We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed here for a hiking trip to the Redwoods National and State Parks in April of 2012, and received great value on the lodging. The rooms are clean and quiet, the parking is abundant, and the staff was friendly. It's easy to find.. right off 101 and across from the Crescent City Harbor. They had a decent restaurant attached (but separate) that offers an above average continental breakfast (gratis). The dinner menu was so-so, but their lounge/bar in the back was awesome... great beers cheap with solid bar food. It was a great place to relax and watch a game/mingle a bit after a day on the trails and locals definitely hit it as well. If I ever find myself back in Crescent City I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    161
    108
    51
    50
See reviews for
164
172
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed for business. Pleasant staff. You can hear noise from rooms above when staying on ground floor, a heavy footed person will bug you as the walls are thin. Overall it was a typical three star best western.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We didn't notice anything when we first arrived, but as we were settling in for the night we saw a few ants by the sink and the bathtub. Being as it was late, there were only a few bugs, and we were exhausted, we didn't think it was a big enough deal to call the front desk. In the morning, the ants were everywhere! There was a thick line of them all around the bathtub, sink, and they were getting into our stuff. There were some on the bed too. I tried calling the front desk but got a busy signal. We needed to get on the road quickly to make an appointment but my son didn't want to shower with the ants, so I went to the front desk and they immediately gave us keys to another nearby room. They apologized for the inconvenience, but then presented me with the bill for the entire amount. I requested a discount and they offered 30%. I suggested 50% would make me happier so they called the supervisor, who, without knowing I'd settle for 50% off, authorized comping us the room. Excellent! But still pretty gross. It was quiet as our room was back away from the highway and we slept well. Breakfast was all right, fresh waffles, eggs, chile rellenos. They have a pool and hot tub, but the hours were 7 am to 3 pm, not really ideal times to use those facilities. It would have been nice to have an evening soak in the hot tub after a long day on the road.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on March 30, 2012. Check in was good and room was very clean but basically standard room size and furnishings with a 32" LG television and small bathroom. Could hear some moderate noise from room above but was not particularly bothersome. Breakfast buffet which is provided at the next door restaurant was extremely good - in fact, one of the best 1-2 hotel breakfasts I've had in years. Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel whenever staying in the Crescent City area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Good size room, dated but nice and clean. Buffet breakfast at the adjacent restaurant was average too. Problems with the wi-fi. It worked well when we checked in then was non existent. Had to open our door and stand in the doorway to get reception, then went to the lobby to use our lap top. I am assuming the signal strength is not good when too many people are using it.
Not close enough to walk to the beach (or be prepared for a long walk).

Room Tip: upper floor would be quieter. No elevator so you need to lug your suitcases up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have stayed here six times now . I recently added this area to my business travels and was worried I wouldn't find a reasonable place to stay near the beach . While you do have to cross the highway I can live with that . The rooms I have had have been clean and quiet . I have had no problems of any kink in the last six months . The staff has always been friendly . For what I paid I don't think I could ask for more.

Room Tip: I haven't had a bad room yet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one night and it was just an "okay" experience. The decor is a bit out-dated and tired, but it was spotless. There are no elevators if that's important to you. The sound-proofing leaves a bit to be desired--I swear I was able to hear ear-splitting snoring from the room next door! The bed was comfy. Complimentary breakfast is offered at the restaurant across the parking lot. That restaurant, by the way, is quite nice and I've previously reviewed it here. One odd thing is that I noticed there was no NBC TV channel offered. There were many channels, including CBS and ABC. This is not a huge issue, but I was surprised.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn

Address: 655 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Northwoods Inn, Crescent City's most popular home away from home! We assist with family vacations, our knowledgeable staff informed and intent on helping you make the best of your visit to our beautiful area. Come stay with us while you marvel at Del Norte County's majestic Redwood Forests; experience the thrill of real whale watching; and enjoy superb fishing in our pristine Klamath and Smith Rivers. The Redwood National Forest headquarters is just a hop and a skip away where informative Rangers can show you the best spots in Jedediah State Park, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Best Western, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Northwoods Hotel Crescent City
Best Western Northwoods Hotel
Best Western Crescent City
Crescent City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.