the published discount. Just before us two youngish men had registered and she was super nice and sweet to them. We are an older couple and evidently were not worth to be given the light of day. Went next door and had the most amazing wonderful welcome, huge suite room and all the amenities we needed plus great breakfast.
No more Best Western Inn's for us EVER!

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn

Address: 655 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Northwoods Inn, Crescent City's most popular home away from home! We assist with family vacations, our knowledgeable staff informed and intent on helping you make the best of your visit to our beautiful area. Come stay with us while you marvel at Del Norte County's majestic Redwood Forests; experience the thrill of real whale watching; and enjoy superb fishing in our pristine Klamath and Smith Rivers. The Redwood National Forest headquarters is just a hop and a skip away where informative Rangers can show you the best spots in Jedediah State Park, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Northwoods Hotel Crescent City
Best Western Northwoods Hotel
Best Western Crescent City
Crescent City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.