We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crescent City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Inn
Save
You added Lighthouse Inn to your Saves list
681 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Crescent City
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good price for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Average furnishings, comparable to your usual chain hotels. Rooms are large, staff is very accommodating. The place is clean and the breakfast is good. For the money, this is a great place to stay if you're traveling on 101.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    165
    58
    11
    3
See reviews for
122
171
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Whistler
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good value. Big rooms. We stayed on the top floor at the back, as recommended by other reviewers. Quiet without any highway noise. Clean with a comfortable king bed. Yes, it is dated as first seen in the lobby but for a one night stay it works. Breakfast was good with cereal, bagels, cream cheese, crumpets and bananas. Yogurt would have been a nice additional. We ate at the Northlands restaurant next door as recommended by the front desk staff who gave us appetizer coupons. The free shrimp cocktail was fresh and tasty. We had the homemade burgers with home onion rings and they were enjoyed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor at the back for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, NY
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after a trip to orgeon. The price on a Thursday night for a king size bed was $79. The rooms were spacious and clean, the staff was friendly and informative, the continental breakfast consisted of fruit, cereal, toast, coffee tea juices and hit chocolate. The only draw back is the hotel is a little outdated.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Crescent City California isn’t the most glamorous place, but way cool!
Our goal is to drive the entire length of the Pacific Coast Highway and this was our last stop on this segment through Northern California, before heading back home.
There really aren’t a lot of hotel choices in this town, but we would highly recommend the Lighthouse Inn. Very nice sized rooms with a mini ‘fridge, micro and coffee maker, nice table and chairs...AND a love seat to lounge on at the end of a long day hiking in the Redwoods. The supermarket is right down the street to make your own meals if you like. It was clean; the staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast that is included is average, it’ll get your day started right. The laundry facility in the hotel was a great deal, 75¢ to wash and another 75¢ to dry. Bring your own soap and fabric softener though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Lighthouse and found it to be very clean, very friendly staff, good continental breakfast, comfortable large rooms, and just all around very relaxing. It is right across from the harbor for a good view, and it is only a short walk from the Crescent Beach. We had gorgeous weather which helped too. I would highly recommend this to anyone. We travel a lot and this is a motel we will definitely go back and stay. The only negative I can say is that we were on the 2nd floor and the family in the room above us was letting their kids jump up and down a lot from the beds to the floor -- but that was not the motels fault!! Great location, very friendly helpful staff, and just a good place to be.

Room Tip: We were on the harbor side which is also the Highway 101 side, but the noise from the road didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in Crescent City because the Visitor's Center for Redwood National Park is there. And we selected the Lighthouse Inn based on reviews on various sites. The room was large, it was clean and there was a long distance view of the Marina. We were on the third floor 323. You could still hear the lumbering of trucks on the highway below. When we called down to ask for extra pillows and towels we were told we would have to come down to pick them up ourselves because there is only one person on duty. The next morning we came down to their continental breakfast which was OK - the price for the room was good. There is no fitness center or pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

THe beds were rock hard! -- if you like them that way then this place is for you but otherwise need to pad it somehow to be comfortable! THe rooms are big which is a plus. the sink is in the room which is odd but workable.
The floors are hard as well. no padding and if you aren't on the top floor you're probably going to hear anyone walking around above you.
The staff were very nice - I could only wish the hotel was as nice as the staff were!
THe breakfast was the basics but well presented.
So overall if only the beds were better and the floor more soundproof and comfortable and the sink in the bathroom....

Room Tip: try to get a top floor and on the side facing the ocean to avoid road and people noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Address: 681 Highway 101 South, Crescent City, CA 95531
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Crescent City
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Crescent City
Lighthouse Motel Crescent City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.