We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sounds of the Sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Beach Inn to your Saves list
Anchor Beach Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   880 Hwy 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sounds of the Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The last hotel as you're leaving Crescent City, and it looks a bit sketchy. But looks can be deceiving, because the rooms were large and comfortable, very clean. Definitely worth paying the little bit extra for the ocean view, which is practically right outside the window. Maybe it's just me, but as usual, battling with the shower was an adventure in itself. Turn the handle one way and it's too hot, and the other way it's too cold. If you can find the micron-sized sweet spot you can have a lovely time. Not through with adventures? Then try the air conditioner. It gives you a false sense of security by blowing in nice, cold air...for about five minutes, when it perversely switches to hot blaze instead. I assume it does all this in reverse in the winter. Small matters when you can walk out of the hotel, up the docks and listen to the sea lions arguing with each other. Not a bad place to stay at all.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    80
    44
    14
    17
See reviews for
48
88
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keizer, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Check in was fast. Rooms are clean and well maintained. View of RV park out the window is better unseen. The spa was good to look at. Using it was not so good. Once you find the push button to operate it you have 10 minutes or less to soak. No chairs or other place to set towels etc. Sitting on the bench the water doesn't come up to chest level and your feet don't reach bottom.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good: location, view (we got ocean), price, breakfast included, large rooms, vanity separate from toilet/tub, microwave/fridge/coffee pot in room, pet-friendly, friendly staff, clean room, hot tub.

Could be better: booked a nonsmoking but ended up with a smoking room (only pet friendly room available according to the apologetic desk gal), bed only moderately comfortable, no grass/bark for my dogs to relieve themselves on the property (across Anchor st there's an area and the one grassy area says "no pets"....weird), a little run down.

Overall, would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

As other reviews have said, one wing overlooks the beach and the other overlook a rundown RV park. We got the RV view. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The motel is within easy walking distance of two good restaurants. The breakfast is free and offers several choices.
If you stay two nights, the third is free. The best thing about Crescent City is that you are within a short drive to the Redwood National Parks.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our room had a great view of the beach. The room with a king bed was very, very spacious, about the size of two average sized hotel rooms. The complimentary breakfast was average. It was a clean and quiet room. We were quite comfortable. It was at the edge of the main drag of the town, but there were still two restaurants a short walk away. We ate at the Chart House, which was good and served huge portions. Yes, there was an RV area on one side of the hotel, but luckily, our room was not near that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, West Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We can honestly say in 30+ years of travelling together we've never had a finer view. Magnificent! The room was pretty good too. Very clean, well equipped and well above average size. The staff were pleasant and the location good for going into town to eat (if you like Chinese food check out Wing Wah, but that's maybe a different review)! The only slight downside is that the breakfast was not so great but I suspect the visiting group of cyclists may have nabbed the good stuff before we got there. Recommended if you're up this way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescent, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked this hotel based on internet reviews, but purposely did not reserve a room with ocean view since we figured we'd be touring along the ocean all day. To our surprise the very nice lady checking us in gave us an ocean view room on the second floor anyway. We had a beautiful, unobstructed view. Some reviews had complained about asking for an ocean view and then having to look out over an RV park instead. We found that the building has two wings and one does indeed look over the RV park and the wing we were in has a great view. The room was older, but very clean and the beds were comfortable. It was quiet and we slept well. Woke up early and walked to the beach and had a great morning walk before breakfast. Continental breakfast was average, though the dining area was very small. We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Beach Inn

Address: 880 Hwy 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Anchor Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Beach Hotel Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.