We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road trip to Canada!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Inn
Save
You added Lighthouse Inn to your Saves list
681 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Road trip to Canada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! Great rooms, beds and breakfast offerings! A little old school, we had an actual room key, love it! Large spacious rooms, great view of the harbor, walking distance to great food. Many thank! Cheers!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    165
    58
    11
    3
See reviews for
122
171
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel rate was fair, but do not expect a hot breakfast. The food was a hodgepodge of different breads and half frozen juices. Although the room was clean the beds lacked in comfort. With a few changes this place could benifit. Nice view.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a motel on the side of the highway. As far as these types of establishments go I found this one to be totally acceptable for $69 a night. I wouldn't stay if I was here more that night or two but it really does depend on your budget. Great place for a quick stopover.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Service was great, breakfast was basic but good.

There is a computer workstation for guests to use which includes a printer.

No complaints whatsoever. This was a great value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent a pleasant night at the Lighthouse Inn. The night manager recommended we check out the harbor sea lions, the Stout Grove and sent us to a great Mexican restaurant (Perlita's) where we saw a bear climb out of the dumpster in the back! The room was as big as the redwoods - HUGE - clean, with a couch, flat screen tv, internet, etc. Strong hot shower in spotless bathroom. If you are a light sleeper, just know you are directly across from the harbor, so you will hear the fog horn at night. I brought a fan... so no problem. Bed was ok, but good news, we saw a truckload of NEW mattresses being delivered as we left. Breakfast was boiled eggs, cereals, fruit, sweet breads, bagels and cream cheese, toast, English muffins, juices, coffee, teas. Coin laundry available. Overall, we had great experience with friendly staff, clean, welcoming environment and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent one night here in a large room with a harbor view. The room was large and reasonable comfortable if a bit outdated. The front desk staff person at check in was as efficient, friendly, and helpful as I have ever met, from giving directions to offering dining suggestions (and there aren't many places to choose from in Crescent City!) The breakfast was just right - bagels, fruit, juice, hard boiled eggs. I would stay here again when stopping in Crescent City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We chose to stay here while driving the coasts of California and Oregon. It is right on Highway 101, making Crescent City a good place to stop.The reviews were good. Had a cute lobby with lighthouses. Our room was very nice with 2 beds, 2 couches and a view that looked out over the harbor. The room was gigantic! Lots of space, very clean. Everything in it was a trip back to the 70's.The big tv, and even the old cord dial telephones. The beds were just ok. Really need new mattresses and some overall updating. But it was a nice place, safe and clean.
We drove around Crescent City, and found a quaint lighthouse and beach with a lot of driftwood.
Breakfast was the usual; lots of carbs. A decent place to stop on a road trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Address: 681 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Crescent City
Lighthouse Motel Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.