We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Inn
Save
You added Lighthouse Inn to your Saves list
681 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Large comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

for us this is the place to stay every time we visit the redwoods.. the rooms are large and very clean, and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The only problem for us this time is we noticed the bedding could really use an upgrade. Time to get rid of the flowery bedspreads, the vellux blanket and the threadbare sheets.. Our room was perfect and clean in every way except the bed - which is the whole purpose right?
Breakfast is adequate but would really love to see a choice of something hot to eat on a cold morning other than oatmeal packets. However the price is absolutely fair and it is a great place to stay with a group of friends and or relatives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    165
    58
    11
    3
See reviews for
122
171
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The price was extremely reasonable; the staff very friendly; and it was just a bit more unique and fancy (i.e. better breakfast buffet, decor) than one might find at, say, the Best Western next door. It was perfect for Crescent City and I would stay again.

Room Tip: No issue with highway noise and good view on harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

For the area we were very glad we chose to stay at the Lighthouse Inn. When we checked in the staff asked if we needed the handicap accessible room for any particular reasons. We answered that we did not and they moved us upstairs to a room with a view of the harbor, very nice to get "upgraded" without having to even ask. The rooms are very large and ours we clean. Pretty much everything we were looking for on this trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We love the fact that the Lighthouse Inn has rooms with multiple King sized beds. This year we traveled with our adult daughter and for $99. had a 2 bedroom suite. Very spacious with TV in each room. This room was ADA Handicapped accessible. Quite impressive that there was a large Bath chair in the very large bathroom.
Only downside was the ants. Not very many but a few in the bathroom and around the mini fridge and microwave.
We have learned not to stay on the ocean side as those rooms have softer beds and we like a firmer mattress.
The continental breakfast is good, hard boiled eggs, toast, english muffins, bagels, large cut up muffins, juices, fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, teas, cocoa, and apple cider gives lots of choices.
Coffee and hot beverages available 24/7.
Staff are always very helpful and polite.
The owners have recently built a sister property across the highway just north a bit...Ocean view inn. Maybe we will try that one next year!

Room Tip: They have a laundry for guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

You're there to see the redwoods and the hotel is a great home base. The staff were very helpful in directing us to the back entrance to J Smith State Park. Not all rooms are the same, so if you're with a family, discuss options when booking so that you can get one of the more family friendly quarters.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We arrived about 1:30 AM after about an 18 hour drive from the San Diego area. Checked in to Room 215 without a problem. Staff was friendly.

The room was very large and clean and the property well maintained.

We stayed for two days. There was a small amount of drywall damage and a leaking shower head in the bathroom. When I advised the staff they thanked me and placed the info on a list for maintenance.

One item for improvement would be to include a shower mat or anti-slip tape on the shower floor. It was slippery.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trout Creek, Montana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Loud heater/cooler.
Poor TV Remote. Took remote down to front desk. The woman on duty in evening at desk was less than helpful!
Took it back up to room and eventually got it to work. Crescent City is a hard place to find good lodging and up til now the Lighthouse has been the best option. One gets the feeling that you are on your own if something arises at this motel
.
Sparse cont breakfast, nothing special.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay in Crescent City...roll the dice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Address: 681 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Crescent City
Lighthouse Motel Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.