We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Missoula, MT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We were on a road trip and not sure where the next good place to stay was. We took a chance and they had a vacancy. We needed somewhere close to eat and in the parking lot there is a restaurant. Our room was really quiet. It was in the back of the property. The bed was comfortable and it was clean.

We went to the restaurant for dinner and I had a burger with brie that was awesome! The hotel gives you tickets for free breakfast to the restaurant. It was a great spread and very good. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    144
    101
    48
    50
See reviews for
147
160
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

It was a basic room had to use a shower cap for the bath tub drain because the plug would not work, replacement piece was the wrong one. Very busy around 5pm when we arrived so maybe book ahead. Breakfast was included so it was a fair enough deal for us.

Room Tip: get one in the back if you want quiet, book ahead it gets busy around 5pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The motel room was large, clean and quiet. I had a very difficult time checking into the motel however, and staff were incompetent in locating my reservation. It took over 15 minutes to get checked in. The included breakfast buffet was fine, average food, well-stocked. Motels are old and pricey in Crescent City, no great values to be had. Still, I would try another place if I was in town. Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel in early September on our way down the coast. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel was easy to find and in a good location. There is a restaurant next door where you can get a drink and something to eat. The hotel also gives you a voucher for breakfast. Even though we were only here one night, we enjoyed our time in Crescent City and especially in the Redwood Parks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This 2 star hotel is no more than as you would expect. My room was on the second floor. Nothing special. Clean, fairly quiet. Facing Highway 101. Bascially unremarkable. I had an opportunity to drive past the Bayview Inn and saw the ocean from there. Spectatular view. If I am back this is where I will stay. I thought the Best Western was a little bit expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: As far away from the Highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

There are some beautiful old hotels in the world, so being old isn't necessarily a bad thing. In this case however, it is. The breakfast is next door in a restaurant. I thought "wow that should be great"...sadly it wasn't. I think the restaurant would be out of business without the business from the Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

When I checked in here, the bill was already higher than I agreed to online. I thought it was just the tax and commented on it. The man checking me in just pointed to the base rate, which matched what was agreed to. He didn't say anything about why the taxes were higher than online, even though I commented on it. It wasn't enough for me to worry about, so I signed it and went up to the room.

The room was fine. It wasn't as clean as I would like, but it wasn't awful. It was quite small. There was no counter space. It was just okay. I guess I would give it a two out of five. It was below average at best, though. The air conditioner turned off and on and didn't cool the room well.

I read some reviews online and noticed that this hotel was charging a dollar a night to use their safe, whether you used it or not. It turns out that this was the reason for the higher total. They were just trying to get an extra dollar out of us (and everyone, of course). I'm sure it adds up, but is it worth making someone mad? I wouldn't think so, and I wasn't the first. So, when I went to check out, there was a woman in front of me complaining about how bad her room (the door was broken and the fan sounded like a jet engine - we didn't even have a fan). Then I went up to check out. I commented on the extra charge and he pointed out that I agreed to the safe insurance I was paying for. I told him to not even try to tell me he told me about this extra fee. He at least admitted he didn't. He took the fee off, but I'm sure plenty pay it for no reason. This should be an optional coverage, not snuck in like you're dealing with a used car lot. While I was checking out, the person checking out next to me was asking for a copy of his receipt, but tok that he couldn't get one because it was direct bill. That was one of the most ridiculous things I've heard, too. It is his responsibility to the company he works for to make sure everything is right. He absolutely should get a receipt.

Like I said, the room wasn't a one out of five, but it the experience brought it down to that. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn

Address: 655 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Northwoods Inn, Crescent City's most popular home away from home! We assist with family vacations, our knowledgeable staff informed and intent on helping you make the best of your visit to our beautiful area. Come stay with us while you marvel at Del Norte County's majestic Redwood Forests; experience the thrill of real whale watching; and enjoy superb fishing in our pristine Klamath and Smith Rivers. The Redwood National Forest headquarters is just a hop and a skip away where informative Rangers can show you the best spots in Jedediah State Park, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Northwoods Hotel Crescent City
Best Western Northwoods Hotel
Best Western Crescent City
Crescent City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.