We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average but too expensive. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Peddler

Apple Peddler
308 US Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
707-464-5630
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 46 Restaurants in Crescent City
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very average but too expensive. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Served promptly on weekday evening. Seemed like a locals place. Sandwich was tasty but soup was awful. Told the waitress and she said, Sorry." Nothing special. Don't have high expectations and you'll be okay. Just average food in a small town. Perhaps the pricing reflects the distance from food sources?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    45
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We ate there twice it was so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is good food, not over done. We had everything from breakfast to supper and enjoyed it both times we were there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Apple Peddler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was a rainy night and we didn’t want to travel far for dinner. The restaurant was a half block from our motel, so the location of the restaurant was why we chose the Apple Peddler.
The restaurant had a nice décor and seemed clean. We were seated immediately but it did seem to take some time before our order was taken. My wife ordered a cup of clam chowder and a side order of mashed potatoes and gravy. I ordered a cup of clam chowder and the “senior” fish and chips.
Our food was served very fast. We both enjoyed the clam chowder. My wife thought the mashed potatoes and gravy was quite good. My fish and chips was a larger order than I expected. It consisted of three large fillets and a lot of fries, plus a side of coleslaw. The fish was very good but the fries had too much salt. The coleslaw was just the way I like it... nice and sweet.
If I am back in Crescent city again I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Apple Peddler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good pancakes, light and fluffy. Real cheese and bacon in the omelets. We liked it enough we came back for dinner another night, and found they had better clam chowder and cole slaw than the seafood place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not the Greatest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Somewhat slow service. Husband's steak was terrible; my meatloaf was ok (pretty hard to mess up meatloaf!) Weak, weak coffee. Bread pudding was very good. They try, and it's a family-type restaurant, but we wouldn't go again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple Peddler also viewed

 

Been to Apple Peddler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Peddler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.