We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost right on the beach, and great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Beach Inn to your Saves list
Anchor Beach Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   880 Hwy 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Almost right on the beach, and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

This motel is almost right on the beach -- you just have to cross a small road and you're in the sand, with beautiful ocean waves crashing ashore! The sandy beach extends for a couple of miles to the south, making for a great barefoot run in the sand! The room was very spacious -- not cramped like some of the other places we've stayed at, and the complimentary breakfast was great, with toasted bagels, fresh fruit, and a waffle maker. All the rooms have an ocean view, but make sure to get the full-on ocean view and not the sideways ocean view with the trailer park in front. The price was cheap compared to other motels of similar quality. The only downside was the wi-fi. It kept dropping my connection. Furthermore, they only allowed one internet connection, so my wife and I couldn't both use our laptop computers at the same time.

Room Tip: Get the full-on ocean view, not just the partial!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    78
    43
    13
    17
See reviews for
47
86
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We arrived at the hotel late at night, so didn't get to enjoy the beauty of the ocean to the fullest. But still went down to the beach and listened to the waves, the ocean is so close its like you are on a boat. Beautiful and cozy rooms with comfy beds, bath and shower. A perfect place to stay at for one night or more. On the side of the highway- so you can't miss it. They also give you a 10% discount at a 24 hour restaurant that is located 2 minutes away- they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. Anchor Beach Inn offers continental breakfast as well.
Will definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

good price at 54$ and 1 night stay, not really an ocean view, wanted to eat breakfast early so we could leave early, dont plan on it. Didnt even have the lobby open at 7am let alone breakfast ready. I would prob go to best western next time and pay a little more

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We found this hotel to be quite pleasant. The room was clean and large. There was free wi-fi. We had a room looking out onto the beach---careful---some rooms overlook a trailer court! We paid around $70 for the room---it certainly is not worth anything over $100 as some of the other reviewers pointed out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

For the price & an ocean view, once we were given the 2nd room, things were okay. After we told them the 1st room smelled they gave us the other room & immediately sent someone in to take care of the smell.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Anchor Bay for one night and requested an ocean View room. We got an ocean view room but just below was an RV park so if you stood too close to the window you overlooked someone's RV. If you stood back though it was a nice ocean view. The place was clean and the room was pretty large with a microwave and refrigerator, which is nice. From the room we could hear sea lions barking (so cool). The front desk lady was extremely personable and friendly. The hot tub didn't open until 5 and it was inside a small area, but it was ok. we did use the free wi-fi and it worked like a charm. There are a few restaurants fairly close but we didn't go to them. They seemed really expensive for what we were looking for.We really just wanted a clean room within walking distance to the beach and it was definitley that. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

The choices are few in Crescent City-we picked this motel because it was rated OK and had a cheap rate--get what you pay for. I was offered a beach view for $15 more-which I took-see the photo :-). Well we now have something to talk about in our trip down the coast. The desk clerk gave us some recommendations on food and sights in the area both were invaluable and accurate. The included breakfast was average for motels offering it. The bathroom was spotless and room was tastefully decorated. The added costs for the "view" was a rip off.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Beach Inn

Address: 880 Hwy 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anchor Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Beach Hotel Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.